Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Matthews Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 989 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

Very strong administration! I have a special needs child with Autism and a Gift Child. Both get support and are challenged to improve by the wonderful teachers and support team. We love the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

Both of my children went through Matthews with the last finishing up 5th grade in 2013. I used to really like this school and would've recommended it to anyone. However, the school received a new principal a few years back and I can't say the change had been a good one. The new principal is a young fella trying to work his way up the administrators ladder quickly. Unfortunately sometimes that is to the detriment of the students and staff. Thankfully I have many great memories of the school and what it was prior to his arriving at this school or my rating would likely have been much worse. We had some fabulous teachers while there and and two not so fabulous teachers. I am thankful for those that care and love what they do and love every child that steps in their classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Matthews Elementary School was a warm welcome for my daughter. We just moved from Florida and were met with helpful people, all with smiles and having pride in the school they work at. My daughter who is in the 2nd grade wants to make sure we don't move again until she is all the way through the sixth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2013

Our first year at Matthews & we could not be more impressed! Great teacher communication & welcoming environment. We are very pleased to have chosen Matthews!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

My child has been at Matthews for almost 3 years...and it gets better every year. This year however, he's having a great year, and I really have to give credit to his teacher...Mrs. Moffatt. She is AWESOME! I truly mean that. She keeps the kids motivated and happy. Which goes a long way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

This school is amazing. The staff is so committed to education and making sure every child gets the education they need and at the level they can perform at the same time complying with a strict curriculum. The principal, Mr. Miliotte is a very nice man. He is very accesable and reasonable. You can find him early in the morning greeting kids and parents at the drop off. The teachers really want and encourage parent involvement. It is almost impossible not to get involved in this school, they expect great things from the kids and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

Its amazing, Im currently in middle school and i go to crestdale and i Adore that school . I learned and made alot of lifetime friends . And dont forget Your Blue &Gold . MATTHEWSS!


Posted October 27, 2010

It's just a great school in a small community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

My son is in K at Matthews Elementary school and he loves it. I just had his first parent teacher conference with Ms. Vann and she was very detailed about my son and how he performs in school. I was happy that she took the time to know so much about him when she has a class full of other students. The after school program there is also great. Ms. Gallo is wonderful and has so many activities planned for the children instead of having them sit around after school waiting on the parents to show up. I plan on having my son at Matthews Elementary until he can't go there any more. I am confident that he will excel with all the teacher and principal interactions in his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

we moved here from NJ a year ago and we are thrilled with Matthews Elem. in NJ our children were in private school and we found Matthews Elem to provide a wonderful enviornment and academics. Our children have surpassed their NJ classmates in reading and math. The Principal and staff are focused on the students and their caring shows through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

We moved here from Ohio and have 4 children that attend Matthews Elementary and we can't say enough good things about this school. Dan Witt, the principal, knows all 4 of my children by name and always takes the time to speak with parents. Ms. Marafino teaches Kindergarten and is one of the best teachers I know. She cares for her students as if they were her own and it shows in her classroom. There are so many great parents in the community and you will find many of them volunteering their time at school events and in the classrooms. I believe that my children have received a wonderful education at Matthews Elementary. My oldest son and daughter both scored perfect on their EOG's this year for math and reading and I think the school deserves some of the credit for helping them achieve such high marks. A 5 Star School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

As parents of two children, one who is a high funtioning autistic child, there are not enough great words to describe how awesome this school is. The principal is the best man you could want in your childs life. His name is Mr. Witt. As parents we feel it is because of him that the teachers and staff are just as great as him. We wish our kids had started there from kindergarten. Our story dealing with other area schools is too long to tell in this review. We know you do not know us,so if you can PLEASE trust Mathews is the best that you will encounter in the Carolinas. Both of us being from N.Y., attending some of the best public and private schools in the country still do not compare to Mattews Elementary! And a special Thank You Mrs. Carroll, who made a difference in our childrens lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

We just moved from New Jersey, I have found that this school deserves it accredited rating. First of all, my son Michael had Mrs. Kiger, 3rd grade, and i believe she taught my son more in one year than he learned in all his school years, strategies! Dan Witt, the principle, is a kind and caring man, who although busy, when you speak with him, he is everything a principle should be, kind, compassionate and very interested in the well being of your child. As for some of the reviews that were negative as far as the test scores, those comments in my opinion, are reckless This is state mandated, whether you're in the north or the south, it's not the teacher's or the principal's fault for doing their job to the best of their ability, take it up with the state. This school gets 5 stars! sheila appello
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

Great school. Awesome teachers with tons of parental involvement. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

Matthews has excellent teachers and a great deal of parental involvement...sometimes too much. They do need to work on the availability of more extracurricular activities for the children. They could put on more plays and/or programs that require a commitment from the children, not just programs that every class participates in automatically. Matthews' teachers, parents and students shold also take part in some type of diversity programs. There is some disparity in that area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2005

We have had our two children at Matthews for a total of 6 years now, and are very satisfied with their experiences. The teachers have been wonderful - I feel each teacher has contributed in a positive way toward my son and daughter's education. The environnment is positive and the parent participation very impressive. I am only disappointed that efforts to have a chess club there have failed. I would love to see it added some day.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted August 26, 2005

I enrolled my son at Matthews Elementary School for First Grade, he is now in the 4th Grade. His kindergarten experience at another local school was very disappointing. This other public school doesn't even come close to the academic, staff quality and most of all, parent involvement. Matthews has an outstanding PTO. You may not be able to have one-on-one time with the Principal; however something is to be said for the amount of parent/teacher participation. I'm very pleased with my son's education at Matthews Elementary! You have to always look at the child, if they're learning and happy then both parent and teacher are doing great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

I did the school choice plan to have my child attend Matthews. I have been very disappointed in it. Sure they have great test scores, but that is what their main focus is on. I think that when the principal will not speak with you in person that there is a problem. We have been there 2 years and have not had a good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2005

Excellent teachers -- my child has had three great teachers in a row, Ms. Scheick (2nd), Ms. Roy (3rd) and Ms. Carroll (4th). Principal is not interactive with parents; after three years she doesn't know my child's name. Parents are not friendly unless you are a board member of PTO which I am not. No school security, anyone can walk right in and walk around. Rate school a C+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2004

This school is too big, and the kids seem to be very roudy so that the teacher is always yelling at them (my son says). I chose to live in this area thinking the schools would be very good since the test scores are good. It is not a very nurturing environment, however, which I coming to believe is more important, so I'll be looking at other school options for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female63%
Male52%
Black38%
Asian67%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students66%
Female68%
Male65%
Black33%
Asian75%
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female66%
Male70%
Black44%
Asian85%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities33%
Non-disabled students71%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students64%
Female65%
Male63%
Black38%
Asian77%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female66%
Male68%
Black33%
Asian64%
Hispanic57%
Multiracial77%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students70%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students59%
Female62%
Male55%
Black40%
Asian73%
Hispanic36%
Multiracial54%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted93%

Science

All Students70%
Female69%
Male71%
Black43%
Asian73%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial85%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students73%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 52%
Black 16% 26%
Hispanic 11% 14%
Asian 7% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 McDowell Street
Matthews, NC 28105
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-3940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grace Academy
Matthews, NC


Shands School
Matthews, NC


Covenant Day School
Matthews, NC


Covenant Day School
Matthews, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT