Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sardis Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 515 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

We love Sardis because: -We've had 3 excellent, A+ teachers in a row, who all did a great job of pushing my child academically while keeping school FUN. -I have a 2nd grader, and each grade has gotten a little more rigorous. 2nd grade is no joke here! My child is on track to being prepared for 3rd grade standards and tests next year. -I love that the PTA does fund raisers and other activities, because they're working actively toward improving MY child's school experience! I gladly contribute what/when I can. I am so thankful for an active PTA. -I love the way principal is visible and interacting with students many mornings during car line. She has such a kind, calm vibe. -I am ALWAYS kept informed, never in the dark, about school happenings through phone messages and newsletters. -The elective teachers rock! They take their jobs seriously, and come up with some great activities for the kids. -We love our bus driver, who is stern but kind. She tolerates no nonsense and keeps the kids safe. -You would NEVER guess this is a Title I school from walking down the halls. From the beautiful artwork to the happy hum of lots of kids ENJOYING learning - this school is TOP NOTCH!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

This school has given my children a wonderful education. The teachers go out of their way to support the students, both academically and emotionally. As a parent, I know that learning should not stop at the door of the school. If my child needs my help counting pennies or signing an agenda after they read, that is the least I can do. I know that many parents feel the same as I do but, unfortunately, the ones who are looking to complain will find this website more easily. This is an amazing school with supportive administration and teachers. You would be lucky to have your child go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

In my five years as a Sardis parent, I have been very satisfied by the experience my son has had! The staff is loving and the school atmosphere is that of a family. About some of the comments preceding mine, the children are asked to walk in a line in the hall to avoid choas and so that they can hear instructions. When parents come for lunch, every table is needed in order to accomodate all students, so they must have a seating chart. The teachers ask parents to provide birthday treats for the entire class in fairness so that no child is left out. Union County (not Sardis) does not let you cook your own treats because of peanut allergies, which could be deadly. Fundraisers are so that the school has money to provide for it's students with a dwindling budget. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

Having both of my children attend Sardis through the years I can say that our experience was nothing but wonderful. The administration was always seen interacting with the students. The discipline is structured with a caring and respectful approach. Walking through the haalways I always noticed the childrens work on the walls and the wonderful artwork. I see here that some parents seem to be dissatisfied with procedures and experiences they have had. As a parent I too had some concerns about a few things and I took the time to go to the administration and I was welcomed into speak with the principal and felt very respected. This school is one of high quality educators that always made me feel welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

I was very disappointed in this school. The school is a Title I school...the school performs poorly and many of the children receive free lunch. The work they give to kindergarteners and first graders is non challenging. The children must walk down a solid line in the hallway and wave their arm in the air; the parent is segregated to have lunch with their child at a table adjacent a noisy line of children lining up for lunch. One teacher teacher treated me as if I were a child myself. Little joy going on here. You are not allowed to invite a few children from the class to your child's birthday party, you must invite all 30 children, regardless if you can accomodate that many. Forget baking anything for classroom parties. Will a parent poison the kids or put a peanut in the ingredients? They are a paranoid and joyless bunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

As a parent of a child in the exceptional needs program, I expected alot. I expected to at least get the same level of talent and care we had for Pre-K in Porter Ridge. Instead what we got is passivity, what appears to be no sense urgency, and a calculated effort by the prinipal, assistant principal, teacher, and para pros to keep all of these children not just mine seperated from the rest of the school and to do the absolute minimum that is required of them. Communication is non existent to very little. I rarely see the teacher unless I search her out. These children can not afford the non chalant attitude that seems rampant in this class. They need structure and an aggressive and fun approach to learning just like any other child. Unfortunately, this is not even close to what is happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

I have a kindergartner and a first Grader at this school, This school is not good at all, all it wants is money, every night they are having an 'Invest-in-a-kid' or a McDonald's night, or a Kate's Skate night or something to raise money for the school. They give little to no work and do not prepare their students for anything. Why do i know this? because i had a son that was in Sardis, he went there from 2nd-5th grade and now he is attending PRMS and is in the 6th grade. My son made all A's in Sardis and never had any work to do, and then when he went to PRMS he showed up with unsatisfactory grades, C's and D's, Sardis did not prepare my child, and I am considering to transfer my children to Metrolina.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

I have had two children at Sardis and I can say that it is solidly mediocre. They make five yr. old kids write their name in cursive, initial and otherwise print, then have parents initial their work. They make a big to-do about minor things. Want to make cupcakes for your child's class? You can't do that. Once, when I came to have lunch with my daughter, I was told I couldn't sit with her at an empty table, because 'that's not where they sit'. My kintergardener came home with a copy of the rules attached to her because she had the wrong top on. One last thing, in K-2, the work is unbelievably easy, not challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

The amount of homework and paperwork given to my children at this school was a burden to my family. Having to help one child write his name in sand, count out pennies, and do other tasks while managing full-time jobs and our older child's after school activities became a nightmare. Sardis teachers do not seem to believe that homework should be activities that children are capable of doing entirely on their own. Also, children at this school are held accountable when their parents fail to sign forms or agendas. I also wonder how single-parent families or those dealing with poverty, ailing family members, etc. could ever keep up with all the stuff required of young children at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

I am a grandmother of a now 4th grade student at Sardis Elementary. I am a retired school teacher, as well. My grandson loves school which is a great sign of what is happening in his life at school. His teachers have all been excellent and have been attentive to the needs of the whole class. Keep it up Sardis. I wish I could take this whole staff with him to Middle School!


Posted May 15, 2007

My grandchildren go to Sardis, and I have other grandchildren that are homeschooled, and by far Sardis is the better of the two. I especially like the security system they have. The computer classes,gym,teachers, principal, are all great. I applaud Sardis Elementary for teaching my grandchildren..as 3rd grader is taking advanced tests now as she is so smart.. a production of Sardis. First grader could read in Kindergarten. Amazing compared to 10 years ago. thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2006

Thank you ot the staff at Sardis for continuing to build on an already strong program. My daughter has had 2 great years at Sardis and will continue because of good solid teaching. A good school, a strong staff, focused teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female35%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiency26%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female35%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female47%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted92%

Reading

All Students49%
Female44%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students57%
Female63%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiency33%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students41%
Female46%
Male36%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted83%

Science

All Students33%
Female35%
Male31%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students35%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English37%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically gifted78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 52%
Hispanic 33% 14%
Black 8% 26%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Margaret Proctor
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (704) 882-4305

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4416 Sardis Church Road
Monroe, NC 28110
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 882-4303

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Merit Academy
Indian Trail, NC



Poplin Elementary School
Indian Trail, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT