Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lexington Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 749 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 2, 2014

I just moved to LSHS from other state and I am very pleased how the students behave inside and outside of the classroom. Students here are more respectful, hard working, and motivated to do the work. The administrators are awesome and very supportive.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 6, 2013

No understanding of how the school has functioning individuals. The person below deserves a shot at mayor. At least s/he comprehends the LACK thereof support.


Posted April 25, 2013

There is a split between BOE, admins, faculty. Students run the entire school. No set policies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

This school is an improving curriculum, some very dedicated teachers, and some who are not as dedicated. The new school administration is changing things for the good and making this a better more rigorous school.


Posted November 14, 2009

This school is becoming better ever since they added a new school uniform policy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2008

I started out in this school system in elementary and a year of middle school, but I left for 7th-11th and now I'm back for my senior year. Having gone to another school and seen things that go on in other places Lexington is actually in my eyes better than most schools in Davidson County, but Lexington is always the ones getting called out on their mistakes. So, I say before you talk about another school find out what's going on in yours. Lexington is a great school system and I wouldn't want to graduate anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

There are some stellar teachers at LSHS .It is a good school but needs to have more AP courses and stronger administrative leadership. Many of the teachers feel they are not really supported by the principals.


Posted May 21, 2008

I attend LSHS and i believe it is a wonderful school that teaches you to cope with diversity and prepares you for the real world. Despite all the bad things that are said about LSHS it really is a positive environment with caring teachers who do everything in their power to help you become susful. And with the new administration I see a positive future for all of us.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2007

I Have been in this school system all my life and lots of people think this school is so bad. I feel more safe at my school than I do anywhere else. in other schools they have guns brought to school beacuse of students having too much freedom before they have an adequate amount of responsibility
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2005

As an Alumni of this school i feel that the academics prepared me adaquitly for my colligate career. But more so than that, gave the oppertunity to embrace all the different cultures and peoples around me; This is encouraged and flourish in the LSHS family. Extracurricular activites are surrounded in the same history die-hard following as most D-1 schools. I love Lexington Senior High school with every ounce of my being. I'll always remember that Lexington gave my the skills to flourish at UNC-Chapel Hill and beyond.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 16, 2004

its alright im a student here. some of the teachers seem like they dont care. other than that it alright.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2004

I couldn't have asked for a better education in the public system. With such a diverse population, I learned to associate with people on many levels. What a great advantage this has been.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

203 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
-5%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
31%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

158 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

122 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

199 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

145 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

185 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students-5%
Female-5%
Male-5%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-5%
Economically disadvantaged-5%
Not economically disadvantaged-5%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students-5%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English-5%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant-5%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students44%
Female52%
Male36%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities5%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Students36%
Female41%
Male32%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students39%
Limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 26%
Hispanic 26% 14%
White 23% 52%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Travis Taylor
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (336) 242-1285
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26 Penry Street
Lexington, NC 27292
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 242-1574

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Davidson Early College
Thomasville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT