Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Newton, NC
Students enrolled: 173
Before care: No
After care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Discovery High School at Newton Conover 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
Discovery School has been very instrumental in my daughter's development as a student. She has been challenged to think creatively and often asked to apply her knowledge to current events projects. All students are encouraged to develop leadership skills by leading and/or speaking at various events. There is a high expectation of excellence in character, responsibility and concern for others and the world around us. The teachers know each student by name and are genuinely concerned for each student's well-being. I have been very pleased with Discovery School and would highly recommend it to others.

Discovery High School at Newton Conover 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
Every child is unique and so is Discovery High School. Discovery's philosophy of learning and socializing met my child's needs along with the smaller class sizes. The faculty and administration are outstanding and have a very welcoming open door policy to the parents and community. Our son is very fortunate to have this educational opportunity!


Discovery High School at Newton Conover 5

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school. Everyone is on equal ground. The teachers a very encouraging to the students. The students are taught to be productive young adults by doing community service. Our son enjoys the smaller class size and the teachers are easily accessible if extra help us needed. Can't say enough good things about the staff here.

Discovery High School at Newton Conover 5

Posted January 16, 2015
- a parent
My son is a sophomore and absolutely loves it. I was scared at the thought of honors classes but the teachers are outstanding. Thay are tought HOW to think and not WHAT to think. Lot's of community service opportunities, and everyone gets along great. My son tells every one how great his school is all the time. We are truly blessed to be a part of this great school.

Discovery High School at Newton Conover 5

Posted January 13, 2015
- a parent
My son loves his school and his teachers! Love that they use technology in the classroom rather than trying to ban it! He will become an amazing adult through his experiences at Discovery High School.


Discovery High School at Newton Conover 5

Posted January 13, 2015
- a parent
Discovery High school is a great place for students who want to learn outside "the box". Small classrooms allow teachers to have more of a one on one relansonship with the kids, they get to really know them and help them grow as individuals. Mr. Robinson is always open to new ideas, especially when they come from the students. He is a wonderful principall, he and his staff are easily approachable.

Discovery High School at Newton Conover 5

Posted February 22, 2012
- a parent
This is a group of teachers who are not afraid to try something new, to experiment, in an effort to find the best experience for the students. There is less emphasis on the social aspects and more on the "norms" and what is/should be expected of a young adult. If you are headed to college, this may be your best public school option around.

Discovery High School at Newton Conover
no rating

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
This is the best school in the area. My daughter has been enrolled since nine grade and I love the fact that there are less students per teacher and less drama than in other high schools around. Teachers encourage their students to think and discuss different topics in a very effective way including several presentations throughout the year. I commend every single teacher and especially Mr. Willard, who has been a great leader of this wonderful school.


Discovery High School at Newton Conover 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
It's amazing! The entire school philosophy embraces a variety of teaching methods to address a variety of learning styles. No 90-minute lectures here - learning is often discussion based & students are encouraged to think for themselves rather than simply regurgitate information. Tai Chi is offered for P.E. and students are allowed to chew gum and bring water (both of which, by the way,facilitate improved focus and attention in class). This school takes everything that is so wrong with a typical public high school and does it so right!

Discovery High School at Newton Conover 5

Posted February 13, 2009
- a student
I love this school because I graduated from here. It's the best school in the Newton and Conover area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Discovery High School at Newton Conover
301 West 18th Street, Newton, NC  28658
(828) 466-5581
Last modified Discovery High School at Newton Conover is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Discovery High School at Newton Conover Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top