Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


West Craven Middle 1

Posted March 11, 2013
- a parent
Skinny jeans are NOT permitted; however, you MAY wear your "bellbottoms" so tight around the hips & buttocks that one can see the outline of the pockets linings. You may NOT wear skirts - mini or otherwise - with leggings under them; however, you may wear skirts with NOTHING under them other than your undergarments. What imbicile is making up this dress code?! When we questioned the no leggings under skirts rule we were told that it was in place to prohibit "young ladies" from wearing micro minis to school because they had leggings under them. Well, I'm sorry, but are not the teachers able to send children dressed inappropriately to the office, or in the case of West Craven Middle School, to the In School Suspension Office, to phone their parents for something more appropriate? I mean, they had absolutely NO issue with picking up the phone to call and inform us that our child had been caught, for a second time, chewing gum in class. How hard could it be to do the same in regard to inappropriate attire? The school seems a tad to obsessed with insignificant daily occurences & not concerned enough with the educational standards of their faculty! Is it more important (cont.)

West Craven Middle 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a community member
This is a great School and my child loves it because of how many sports that my child plays and loves.


West Craven Middle 0
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
I've not encountered the problems I anticipated considering this is a middle school and reputation it had five years ago. Overall, I've been pleased with the school. However, the current principal is not parent nor student 'friendly'. It's all but impossible to speak with her. She seems to want to be an administrator from behind a wall and leave all the contact to others.

West Craven Middle 1

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

West Craven Middle 5

Posted June 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


West Craven Middle 3

Posted May 19, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

West Craven Middle 1

Posted April 17, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

West Craven Middle 3

Posted April 16, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


West Craven Middle 5

Posted December 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

West Craven Middle 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

515 Northwest Craven Middle School Road
New Bern, NC 28562

School website
(252) 514-6488
(252) 514-6491

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Craven Middle
515 Northwest Craven Middle School Road, New Bern, NC  28562
(252) 514-6488
Last modified West Craven Middle is a public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Craven Middle Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.