Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brawley Middle School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
As a Brawley Middle School parent who has had two boys attend and graduate from BMS over the past six years, I would like to express thanks to the staff, especially the wonderful teachers. BMS provides their students not only the with the foundation for success in high school but instills values/morals of character in life. My senior still utilizes and has retained what he has learned from his former BMS Math and Language Arts instructors . We are very pleased to have been a part of the BMS family!

Brawley Middle School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
As an educator and a parent of two sons that attend Brawley, can honestly say that this school has surpassed any expectations I had. My oldest son just completed 8th grade and as a straight A student he was challenged. From the top notch math classes offered to his learning of Latin stems & analysis of classic literature, he was given a well rounded education. Many parents don't realize the classes offered during the school's WIN time. Just this past year, students had a choice to study the Holocaust, Robotics, Yearbook, and Chess just to name a few. The teachers and staff really care about the students and work well with parents. Mr. Dancy, the principal, is a great leader for the school family. As my youngest son begins Brawley this fall, I am excited or the great experience he will have.


Brawley Middle School 2

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
Not an easy school to transfer into unless your child is very outgoing or has a niche as an athlete. Teachers have very little time to help individual students and students are made to feel as if they are "bothering" teachers if they have a question. I felt the same way as a parent with teachers and in the office. Teachers have students grade other students work and then call out scores in the classroom. Front office staff is overworked and unfriendly. Principal is all talk and no action! Uniforms (khaki or black on the bottom with collared shirt on top that must be tucked in so kids all wear sweatshirts year round--- so that they don't have to tuck in their shirt) make all the kids look dumpy--maybe not a bad thing. . .but certainly depressing to look at. Be prepared for constant fund raising--kids even have to bring a dollar to wear jeans on Fridays! At first I was impressed by the rigor of the "advanced program" but I soon realized there was no advanced thinking going on just larger amounts of busy work designed to keep smarter kids who finish faster--- busy longer!

Brawley Middle School 3

Posted July 07, 2010
- a parent
some teachers are helpful but some are just there if you know what I mean...I'll be glad when my daughter is gone from there(8th grader this coming year)

Brawley Middle School 1

Posted November 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Brawley Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
I have two sons who attend the school and they absolutely love it! The principal is very involved and there is great parent- teacher communication.

Brawley Middle School 5

Posted February 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Brawley Middle School 1

Posted January 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Brawley Middle School 5

Posted January 27, 2009
- a student
I am a 7th grader at Brawley Middle School. The school is crowded but has a great way of letting kids get to class and learning things the way they nead to. The teachers here are great. The school is clean, they might have old parts of the school but they keep the floors, walls and hallways clean. Brawley Middle School is a great place for a kid to get a good education.

Brawley Middle School 1

Posted October 17, 2008
- a parent
This school is substandard in every possible way.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brawley Middle School
Swift Arrow Drive, Mooresville, NC  28117
(704) 664-4430
Last modified Brawley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brawley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.