Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Monroe High School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a student
I am a student currently enrolled at Monroe High. I was nervous about starting school because of what people have told me, but when I came all the teachers and students made me feel like I have known them forever. The environment is so caring it's like one big family. People will say things that make Monroe look bad but in all honesty we are maybe one of the best ethnically diverse high schools in Union County, people just don't want to believe it because there kids go to "better" schools. I wake up excited to go to school everyday because I know that I feel safe in school, and people will accept me no matter what.

Monroe High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 13, 2016
- a student
I want to think Ms.Nicole Shroyer for inspiring greatness among all her students and making huge sacrifices in her life to better the lives of students like me


Monroe High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 13, 2016
- a student
There is a certain sect of students at Monroe who do not car about education however 95% of Monroe are good honest people who come to school to make something of themselves and the staff rewards this kind of student and does all they can to curb the attitudes of the less enthusiastic people

Monroe High School 5

Posted March 13, 2016
- a student
I am a currently enrolled student. I transferred here my freshman year after attending a private k-12 school. This school has by far the best: sense of family among students, teachers, facilities, and administration that i have ever seen. I love Monroe each day I feel like my education matters; and I am legitimately excited to wake up every morning and go to work for the most underrated school in Union County!

Monroe High School 5

Posted January 16, 2015
- a community member
Just saying that it is expected that every student attending the Union County, NC Monroe schools lives up to the high expectations that the school and community imposes upon them To be kind and successful in life for their future happiness and dreams to come true.


Monroe High School 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a parent
I love this school. I have had 3 children attend and I also graduated from this school. The teachers and staff truly love and respect the students. They try to help them in anyway they can.

Monroe High School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a student
This is a great school! Forget what you hear about MHS from other schools! There is no graffiti on the walls, everyone is NOT a drug dealer, not everyone here is "ghetto", and fights don't happen everyday! MHS is like a huge family! The teachers and administration care for their students like their very own. We have some of the best AP classes in the county and our tutoring is excellent! I am proud to be apart of the Redhawk family!

Monroe High School 4

Posted November 03, 2013
- a student
Monroe High Is A Great School Although I wish They Wouldn't Focus So Much on Dress Code...But As Far As Education goes Its In A Good/Grey Area Tutoring Is Held Everyday Except Wednesdays;Because There Are Teacher-Principal Meetings.And Tests Are Given Every Friday And As Far As I'm Concerned Grades Are Rising NOT Dropping Its Just What Others Have Heard About MHS In The PAST


Monroe High School 4

Posted July 19, 2012
- a student
Iam a student at Monroe high and i think its a great school people talk so much and say its bad but the teachers are amazing and are there to help you when you need help everyone has there own problems but when it comes down to learn there are alot of great students at monroe that other school would love to have (: Monroe High Is A Great School

Monroe High School 1

Posted October 26, 2009
- a parent
The school is more concerned with dress code than academics. Its ridiculous!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Monroe High School
1 High School Dr, Monroe, NC  28112
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (704) 296-3130
Last modified Monroe High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top