Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sterling Montessori Academy 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I have a high functional special needs child. He started at Sterling Montessori Academy. All I can said is my child is very lucky to have such caring and loving teachers. And most of all they all believing in him and they have all high hope for him. He loves his teachers and his teachers love him. He even wants to go to school even on the weekends. I can said good enough about Sterling teachers. We are very lucky to have our child in there. I feel safe and happy when in my heart knowing my child is being love by all the teachers.

Sterling Montessori Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
Two of my three children attend Sterling and I couldn't ask for a better school for them. We have quite a bit of experience with schools. My oldest child attended a highly regarded public school - until he got a spot at Sterling. And my middle child attends a different charter school because he is not a Montessori child. If your child is self-motivated and loves to learn, this is the perfect school. Teachers do an amazing job teaching to all levels in a classroom. Children also learn the conceptual and analytical skills here at Sterling, which is something I found lacking in the traditional public school. They also put emphasis on writing - much more than I've found at the traditional public schools. Upon graduation, children are exceptionally well prepared for high school, college, and beyond. If your child, like my middle child, works REALLY hard to not do any work, then a traditional school might be a better choice.


Sterling Montessori Academy 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
My two kids have been at Sterling as preschoolers. And yes, this is a real review from a parent. The school is wonderful in many ways and now has a strong leader in Mr. B and an apt lieutenant in Ms. K. We have been at the school for 6+ years now and could not be happier. The previous principal made some questionable decisions including screwing up a lottery, and keeping incompetent teachers around. The current administration takes education seriously and is quick to remedy difficult situations. The key is to find out about every classroom in the K-8 level to make sure your child is a good fit. This is where parental involvement comes in. Don't select a old school teacher's class if you believe in a more flexible approach for your child. If you have problems, approach Mr. B or Ms. K in a polite and professional fashion. They will listen and help. Been there done that. It is also very easy to volunteer in the classroom in a meaningful fashion. And this does not mean picking up trash after the annual picnic. Get into the classroom and help the teacher. Become a room mom/dad. You will be rewarded. As always, get involved in your child's education and reap rewards for a lifetime.

Sterling Montessori Academy 2

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
Not a very friendly school. We have been here 5 years, I work close by, but definitely our biggest complaint is that it's not very warm or friendly. Families are spread out from all over so making friends that you ever play with outside of school is challenging at best. Some teachers are great, others are very hard on their children and don't welcome parent involvement. Every class is different, teachers get to make a lot of their own decisions about how they run their classroom. Academic education is good for children who excel if you get the right teacher. Difficult to get involved and volunteer, not a very welcoming PTA, a small group of moms who have been there forever and want to do everything themselves. We will leave for our base middle school this year.

Sterling Montessori Academy 1

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Poor patience on little ones, like 3 years preschooler. Teachers don't have an efficient communication with those who need them most.


Sterling Montessori Academy 5

Posted July 13, 2013
- a community member
Being at Sterling was a wonderful experience. I was enrolled nine years ago, and just finished my last year a few months ago. Not only were the teachers intelligent and phenomenal at teaching the subjects, they were relatable and likable. They created a special bond with their students. The special education program has improved over the last few years by interacting and teaching in helpful and unique ways. The middle school was especially memorable. The middle school teachers did an exceptional job of preparing us to transition into high school. I'm glad that I was given the honor of attending Sterling Montessori (SMACS).

Sterling Montessori Academy 5

Posted December 14, 2012
- a parent
My kids attend this school and have now for three years. We love it. The teachers and administration are terrific, the parents committed and the kids thrive and learn here. We couldn't be more pleased.

Sterling Montessori Academy 5

Posted November 09, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter is a 1st grader at this school. She loves it and we love it. For kindergarten she was at our neighborhood school, which is a fine school, but she was not being sufficiently challenged and the curriculum was not sufficiently individualized. We were fortunate enough to be offered a spot and we could not be happier.


Sterling Montessori Academy 5

Posted May 06, 2011
- a parent
My child is currently in grade 5 at Sterling Montessori, which would make it his fifth year here. His Mom and Myself considered ourselves very lucky to find this gem of a school Five years ago. And we have not looked back. Our Son, under the guidance of his teachers through the various grades and under the Montessori philosophy has blossomed into an inquisitive, intelligent and thoughtful person. The school size is small and doesnt have all the extra curricular activities or options that other larger schools have but it more than makes up for it in the quality of the teachers, the small class sizes, and the awesome spirit of the school. Many parents get involved not because they have to but because they want to! The montessori philosophy allows the child to develop at a pace that they are comfortable with but rather than forcing them to rush through every lesson and memorizing as fast as possible, the teachers and elder classmates help to make sure that your child understands the premise and the core of the lesson before moving on. It is an invaluable teaching method that will prepare them for high school and university. I can not say enough good things about this school:)

Sterling Montessori Academy 5

Posted February 15, 2011
- a parent
We are more than halfway through our first year at Sterling. We could not be more pleased. We were not looking for a Montessori school, but ended up here in the wild ride that is the NC charter lottery. Turns out, this Montessori school knows what it is doing! No worries about kids having too much freedom, or whatever else I was worried about. I am really looking forward to my son starting, too, so that he can have a wonderfully tactile education where he feels like he has ownership over his own works! And I can relax because my daughter can gently move forward in the areas where she is shining.

Nearby schools

Sterling Montessori Academy
202 Treybrooke Dr, Morrisville, NC  27560
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (919) 462-8889
Last modified Sterling Montessori Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top