Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Boone Trail Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 597 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2012

Boone Trail has some of the finest teachers in the county. There is alot of good things going on that doen't show up in the so called tests that are given at the end of the year. I wish that the people that made up these tests had to be in the classrooms when they are given. They only degrade the teachers, students and the parents. Children are so upset about having to take them they some get really sick. Someone needs to examime these tests and see if they are really necessary. I would not want my grandkids to go to any other elementary school. The teachers and staff work very hard to make everything right for the kids. They also have alot of support from the community and things would be alot better for all schools if dicipline was put back in the schools. NO DICIPLINE NO LEARNING---and it makes it hard for the kids that want to learn.


Posted October 21, 2010

I have never seen a school so well put together from the teaching assistants to the Principal. Mrs. Ferguson has obviously made a tremendous impact in this school. I am not from this area and was a little reluctant about sending my child here...so far, I have seen nothing but wonderful results with my childs learning. Such a fantastic school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

Boone Trail has made several improvements with the hiring of an interim principle, Mrs. Bowen. They were in dire need of a positive change and I feel that she has helped tremendously. I will be sorry to see her go next year and hope that the next principle will be as caring and committed as she has been. Parents in this community really need to step up and volunteer at every given opportunity in order for this school to meet its full potential. Overall Boone Trail is a good school and most of the teachers try hard to educate and protect our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

This school needs a lot of work...structurally and staffing. Unfortunately I found the staff to lack of diversity and multi-culturism. They are stuck in the past. They use their prejudice and dislike to hand out bad grades. They pull the grades from no where. Thank God they replaced some of the old teachers there, especially the special needs teacher. The new teacher that came in turned that whole program around for the children with special needs. She cleaned up a filthy mess left by the other teacher. I hope they get a new school for my children...it is about to fall down!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

I love Boone Trail elementry! My kids are surrounded by so many caring teachers. I feel as though any problem that arises I can contact the teacher and it will be handled smoothly. My student had an excellent 5th grade teacher, Miss. Niezgoda. She is very loving and organized. This made the school year go excellent! Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

As a family not from this area, I was surprised that a small community could be so selective in the treatment of the students. The administration seems educated but really doesn't have a clue in what's best for the child. Discipline is almost nonexistence where problems go uncorrected. There are some great teachers but my son has special educational needs that were not met. Grades seemed made up because no one could show me anything! When you give a child A's and B's but then he fails the 'test' - something is not right. There are so many new teachers that seem to have no guidance and do not teach to the caliber they should. Was much better 5 years ago when we moved here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

I have had children at BTES for 3 yrs now. The staff is wonderful and so is the the academic programs. We have not had any problems at all. All the teachers and assistants that we have had have worked with us and have helped resolve any issues that have come up. Thanks for another great year,sadly our last we will be moving next year but we will miss yall
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

My daughter began kindergarten this year at Boone Trail. I was nervous at first because I did not know her teacher. Her teacher, Mrs. Brandy Coker, is fantastic. She made my daughter feel right at home and my child loves her and can't wait to go to school each day. Mrs. Coker is familiar with my child's needs and helps meet my child's needs by challenging her with work at home and at school. Mrs. Coker also keeps parents in her class informed by sending home updates and reminders. She keeps the parents informed of their child's progress and needs too. I am pleased and impressed with my daughter's teacher and the assistant. I appreciate what Mrs. Coker is doing and would suggest her to any parent who has a kindergarten student coming into school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

I find this school to not be up to standard. The principal and counselor do not listen nor care what the parents have to say. Neither do they want the input of parents (except the ones with deep pocket books). They are opionated and not totally concerned with students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

I'm not orginally from Mammers, and I have found this school staff to be extremly helpful. Both of my childern our in a special education classes and the teachers are very understanding of their needs. Thank you teachers for you do for your students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

This is the worst school I had ever heard about.I cannot wait until my children are out of there. The teacher and staff are rude and judge the kids by their last names. Is that fair to the students who are not from around Mamers? It is not fair to judge them and treat them so unfairly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students29%
Female24%
Male32%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students30%
Limited English proficiency29%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students21%
Female20%
Male21%
Black6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students21%
Limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant21%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students29%
Female29%
Male29%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students31%
Limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students23%
Female21%
Male26%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students24%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant23%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students22%
Female15%
Male28%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students25%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students19%
Female15%
Male22%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students21%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students22%
Female10%
Male32%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students25%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English26%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 52%
Hispanic 29% 14%
Black 15% 26%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Brookie Ferguson
Fax number
  • (910) 893-6865

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1425 Adcock Road
Lillington, NC 27546
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 893-4013

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT