Advertisement

Arendell Parrott Academy

Private | PK-12 | 730 students

We are best known for academics, arts and athletics.
 
 

 
 

Living in Kinston

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $101,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $626.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2014

My children have been at Parrott for 7 years and they could not be happier!!! The teachers are great and are willing to work with the children and parents. It is nice to know there is an open door policy and I have never felt unwelcomed. I have always been very involved at Parrott and they welcome volunteers. Parrott is like a family atmosphere and everyone is very friendly. They have a great cafeteria which my son loves!!! How many places have homemade biscuits for break and the best hand breaded fried chicken!!! The parents are encouraged to eat with their children also. Mostly when they are in the lower school!! I feel like my children are receiving a great education and will be well prepared for any college they choose. The other day I was working on something for school with my children and I asked them "If you could say one word about Parrott Academy, what would it be?" They said "awesome!!!" I think that says it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this school. The academic are great compared to the other schools in the area. All the teachers are wonderful, especially in elementary and middle school. Personally, the biggest problem with the school is the students. I agree with the review bellow; most of the students are rude, close-minded, intellectually apathetic, and cliquy. Sure, there were a few really nice kids in middle school that made the school worthwhile, but once high-school hit, most of the nice and smart kids with any sense left in them got as far away from APA as possible. APA suffers from an serious lack of diversity. Many of the kids here were materialistic, rich, and spoiled. It was very difficult for any of the newcomers to fit in while still maintaining any resemblance of their former selves. Because the class size was so small, if you did not fit in right away, it was almost impossible to make new friends and you had to run the risk of getting picked on for the rest of your time here. Honestly, APA still beats out the other public schools in Kinston, but if possible, you should definitely still consider other public schools in larger cities like Greenville.


Posted September 16, 2012

This is my first year here and so far it is the 4th week of school and I want to leave. I read all those reviews and thought hey, this school is the best school ever. Well, I was wrong! No one here is friendly, even though they call each other friendly. The students here dont know how to deal with diversity, so if there is anyone from a different culture they just simply ignore them. This next sentence makes me mad. This season, I play a sport, where people talk to me(plus my age mates), BUT when I am at school, they imply ignore me. WHAT IS THAT? These peopleare fake and have no manners. I am sorry for my parents because they wasted 9,000 dollars and more on this school plus the 45 minute bus drive. It isn't just the people, it is the teaching. I am used to challenging work, so I use my brain a lot but since I have been here, thinking too much is a disadvantage. That means that the work is not challenging. Just please, I beg of you, DO NOT COME HERE. I really dont want you to waste your money on your child. Don't listen to everyone that says they love this school because they will go behind your back and gossip about you, the students and the parents. Thank you for reading.


Posted April 5, 2012

My children have went to Parrott for five years now, and we love it. The academics are first rate, and it is a very nurturing environment. We live one town away from Kinston so we were apprehensive about the distance to school, but it has really been a non issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

My daughter has attended APA for 13 years - K-12. The pros have far out weighed the cons - some highlights: Pros: Solid academics. Strong administration, no bureaucracy - they expect much from the faculty, but give them the time and support needed. Perfectly safe (but don't think all the teens are goodie-two shoes). Teachers are involved with the kids, even after school hours. A small tight knit community. Strong push for ethical behavior and community service. Cons: Little diversity. Most parents are white conservative doctors & lawyers - the country club set. Most children are given everything - every new techno-toy, every extra-curricular opportunity, and a car on their 16th birthday. This doesn't make them bad kids, but they do have a skewed view of the world. Academically - too much emphasis on rote learning and piles of homework. That may change soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

This was our first year at Parrott; our daughter completed Kindergarten. We loved it! I can't believe how much she learned. However, she was not over worked or over pressured. Her class participated in a huge amount of fun activities such as parties and field trips. The faculty and staff at Parrott is so nice and welcoming. The older students relate very well to the younger ones. They are helpful and role models for them. The food in the cafeteria is delicious and wholesome. (We aren't talking square pizzas, but roasted pork tenderloin with steamed asparagus & hollindaise sauce for example.) EXCELLENT school overall! Tuition cost not bad compared w/ other private schools and is well worth the expense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2006

gotta love parrott...a very sheltered environment,like a very small closely tied community
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

My children went to Arendell Parrott Academy for many wonderful years! It was a safe, wholesome environment with strong academic standards. Discipline was an important factor in Parrot's success. In adition, there were many terrific extracurricular activities. Committment to public service continues to be a strong component of the education at Parrott.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 53%
Asian 6% N/A
Black 3% 32%
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of North Carolina
NC State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French and Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Bert S. Bright
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Cum Laude Society
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: French and Spanish
  • Literary magazine
  • National Honor Society
  • Orchestra
  • SADD
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
  • Young Life
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Parrott Academy provides a stimulating liberal arts education focusing on four traditional pillars: academics, fine arts, athletics, and service. Whether expanding critical thinking in the classroom, learning life-lessons in an athletic venue, portraying a character on center stage, or traveling to Ecuador to help construct classrooms, students at Parrott Academy are supported as they excel in diverse ways while rising to the highest level of personal commitment and achievement.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
North Carolina State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1901 Dobbs Farm Rd
Kinston, NC 28504
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 522-4222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT