Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corriher-Lipe Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 508 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2011

I go to this school and i love it! The teachers are really nice an if something or someone is bothering you. You can tell the principle and she will handle it or a administrative! I love CLMS!


Posted November 18, 2010

I have had two sons complete six consecutive years at CLMS. They loved Dr. Pugh and my sons wish she would move over to South Rowan. The teachers were very helpful when my youngest son was falling behind and discovered he had ADD. They worked with us - it's all about parents getting involved in their child's education and meeting with the teachers. I have read the concerns about the sports programs, and unfortunately, I do have to agree that there was a lot of favoritism in football and baseball. Several of us parents even tried talking to coaches to no avail. My son approached the coach on his own in a polite and respectful manner, but it did not help. There is definitely a communication breakdown about practices and failure to adhere to a practice time schedule which takes advantage of parent's schedules - especially when you work or have multiple children in different sports or at different schools. Overall, Corriher Lipe is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2010

This school, along with all other public schools, are failing our kids. When I was in middle/high school (late 70's), ALL of my teachers had MBAs in education. Now we have teachers that (if lucky) have BAs in forestry, psychology, etc. There are assistants that have no college education and have no education in what they are assisting with (reading, math, etc). The government continues to pull funding from education - pitiful situation. I am pulling my daughter out and she will be going to private school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Had two children go through this school and I'm very impressed with what they do with the resources available. Good principal and teachers. My kids have enjoyed the CLMS experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

I love this school its where my kids go its wonderful(:
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

I am a student at Corriher-Lipe Middle School and I think it is a great place to learn because the teachers are always ready to teach and the students are always ready to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2008

I have a child that attends Corriher-Lipe. I am not amazed my the school. One issue I amc oncerned about is the Principal. I do not like her way of running the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

corriher lipe is a great school, it has great academics and decent sports programs, i went to C.L.M.S. for two years and i wish i could be going there for my 8th grade year as well, when you walk into the school you can just feel the hospitality and friendly warmth, i advice parents to send their kids to C.L.M.S.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

i go to this school it is ruff around the edges but it is a good school i would know its my third and last year
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2008

This School is by far the best. The teacher are great. The staff as a whole really care.


Posted December 16, 2007

My daughter is having problems with her school work and I had a meeting with her teachers. All of them were very helpful and concerned about her. They were very helpful giving suggestions and helping me to feel better about my childs future. I've read several bad reviews on here and all I'm saying is that my experience with these particular teachers proved to me that they are kind and caring. This is my third child going through CLMS and I've not had very many problems there at all and when I did, the staff were quick to handle them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

I don't like how teachers and the school is run. If it don't get better my son will be better of home schooled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

I was a student at CL for 3 years. This is a great school. It has a loving caring principal and great teachers. I would know because I attended that school all 3 of my middle school years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2007

This school is failing our children The statistics show that this school has failed to teach our children basic reading writing and math every year the the average number of children that meet goals set by the state drops. The push to 'raise money' increases and the PTA seems to dictate school activites.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I feel like the principal cares about the childrens education. But the athletic department is totally about favoritism. Your child can be at every practice giving 100% and they are still only going to let their 'picks' play at gametime that don't bother showing up at practice. This school does'nt teach teamwork, they teach it's all in who you are and who you know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

This school has the worst communication between school officials and parents. I have had 1 child attend there and i have 2 other children that i will no way send there. This school will give you a good lesson on the phrase (according to who you know). They are very inconsistence on their practices. Teachers are also signing pep plans saying they are going to do certain things to help your child and just flat out don't do what they say they are going to do. There is no sense of love and care for seeing children succeed in this cruel world. My child was where he needed to be going to middle school but when he was took out of this school he was way behind. Don't move to this district if you don't have to and this school district will make you understand why homeschooling is becoming so popular.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

Our school really works together as a team and not as an indviual. But our school is not so great at sports but is good when it comes to academics.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students24%
Female31%
Male18%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students28%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English25%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students42%
Female49%
Male35%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students25%
Female25%
Male25%
Black8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students29%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students34%
Female37%
Male32%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students39%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students22%
Female20%
Male24%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White23%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students24%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students37%
Female38%
Male35%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students56%
Female58%
Male54%
Black70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students70%
Female58%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students70%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 52%
Hispanic 10% 14%
Black 8% 26%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Beverly S Pugh
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (704) 855-2670

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

214 West Rice Street
Landis, NC 28088
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 857-7946

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT