Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
Mooresville, NC
Students enrolled: 1,603
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mooresville Senior High
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted June 21, 2015
- a community member
Really depends on the teacher. Some are super effective, some not so much. However, with almost all the teachers here, there is an attitude of "what can you do for me?" instead of "what can I do for you?". Most teachers are there when you need them, so staying in touch with them shouldn't be an issue. A main problem with many teachers here is their lack of knowledge with the Macbook computers that are issued to every student, which proves to be somewhat problematic.

Mooresville Senior High
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 21, 2015
- a community member
Nothing to complain about. Most of it is very tedious. Senior year is when homework starts to get a little on the ludicrous side due to senior projects.


Mooresville Senior High
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a community member
You're gonna need grit to graduate! This school will push you quite a bit, especially with senior projects and credit hours. They like to push the whole "School of Excellence" thing on you too much.

Mooresville Senior High
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a community member
This school's faculty will treat you like childish animals sometimes. Administration enforces very strict rules and guidelines that insult your intelligence. The dress code being the worst. Some teachers will not let you use the bathroom at all during class, which is extremely unfair and disrespectful to many students who have bladder issues like me. Teachers are heavily opinionated and they will let you know. I've seen teachers engage in arguments with students during class! This school does not prepare students for college at all, still treating them like brainless children that need guidance in everything.

Mooresville Senior High
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 21, 2015
- a community member
Administration couldn't care less about your needs. As far as they know, you're just a name and number. Front Desk/Office staff are especially the rudest. One time, I had to take a day off school for a college visit and I had signed documentation proving that I was on a campus tour. The Front Desk staff did not believe me and marked me absent anyway. As far as teacher go, some are very respectable and kind to their students while others are very apathetic. It's easy to see who truly cares for their students.


Mooresville Senior High
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted June 21, 2015
- a community member
Sometimes, it's best to keep opinions to yourself here. Anything you say can, and will, be used against you. This school is only fair if it wants it to be. The school has an extremely sexist dress-code towards women. Some teachers are also heavily opinionated and do pick favorites.

Mooresville Senior High
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 15, 2015
- a student
Most teachers rarely "teach" and simply direct students to use websites or simply read things off websites themselves.

Mooresville Senior High
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 15, 2015
- a student
I do agree with this because you need these qualities to survive this horrid school.


Mooresville Senior High 5

Posted March 24, 2015
- a parent
Mooresville is a true community school with a diverse population and involved parents. The 1:1 lap top program give each student in grades 4-12 an Apple commuter to use and take home during the year. The school has strong athletic, band and ROTC programs. The school has one of the highest graduation rates in the state, high test scores and has an excellent exceptional children's program. The high school is also about to under go a major facelift and building project.

Mooresville Senior High 5

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
We moved to Mooresville when my son was a freshman. Initially, I was not impressed. The school looked old and run down. But, the technology is amazing and has really kept my son engaged over the years. The staff has been caring and interested in helping him achieve his full potential. There have been many AP classes offered and the teachers have prepared him well for the AP exams. He has passed every AP exam with flying colors. We enjoy the sports programs and he has found a great group of friends to hang out with that have wonderful parents. The principal has had an open door anytime I had a question or need. We love MHS!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mooresville Senior High
659 East Center Avenue, Mooresville, NC  28115
(704) 664-5545
Last modified Mooresville Senior High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mooresville Senior High Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top