Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

David W Butler High

Public | 9-12 | 2032 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

My Daughter goes to Butler and loves it. The teacher are always open to assist the children when needed for tutoring in any AP or Honor classes. Love the kindness and support the kids have for each other in sports and in the class room. No judging!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

My son has excelled at Butler. A few teachers my son thinks need to retire or go back to school. As an AP student I feel he is ready for college. Butler has a great dual enrollment program also for college bound students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

Butler High School is a great school. My 2 boys went to private school from kindergarten through 8th grade and then transferred to Butler for high school. We were very happy with a majority of the teachers at Butler. In fact, I feel the quality of the teachers at Butler was as high or, in some cases, even higher than the teachers at the private schools. Of course, at every school there are one or two teachers who should not be there. There are no perfect schools. But in our 8 years at Butler (my sons are 4 years apart) my children did very well, both socially and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

I would like to thank all the teachers that I had last school year and this school year for helping me succeed as far as possible. Thank YOU
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2010

I have called about 5 times leaving messages and can't get a call back from one particular teacher. Poor communciation.


Posted October 4, 2009

Great faculty and students


Posted December 18, 2008

We are new here and my child have been at Butler High since August. Over all, this school is ok. There are too many students and 'some' of the teachers need to retire or change their careers, because they seem to be fustrated and stressed to the end with their own personal problems. Communication between parents and teachers could also improve. I understand they are busy, but that's the only way we as parents can make their jobs easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

This school is a really nice, safe and a great school. I'm a senior at Butler right now and I have no problems what so ever with this school. Butler is such a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2008

I have two kids, boy and girl and both have excelled at Butler. They were also 2 totally different kids. One very outgoing, one very shy. Both are at/going to excellent colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I graduated Butler in 2007 and i have nothing but praise. I came across this site by searching for the schools homepage so i could find the email of a former teacher. I am currently a freshman at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and i wanted to tell my teacher what i had heard guest speaker from Oxford had said and how it related back to what my Former Ap class had disscussed. Butlers teachers have forever impacted my life. While Adminstration at BHS will stand behind its teachers till no end, the school it self stands above the rest. Not only in student, parent and teacher participation, but also in a desire to help everyone succed. Opputurnities abound at Butler, students must simply take advantage of them!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2007

Butler High School is absolutely amazing! I have loved every second of being there. Security gaurds are great, teachers and staff are completely amazing. My 8 daughters that attend there are all currently enrolled in all AP Classes and are doing exceptionally well! Oh my god It has been such a miracle in John and my life! Having 8 is difficult, but sending them to a great school in Matthews, NC is amazingness! :] -Cheri Pienso
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

Well just let me say that I absolutely love the school. I have a 9th and 10th grader there and they both love the school as much as I do. I moved here from Anson County in August and there curriculm is just awesome. Mr. Pusser was a big reason for me coming cause my 9th grader in the band and she loves him. Amazing enough i went from never going to a single school event in Anson County to doing everything at Butler. PTSA and everything GO BULLDOGS!!!catch the fever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

I have had 2 students attend Butler High School. I found that many of the teachers are not able to provide stimulating classes that push a child to excell. In addition, I think counseling and support for students is substandard. Phone calls are not returned and the administrations attitude is 'I'm in charge, deal with it'. Students who are self-driven and enter high school with specific college and professional plans at graduation can do fine at Butler. But students who need support or guidance are allowed to flounder and fail.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2006

Wow! I love Butler! I am currently a ninth grader and love every day I am there. I am in all Honors Classes and finally feel like I am being challenged. The Fine Arts Department is amazing, with Mr. Pusser and Mrs. Graves some of the finest musical instructors I have ever been privileged to meet. The core curriculum is great in everything from math to science to english to world history. Foreign Language is great too, with Herr Hablutzel as a teacher! The people are generally very friendly, with the exception of the few jerks that every school is cursed with. All in all I feel incredibly blessed to go to such a great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2006

I think that Butler HS could be a better school if there was better communication between staff and parents. Some calls are returned and some have not been returned from weeks ago. The no child left behind is an example how the system has failed my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2005

Wow, what do I have to say about butler high school? Well its the best school in cms, best teachers, staff, building, security...Overall great! We love it soo much and we would like to thank the principal mr. Richie for giving us a great chance to be butler bulldogs! thanx!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2005

We recently moved here from NY. We researched all schools and Butler ranked high on our list. My son came in as a senior and fit in immediately. He loves the school. Ms. Mennitt is a treasure as a guidance counselor. She helped to get all of his credits transferred and to get him into the classes he needed and wanted. Mr. Pusser was a joy to meet as well. My husband and I attended the parent-teacher conference and we were very satisfied that we chose Butler for our son. Great school. Good staff. Good parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

Butler has been a wonderful school for my son. He will graduate this year and is currently 10th in his class. His classes as well has his teachers have been challenging and motivating. He has been very happy his four years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

I graduated from butler in 2002. This is one of the best schools in the state. We are always one of the top 100 schools in the nation. There are fights as there are at every school but these people are dealt with quickly. There are plenty of clubs for students to join and our sports teams are among the best in the state. We have the most National Board certified teachers in the system and our test scores prove it. I hope to teach at butler when I graduate and my kids will go to butler in the future. Joel Ritchie is the best principal in the state. Very understanding and very helpful. I defiantly would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 17, 2005

Butler High School is said to be good, but it is really unsafe! I am a former student and I have experienced many fights, etc. In the newspaper it said that Butler had around the third highest crime rate for Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools! When you have one of the highest crime rates in Charlotte then you know your unsafe! Butler only graduates 90% of it's seniors- thats the lowest for CMS high schools! Overall I have to say that Butler is on the wild side and pretty dangerous.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

472 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

673 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

523 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

517 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

480 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

175 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

475 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students41%
Female39%
Male43%
Black25%
Asian50%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial58%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students45%
Limited English proficiency18%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted73%

Biology

All Students62%
Female60%
Male64%
Black46%
Asian63%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial57%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities24%
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically gifted90%

English II

All Students55%
Female59%
Male51%
Black45%
Asian43%
Hispanic42%
Multiracial63%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 52%
Black 30% 26%
Hispanic 15% 14%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Will Leach
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (980) 343-6315

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1810 Matthews-Mint Hill Road
Matthews, NC 28105
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Grace Academy
Matthews, NC


Covenant Day School
Matthews, NC


Covenant Day School
Matthews, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT