Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
81 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 165 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pine Lake Preparatory
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
All staff members are great! There is a teacher who is too over the top in the middle school, throwing away children's papers that don't have a name and 3 question tests that set a child up for failure, as well as obvious favorite students but that person is the 1 percent. There is a bad Apple in every bunch. The other staff members are amazing.

Pine Lake Preparatory
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
It use to be too much homework but the teachers have listened and now is just right.


Pine Lake Preparatory 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
It's , a wonderful school. I've been there for 6 years and can attest to how special this school is. As I read the reviews I see that some are so inaccurate. I'm wondering if they even attend. To act like people are leaving plp and that's why spaces are open is not true. It is a very hard school to get in. As far as the sports being non competitive, you cannot count the first year of any sport, every school has that issue. The golf team, swim team and volleyball team all Excel. The middle schools football team won the championship and the high school is runner up. The school just opened up a second campus/sports arena and offer a plethora of extracurricular offerings from the Lower Schools robotics, running and music to the high schools archery, Science Olympiad and much more. The state scores always exceed expectations and not only this school a STEM based school but they now offer Spanish immersion classes. Some of these people have no idea what they are talking about. We have a winning recipe, between the head of school teachers and children and I'm proud to be at PLP.

Pine Lake Preparatory 1

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Noticing that 5 star reviews barely give substance and have pattern of defending negative reviews. Where's the beef? Some observations: PLP is not like private, independent prep school (although hoped it would be since it's free). It's public school w large classes; many cases larger than CMS. There are many inexperienced teachers here who lack understanding of educating children. Not seeing deep resumes you might expect. Facilities are beautiful but outdoor spaces for lower school leave a lot to be desired including narrow dirt pit they call a playground. School's Spanish teacher left suddenly mid-year, not a good sign. My child has not had ability flourish with attempts to standardize children and not celebrate and embrace each child's uniqueness. The lower school 745 start time (dropping off in dark) causes exhaustion, requires a 7pm bedtime for a successful school day the following day + little time for family. School for parents who want to impress the layman by appearing that their uniformed children are in an actual private school. From an insider, the focus is unending fundraising and adults, not children. Wanted to love it, but seeking alternatives.

Pine Lake Preparatory
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
Class time is short therefore much of the work is doled out in homework. My children had no less that 2 hours per night - even weekends.


Pine Lake Preparatory
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
I think parents teach respect - Pine Lake Prep does nothing to further that - they don't have time with the very short day.

Pine Lake Preparatory
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
No, that has to be modeled and you may see that in about 5% of the Admin.

Pine Lake Preparatory
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
absolutely not - which is why there is high student turnover. If you are reading this, how do you think you got in to PLP? Not because someone moved, but because we are making the choice to leave for better education.


Pine Lake Preparatory 1

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
PLP is a public school, charter or not, that has to follow by law the same curriculum as per NC Standards set by the state. The difference is it's overall total grade size is small. however, don't be fooled - individual class sizes are much larger than traditional public in middle and high school. Top Administration are like high schoolers, very cliquish - very intimate with certain families and excluding to many others. Retaliation will decend upon you if you are caught voicing anything they perceive as negative, including the head of school's popular parents Facebook page. High teacher turnover, lots of busy homework, non competitive sports, exteme helicopter parenting by the majority (esp. the admin. kids), and out right false claims on high test scores are all the reality here. Funny how Admin tries tirelessly to convince parents who are none the wiser that this is just like private but free. I can attest that is false. We left because we needed true college prep. and we did not find it here.

Pine Lake Preparatory 5

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
My child is in kindergarten this year at PLP. I feel that both the school as a whole and her teachers are fabulous! She is thriving academically and socially. In fact, she told me the other day that she LOVES school. Needless to say, that makes me very happy to hear my child say that. I love that her class feels like a little family. It was evident every time I volunteered this year in her classroom that the students and teachers truly care about each other. On another note, the future of PLP is very exciting! In the fall the school will have its own football/soccer stadium. Also, in two years a STEM building will be built next to the campus. It's delightful to know that this charter school is thriving. I'm so happy that I didn't let the negative reviews about the school hinder my decision in her going to PLP. My husband and I couldn't be happier!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pine Lake Preparatory
104 Yellow Wood Circle, Mooresville, NC  28117
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 165 reviews. (704) 237-5300
Last modified Pine Lake Preparatory is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top