Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Elementary

Public | PK-3 | 552 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

I am a mother of 3, my oldest attended South Elementary K-3 and my younger two are currently attending South Elementary (both started in kindergarten). They all absolutely LOVE this school, as do my husband & myself! The teachers (all of them) are wonderful, caring and just truly amazing people, the principal (Dr Debra Marsh) does a outstanding job at this school along with the children that attend. We are all completely happy with all the years we have been here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

My son has been a student of this school for the 4th year now. He loves to go to school, teachers are great, they are highly committed to the success of every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

My daughter is about to begin her 1st grade year. We had a rough teacher in the beginning of kindy and we met with the prinicipal and she changed her teacher for us. The kindergarten teacher we got after was AMAZING! She made my daughter have a wonderful kindy experience. We can not wait to begin this year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

South Elementary is full of wonderful teachers and staff that truly care about it students. My daughter's Kindergarten teacher has gone out of her way to help my little girl adjust and learn. My little girl is developmentally delayed, the city of Mooresville and the school system has stepped up to the plate to help my daughter get to her learning potential. Thank you South for helping my little girl. You are a school of excellence. I hope you win.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The teacher sure is bringing out the best in my granddaughter-her compassion and knowledge in how to handle situations seems to be the best-I applaud her and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love the size of this school. Growing up I always felt lost in a sea of students and teachers. They are able to give more attention to a smaller group of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

My daughter goes to this school and I just love the hours,teachers and how clean and safe it is
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I think South is a great school. The teachers and staff are sweet and very helpful. I hope I can send my other child there when she is old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

This is an excellent school. Friendly caring attitude and excellent academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students80%
Female79%
Male80%
Black64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students82%
Limited English proficiency33%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 52%
Black 16% 26%
Hispanic 13% 14%
Asian 9% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Deborah F Marsh
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (704) 664-5103

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

839 South Magnolia Street
Mooresville, NC 28115
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 658-2650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mooresville Intermediate
Mooresville, NC


Rocky River Elementary
Mooresville, NC


Park View Elementary
Mooresville, NC


Pine Lake Preparatory
Mooresville, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT