Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Matthews Elementary 5

Posted June 27, 2015
- a parent
My son just completed kindergarten at Matthews ELE. and he did wonderfully. The teachers are kind and compassionate, very involved and knowledgeable. I feel that my son is getting great education and his basic skill sets are really coming along. So much communication with the teachers and staff of the school really helps. I will continue to monitor him as he moves along through his progressive grades...At this point though he is in the right school.

Matthews Elementary 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
Very strong administration! I have a special needs child with Autism and a Gift Child. Both get support and are challenged to improve by the wonderful teachers and support team. We love the school!


Matthews Elementary 3

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
Both of my children went through Matthews with the last finishing up 5th grade in 2013. I used to really like this school and would've recommended it to anyone. However, the school received a new principal a few years back and I can't say the change had been a good one. The new principal is a young fella trying to work his way up the administrators ladder quickly. Unfortunately sometimes that is to the detriment of the students and staff. Thankfully I have many great memories of the school and what it was prior to his arriving at this school or my rating would likely have been much worse. We had some fabulous teachers while there and and two not so fabulous teachers. I am thankful for those that care and love what they do and love every child that steps in their classroom.

Matthews Elementary 4

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Matthews Elementary School was a warm welcome for my daughter. We just moved from Florida and were met with helpful people, all with smiles and having pride in the school they work at. My daughter who is in the 2nd grade wants to make sure we don't move again until she is all the way through the sixth grade.

Matthews Elementary 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
Our first year at Matthews & we could not be more impressed! Great teacher communication & welcoming environment. We are very pleased to have chosen Matthews!


Matthews Elementary 4

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
My child has been at Matthews for almost 3 years...and it gets better every year. This year however, he's having a great year, and I really have to give credit to his teacher...Mrs. Moffatt. She is AWESOME! I truly mean that. She keeps the kids motivated and happy. Which goes a long way.

Matthews Elementary 5

Posted July 29, 2011
- a parent
This school is amazing. The staff is so committed to education and making sure every child gets the education they need and at the level they can perform at the same time complying with a strict curriculum. The principal, Mr. Miliotte is a very nice man. He is very accesable and reasonable. You can find him early in the morning greeting kids and parents at the drop off. The teachers really want and encourage parent involvement. It is almost impossible not to get involved in this school, they expect great things from the kids and the parents.

Matthews Elementary 5

Posted February 18, 2011
- a community member
Its amazing, Im currently in middle school and i go to crestdale and i Adore that school . I learned and made alot of lifetime friends . And dont forget Your Blue &Gold . MATTHEWSS!


Matthews Elementary
no rating

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
It's just a great school in a small community.

Matthews Elementary
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a parent
My son is in K at Matthews Elementary school and he loves it. I just had his first parent teacher conference with Ms. Vann and she was very detailed about my son and how he performs in school. I was happy that she took the time to know so much about him when she has a class full of other students. The after school program there is also great. Ms. Gallo is wonderful and has so many activities planned for the children instead of having them sit around after school waiting on the parents to show up. I plan on having my son at Matthews Elementary until he can't go there any more. I am confident that he will excel with all the teacher and principal interactions in his life.

Nearby schools

Matthews Elementary
200 Mcdowell Ave, Matthews, NC  28105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (980) 343-3940
Last modified Matthews Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top