Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkwood High School

Public | 9-12 | 873 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

i go to parkwood and it is a great school! we are just one big family, we all love eachother.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2011

We recently moved to NC from a big city and have now settled into Parkwood HS. We interviewed several schools prior to purchasing our home and Parkwood made our short list. This is certainly different from a metropolitan HS, but we are pleased with the learning environment, sports and club offerings. We have experienced caring teachers who are committed to our child's academic success and who have willingly communicated with us as parents. The guidance department was wonderful in helping us to acclimate to the school. Our principal and administration are accessible and hard working. Parents are involved and can be seen at games, plays and various other events. I was impressed to see the number of seniors who were awarded scholarships last semester. There are definitely newer, fancier schools in our county, but we are happy with the choice we made for our family. I am disappointed to see the low rating on this review, because it certainly does not reflect the experience we are having as we move into our second school year at Parkwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

I have a 15 year old son at parkwood. I am a single parent (father) with 3 sons. I have found parkwood to be doing a good job with my son. He takes honors classes and is an excellent baseball player. He likes the rural atmosphere that can sometimes make it more friendly than a larger city based school .He especially likes his Bible History class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My sons attended Parkwood High School - what a great school. They talk about 'Parkwood's Finest' - that would be the teachers - they absolutely go out of their way to teach these kids. They stay after for study groups - they tutor - whatever needs to be done, they are there for you. We had to move away from NC (job) - and the boys miss Parkwood terribly. The teachers had such an ability to reach out to kids. My oldest still uses techniques taught in his English III Honors class at his new high school -gotta love those sticky notes!! Don't hesitate to send your kids here - they will succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

Geometry Teachers rock. My son was having a difficult time in her class and she tutored him in the mornings and afternoons after class. This type of committed is hard to find. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

Both my boys went to Parkwood High School. The opportunities are there to succeed if you want them bad enough. The teachers are fair and they are there if your child needs extra help in any particular subject. Plenty of extra curriculative activities for everyone. Parkwood is a school that loves for parents to get involved. You too will fall in love with the school if you give it a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

Parkwood is an allright school...but it really depends on what teachers you get....things arnt really fair thats all I gotta say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2005

My daughter transferred from a SC school where she had taken 3 9th grade classes in 8th grade. Unfortunately, NC doesn't recognize over-achievers as these classes do not count and therefore were done in vain. Now, the only options are to re-take these classes or she will be penalized by being REQUIRED to take AP classes in her senior year to be able to graduate. Had we stayed in SC, she would be elligible to graduate early. NC appears to put more effort into making under-achievers 'appear' better than they are and pass them even when they should be held back, than in rewarding students for their hard work and intelligence in Elementary and Middle School. NC should just tell students while they are in elem school - don't bother striving to work hard during your formative years as it will count for nothing in High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

I just sent my daughter to Parkwood High! So far she loves it! She's going into the 10th grade and is having a great time! All of the teachers are wonderful and I'm so impressed with the facilities! The teachers really know what they're doing, and I'm just so please with the school and all of the curriculums! I can't tell you how thankful I am to PHS! Thank you so much to everyone at PHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

I just sent my youngest daughter to PHS, and it is absolutely wonderful! She loves it- and all of the teachers are so well prepared for anything thrown their way. They all really know the curriculum (which I am very pleased with) which helps the students better grasp the information. I would just like to thank everyone at PHS for being so accomidating and keeping it a safe place for my daughter and others! Keep up the good work! I strongly recommend this school to anyone having second thoughts about sending their child there! Everyone I know of is just as pleased as me with PHS! Thank you so much for making high school one of my daughter's best experiences!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

I have 2 children that attend, my son just graduated and my daughter is a rising Sr. The facility at PHS is wonderful and they challenge their students to strive above and beyond. The students have a strong foundation from PHS to help them with their futures whether it be college or straight into the work field. I highly recommend PHS. Thank you to all the everyone at PHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

My child was challgened to do her best when she attend. The teachers where there when ever needed to help out with any questions she had. She has already graduated thank to the help she did received.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

251 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

168 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

247 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

244 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

222 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

113 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

178 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students9%
Female10%
Male9%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White11%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students10%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English9%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant9%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students38%
Female31%
Male44%
Black10%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically gifted70%

English II

All Students59%
Female67%
Male51%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 52%
Black 11% 26%
Hispanic 6% 14%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • North Carolina High Academic Growth School (2007)
  • North Carolina School of Distinction (2004)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Am. Sign Language
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35am
School end time
  • 3:35pm
School Leader's name
  • Ms Stephanie McManus
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (704) 764-2907

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Hearing impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Am. Sign Language
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Indoor Track
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Indoor Track
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3220 Parkwood School Road
Monroe, NC 28112
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 764-2900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wolfe School
Monroe, NC



South Providence
Waxhaw, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT