Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cedar Fork Elementary

Public | K-5 | 773 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

My Child came from India and joined this school in 1st grade. The environment, fluency in English everything is new for her. I take this opportunity to thank her class teacher Ca....., ESL teacher and all of them who had made my child very comfortable and i see a tremendous change with my daughter. To me the best school in Morrisville is CEDAR FORK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL who gives full attention to each and every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

My 3rd child is now attending Cedar Fork and we could not be more pleased with the teaching quality. All teachers (except one who is no longer there) have been phenomenal. They have cared deeply about the kids in the class. Most of the teachers gave my kids opportunities for additional challenge and learning beyond the core class work. We have been thrilled with our kids' experience. I will make one important point, however, and that is that both my wife and I are VERY involved in the school and in our kids classes. We volunteer as often as possible, both in our kids individual classes and in other areas of the school. In general, parental involvement at Cedar Fork is amazing--much better than the school in Arizona where our oldest attended kindergarten--and there is a definite feeling of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My children attend this school and I am very pleased with their progress and the best part is the teachers are very dedicated and give their best to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2012

The review stating the principal concentrates on the students and parents' concerns as her first priority is the way all schools should be. This is the advantage that private schools have over public schools. A Teachers' focus has to be based on student success and they should find their fulfillment in this way. I lived in the Washington DC area for several years and moved to Montgomery County rather than Washington DC because DC's school system was run for the benefit of the teachers and school administrators---not the students. Washington DC had one of the highest expenditures/student in the U.S. with one of the lowest levels of student success. Teachers should have fulfilling careers but the focus of schools must be the success of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

I am disappointed to see that a negative review was deleted from this site recently. As a parent and a friend of a former teacher at this school, I have to say that the administrators at this school create a very poor working environment. The principal undermines the authority of the teachers on a regular basis, and is an absolute pushover when it comes to parent concerns/issues. She does not stand up for her teachers, and fails to support them through tough situations. The TEACHERS ARE FANTASTIC and the majority of the students are high achieving and hard working. Good place to be a student and parent, but BAD PLACE TO BE EMPLOYED!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

This school is absolutely a gem! Super friendly staff and parents; wonderful caring and involved teachers. Both my kids have scored in the high 90s on their EOGs each year at this school. One of the few naturally diverse schools in Wake County. This school is like a big family and principal is so nuturing and supportive of all the students - she even remembers all their names!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

My daughter studied in this school for a year and I am proud of her progress. She has shined in all the areas. The teacher is doing a great job. My daughter is happy to go to school. I was satisfied as a parent that my child was doing good. Only that they don't have many electives compared to other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

My son JoJo teachers from different grades are great, I love this school Thank God to provide this great school for my kid. Amen !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Ceder Fork is AWESOME!! We moved to the Neighbourhood from Miami (Coconut Grove), Florida and unlike the City of Miami Public Schools, Morrisville Elementary Schools have a high standard of learning for it's children, the parents expect more from the school, and the teachers expect more from the students. Primarily the parents of the children that attend the schools in the area are foreign nationls (60%). Most of which were top-of-their-class in their own countries, with PHD's and Master's Degrees. Given the high level of education, the amount of involvement from community volunteers and the focus parents give education, you are sure to get a Private School education for your child for free. You have a problem or concern, the school will find you a solution, just ask the right people. Lots of Children, Families about 80% of the population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

My son who is in first grade loves going to the school each day. All the teachers he's had since kindergarden are great (classroom teacher, TA, music, PE, art, technology teachers, all of them). I was impressed that he was taught sing all 50 states alphabetically in his final months of kindergarden. Parents involvement is high too. I am kind of sad since we have to move to another school next year. At least many of his friends also will be moving to the brand new school with him (Alston Ridge Elem), so he'll continue to have some old friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I like the diversity of the student population, the location, and the commitment of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Cedar Fork was the first school my son attened and since has been in 3 other schools. The 2nd school was because Wake County changed his school and the other 2 were because of moving. Out of all of these schools, Cedar Fork IS the best. The teachers are wonderful, the interaction with the parents from the whole staff at Cedar Fork is unbelievable. Not to mention how much your child feels at home and welcomed. My son felt safe in Cedar Fork and if it wasn't for his teacher and the wonderful program that the school has to help your children learn better, my son wouldn't be where he is today. THIS SCHOOL BY ALL MEANS IS A 5 STAR SCHOOL!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

This is most definitely a 5 star school in my opinion. I have 2 children at the school and we love it. The staff and teachers are warm and caring and the principal is absolutely wonderful. She is very approachable. The new assistant principal is terrific as well. You can tell that they both truly care about your children. And they take the time to know all the students...not just the discipline problems. The best thing about the school is the diversity. There is also a lot of opportunity for parent involvement and this can make a huge difference in your child's education. I can't say enough good things about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

I'm sorry but this is not a 10 school!!! Please really look into it. Those who are happy are pretty much lucky. This school has great personal teachers but not enough experience, and they take to long to help kids with learning difficulties. If Wake County demands academic achievements at certain levels, teachers, assit, schools staff should address the fact that not all kids are cut with the same cookie shape. Routine and same procedure will not work and as teachers and principals dealing with kids should know this. How can you spec kids performing all great without enough PE, as they mentioned before. Also artistically the school lacks on performance, every holiday show is so boring and mediocre. Even do you have kids who are full of live and energy. But I'm not surprise, PE and energy is dead at Cedar Fork Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Everyone has an opinion, but I must disagree with the post about the Principal. She is wonderful - manages the school to a T, is very caring, approachable & open with parental communication. Having had a kid at another school that was supposed to be in a great area, I know the difference when you don't have a good principal (Brier Creek). Here you couldn't ask for better. The teachers are wonderful & caring. We love this school, it is cultural diverse & we desperately hope we don't get zoned out for the next year. We may move just to stay in the Cedar Fork district. As with any school you get out what you put in. Parents you must be involved. We enjoy being in the PTA and volunteering - it is a great school community & the students by and large are happy & do well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2008

It is true what the previous poster has written about the class sizes, they have been larger each year, as Morrisville has continued to pass out building permits. Kudos to Wake county Board of Education for capping Cedar Fork for the next two years! The grading system is Wake County's new way and it was an adjustment for all parents. I wish there was a better way to help parents understand the difference between a 3 and a 4. If your child earns a 3 they are doing well :o) Overall, Cedar Fork is a great school, with caring staff and administration, great PTA and wonderful parents and children. We are all here with one common goal: to see our children get the best education possible. As a parent, I couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

This is our first year in North Carolina and our daugther's first year in private school. There some pros and cons about Cedar Fork. The classrooms are overcrowded but to the town of Morrisville's fault. They are approved all the construction of these new communities so it was not a well thought out plan as far a big enough school. I do not like that the teachers do not correct the homework. They are concerened that students might be getting help at home. As a teacher myself you get to know your students after awhile can tell when someone's is getting help. Second the grading system, my daugther recieved a 100% on every spelling test but did not recieve a 4 because she did not go above and beyond (wake county policy).Huh? As someone mentioned before the do need more PE and more ways to challenge the gifted students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

Although the staff is very nice, class size is just too large; principal lacks management skills and passion towards education. All she cares is grade. I don't feel 'my school' spirits at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

People will always find something to complain about (another poster mentioned the lunch choices), but really; you can't find a more involved and diligent staff than at Cedar Fork. Wonderful school, wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2008

Not enough PE( Physical Education) even the playground is sad and booring. All they care is academic improvement. Maybe is a county regulation and not the school fault, but I have to mentioned. Lunch choices are yucky!. Is not good for boys at all, they need more PE, so in the future they are healthy and it's beeing proof that lots of physical activity brings great academic performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students87%
Female84%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students92%
Limited English proficiency73%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students79%
Female78%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students81%
Limited English proficiency55%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Academically gifted95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female88%
Male82%
Black72%
Asian-95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities33%
Non-disabled students90%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Black67%
Asian79%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students79%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Academically gifted93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female90%
Male80%
Black64%
Asian-95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities31%
Non-disabled students92%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students66%
Female70%
Male63%
Black55%
Asian80%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students74%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Academically gifted93%

Science

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black73%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students89%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 49% 3%
White 31% 52%
Black 10% 26%
Hispanic 5% 14%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1050 Town Hall Drive
Morrisville, NC 27560
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 388-5240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Morrisville Elementary
Morrisville, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT