Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 65 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


132 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pine Lake Preparatory 1

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
Why are the issues not being addressed by the administration? Why are the test scores dropping so dramatically and nothing is being done? The only content parents are those in favor with the administration because of the vast sums of money they give to the school to assure their children do well. I was hopeful that some of the issues were going to be addressed after so many students left last year but no one seems to care. My children will be leaving at the end of this year because of terrible teaching, disorganization, and the disaster that exists in just trying to get them into the building safely. I just cannot imagine how long it is going to take until someone does something about the severe problems at Pine Lake.
7 people found this helpful

Pine Lake Preparatory 5

Posted October 25, 2014
- a parent
We have two boys in school at PLP; one in 10th grade and the other in 7th grade. Both started at the school eight years ago as the school began, and we were delighted to be able to move them from the lesser quality neighborhood public schools in northern Mecklenburg County, that have their share of drug, behavior, and other problems. Our experience has been overwhelmingly positive, even as we experienced the growing pains of building development and construction, a change in head of school, and yes, periodic fundraising to build new facilities. Today, the school has expanded to include an arts center, athletic practice field, and athletic building, and planning is underway for a full-sized athletic field and a STEM building. We are very pleased with the quality of education our children are receiving, the level of engagement and talent of most of the faculty, and the atmosphere of "community" that is fostered there.


Pine Lake Preparatory 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
PLP is a great school. As with any school, or anything in life, you are always going to have problems. There are always learning curses to be experienced in anything. However, some of the reviews on this site just seem to be people who have had a bad experience and want to whine about it. I currently have three children at PLP, two in HS (one is a senior) and one in the LS. I can absolutely tell you that my senior is thoroughly prepared for college and that her teachers have went above and beyond what is expected. Do I think that my child could have obtained her 4.8 GPA elsewhere? Absolutely. Would it have been as hard and enriching as the education that she has received at PLP? Absolutely not. I rest assured everyday that my children are in a safe and nurturing environment and know that the teachers and administrators care about each and every student.
2 people found this helpful

Pine Lake Preparatory 5

Posted August 29, 2014
- a parent
I have two girls, one in lower (3rd) and one in middle (6th). We have been part of this school since the new campus was built in 2008. PLP not only offers exceptional academic opportunities, it is a true community where most parents are involved. Passionate teachers and parent involvement is why PLP has 3500 students on the wait list. This school is a model for other schools and does it all with 13% less funding than a traditional public school. PROUD TO BE @ PLP!

Pine Lake Preparatory 1

Posted August 21, 2014
- a parent
Traffic Mess/disorganization! One week in school, and school emails abound trying to issue damage control to their inefficient student drop-off planning. After 6+ years on the new campus, it's clear between the Admin planners and school structure, there is no relief in sight. Parents are impatient, confused, LS students take the sidewalk down from US, often coming w/in inches of cars. The sidewalk is narrow and so close to traffic. Student's are leaving already for other schools. Admin needs to change! Poor communications and disorganization!
6 people found this helpful


Pine Lake Preparatory 1

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
I receive the updates not this school as we are currently on the wait list. I must say part of me is wondering why we would even contemplate this school, after reading some of the reviews. I think we parents get caught up in the idea of "winning the lottery" and "getting our kids in a charter school" we forget to really do some real research on what the charter school stands for. This particular charter school appears to be suffering in many areas, and although we are high up in the lottery (top 10 for our grade) we will be declining a spot. There is more to school than winning a lottery and I feel confident this school is not going to meet our needs.
5 people found this helpful

Pine Lake Preparatory 1

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
Thank you, thank you, thank you to the parents who have had the courage to post honest reviews on this site! I have felt for a long time that someone needs to shine a light on the serious issues at Pine Lake. The test scores alone should be reason enough for a total makeover of this school. To understand the mentality at the school one only has to read the post accusing those who post negative reviews of the school of being bullies. No, we are not bullies, just concerned parents who are appalled that action has not been taken by the school board to change this school. It is a daily nightmare with the traffic problems at the school, unending requests for donations, the inability to communicate with teachers and the other issues previously mentioned. Forget everything except academics which should be the first thing anyone looks at when choosing a school. This school is failing miserably and earns a grade of F. We are happy to be moving our children to another school next year.
8 people found this helpful

Pine Lake Preparatory 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Pine Lake for four years with three children. We have been very pleased by the small class size and the caliber of students and teachers that are involved. We have seen firsthand teachers and administrators that care about kids and families. We appreciate that the academics are difficult but that there are ample opportunities for students to receive extra help, if needed. There are many ways to get involved. Overall, there is a sense of family at this school. Some of the older reviews are disheartening. It is sad to see a few people choose public forums to complain instead of rolling up their sleeves and trying to help where they see a need. The negative, anonymous posts (jabs) on here certainly show that bullying starts at home and it does't always stop when you become an adult. If you are considering PLP, do your own research and see if it is a fit for you and your child. This is a place where you all can find a spot to grow. We have been very happy and when we have had issues, we have been able to share our feedback in an appropriate way and help work towards a solution.
1 person found this helpful


Pine Lake Preparatory 1

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
Before determining if this school is acceptable for your children LOOK AT THE SCORES on end of grade tests. They are dropping each year at Pine Lake and took a nose dive in 2013. For example, 53% of 8th graders scored as proficient in math on the 2013 end of grade test. This is unacceptable and should be a reason to examine pulling the charter for this school. We as parents are left to wonder what in the world our kids are doing all day because they are not learning. Young and inexperienced teachers struggle at this school and over half of the teachers won't be back next year. This is our first year at the school and I almost pulled my son out in the middle of the year but decided it would be too disruptive to him. He learned little this year and will be taking remedial coursework over the summer to be ready for next year. The constant stream of emails from the school is ridiculous, this is not a school it is a fundraising organization pretending to be a school. We are counting the days until we can leave this school. Hopefully my son has experienced only a temporary setback and no permanent damage has been done.
5 people found this helpful

Pine Lake Preparatory 1

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are all new each year so there is no continuity surrounding the instructional methodology. The recent publication of scores posted here on Great Schools . Org sent shock waves through the school but just confirmed what most parents already knew : Pine Lake is not providing an adequate education to our children . All scores dropped dramatically. The fundraising from the administration is out of control and pressure to give to the school is intense. Teachers struggle with posting grades correctly through the online system , so if your child attends Pine Lake , plan to spend much time each month emailing to beg that your child gets credit for work they turned in. We have made the decision to move our children to a different school next year and cannot wait for this year to end.
6 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pine Lake Preparatory
104 Yellow Wood Circle, Mooresville, NC  28117
(704) 799-2500
Last modified Pine Lake Preparatory is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pine Lake Preparatory Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 132 reviews. Top