Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Crestdale Middle

Public | 6-8 | 914 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2012

i love crestdale and the only reason you people are haters are because youre probably just unwilling to try and are too scared to stick up for yourself. HMPH. the teachers are great and willing to work to help individuals who need it while at the same time are giving you a bit of freedom. You manage your own time. I AM A STUDENT AND I APPROVE THIS MESSAGE


Posted April 14, 2011

I have two children at Crestadle with different personalities and learning styles, and Crestdale has been great for both of them. My daughter, who has more challenges with schoolwork than her brother, has blossomed at Crestdale ad made the honor roll for the first time ever. Teachers are willing to tutor before or after school. My son enjoys his honors classes, and the sports experience there for him has been great. Wonderful coaches who keep the athletes on the straight and narrow. Coach Cambruzzi rocks! It's a very goo dschool
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

This school was terrible. The kids there were so rude and stuck up. It was impossible to get them to accept you. I am so glad I went to East Meck for high school. I did not want to be with those people any longer


Posted May 8, 2010

This school was the worst experience of my life. I came here in the 6th grade, only looking for a happy middle school career. What I found was a school full of potheads, bullies, and teachers unwilling to help. It is impossible to do more than one thing (ie, acting and football) because students won't accept you. The teachers are horrible, with a few exceptions for Mr. Canupp and Ms. Hill. It was bullied in the 6th grade, and became suicidal in the 7th. I thought the problem was me, so my self-esteem went down the toilet. But when I transferred to Randolph Middle School in the 8th grade, everything changed. People accepted me as an actor, an athlete, and a scholar. I had tons of friends, and made straight A's. I joined Glee club and student council, and became a football team captain. Crestdale is evil. Period.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2009

This, my friends, is the worst school that i have ever been to. All of the other students here are almost, if not completely brainless. In algebra 1 class, we have been going over slope-intercept form for the past 3 weeks because nobody can understand it. I had to transfer here from randolph because i was tired of getting home at 5:30. I am definitely not impressed with the teachers either. They really don't know what they are doing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

If your kids are focused on academics, Crestdale is an awesome school. Our son scored so high on his EOG's that he was invited by Duke University to take the college SAT test as a 7th grader. The staff really supports and motivates kids that are there to learn and succeed academically, not just the kids focused on athletics like some area schools. If you are serious about your child's education, you will look for a school like Crestdale. It's a school that is truly pushing to help get our kids prepared for high school and college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

We moved from jersey, and for my 11 year old, it was an extremely terrible transition. However, that said, I was honored and blessed that the support from his team Anne Shelton, Asst. Principal Crane, and Officer Young and Kelly Hoagland in the front office became his backbone. It was because of them and teachers like Rory Gregory, Mrs. Buhlinger, and Mrs. English, my son's grades went from 1st qtr. all D's back to the A's, B's and C''s where they belonged. This is a great school with a new leader, Rhonda Houston, who i deem a consummate professional. Had i not had these people to guide me from day to day, we would have been lost! I thank God they were a part of my son's life and MINE as well. This is a great school with a nurturing environment, especially for children who are in transition from moving. sheila
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

My daughter has been at this school for 3 years. She is academically challanged and I feel they put a lot of pressure on her to keep their scores high. I have never seen her self esteem so low when it comes to her school work. She feels she cannot keep up with the other kids. She tells me she doesn't like to ask questions because the teachers get upset with her. I think the school has a good front that they are putting up but if your child is academically challanged then I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

I just finished the 8th grade here and overall I LOVED the school expecially the 8th grade class trip to camp th underbird. But you do have very limited freedom unitll either the end of the year or untill you are in 8th grade but the teachers here are amazing but theh vice principals are really really strict but they are rather awesome too:-)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 28, 2008

i have had two children go through Crestdale and they both have had wonderful experiences. While each of my children are completely different, they both were given support and challenges at their own levels. Ms. Mitchell has done a wonderful job at Crestdale. The teaching staff has been so supportive and responsive. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

I have been so impressed with Crestdale. I have a 6th and 8th grader this year. Both of my children are in the honors program here. We came from Naperville,IL and I was hopeful we'd have the same academic experience here as we did in Naperville. We are having a better academic experience! My children have more homework and have to work a lot harder here than in Naperville. However, the work is very interesting and it keeps them very motivated to learn. Both sets of teachers are wonderful! They are really enthusiastic,which motivates my children! We love Crestdale! The individual attention is wonderful and both sets of teachers are always available for help in the mornings and afternoons. They are really wonderful and dedicated teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

This was our first year at Crestdale Middle School and overall found the school exceptional in all areas. The block system that they presently use is the only disadvantage I found because I do not believe this system works. Overall the staff and administration were great in helping us transition into our new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

I have had two children go through this school and I can say both received an excellent education and it is a very well run, safe school. Most of the students are well behaved and from the area. The teachers truly care about the students and are some of the best teachers my children have ever had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

The 2005-2006 school year was the best of the 3 years for my child. Since Ms. Mitchell has come to this school, my child has enjoyed school once again. Ms. Mitchell has brought the school back to what a middle school should be. There still needs more responsiblity given to the students (school is totally different from when I was in Junior High in CMS - less freedom to eat with who you want) but I've been pleased with my child's experience this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female77%
Male69%
Black51%
Asian68%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students77%
Limited English proficiency25%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female76%
Male66%
Black51%
Asian47%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students76%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female73%
Male72%
Black30%
Asian79%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial73%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students76%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students74%
Female78%
Male69%
Black38%
Asian86%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial64%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students77%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Academically gifted95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Male68%
Black35%
Asian90%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities19%
Non-disabled students72%
Limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female72%
Male67%
Black50%
Asian63%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities26%
Non-disabled students73%
Limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
Black55%
Asian84%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities33%
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students93%
Female87%
Male-95%
Blackn/a
Asian-95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students93%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 52%
Black 16% 26%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Rhonda Houston
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (980) 343-5761

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

940 Sam Newell Road
Matthews, NC 28105
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-5755

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Grace Academy
Matthews, NC


Covenant Day School
Matthews, NC


Covenant Day School
Matthews, NC


Mint Hill Middle
Matthews, NC


Fletcher School
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT