Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Benhaven Elementary
Grateful to: Student

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
My grandchild Bryce Browning for being the bigger person and having more determination than most adults I know

Benhaven Elementary 2

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I have a grandchild in the fourth grade at this school and I have been to talk to the teacher about my grandchildren concerns in the class one of which was being bullied by 3 boys as the whole year has progressed we talk to the teacher about problems that need to be resolved and the teacher has acted to our face like she genuinely cares to later on find out that she's the problem she yells at my grandchild singles him out in front of the class and he had to earn a gel pen in class that he did get he went to the bathroom for 2 minutes he said and came back and it was gone he told her someone took it and she ignored him so the next day he went to her and told her again and she tells him that he will just have to earn another one.this is supposed to be a fun along with learning time for a 9 year old but the only thing that he comes to me and says and I quote that's ok Mimi I don't have much longer to go and I'll be out of her class.this breaks my heart because this person I wouldn't say teacher has made 4th grade such a nightmare for a small child and I can say shame on you Lisa barefoot


Benhaven Elementary 5

Posted October 29, 2015
- a community member
We switched to this school after having a bad experience in another school in the county. Mrs Street, the principal, is amazing and is prompt to address all concerns. All of the teachers, no matter what grade, knew my son by name and greeted him in car line with a smile. It felt like a family there and all of the teachers seem to really love their job. I am so glad we gave them a shot.

Benhaven Elementary 5

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
My boys love it here. The teachers here really look out for the best interest of the students! I have met the counselor and the vice principal and they were both very helpful in making sure my children were a priority.

Benhaven Elementary 5

Posted August 23, 2009
- a parent
Benhaven is a excellent school. Everyone there is nice and helpful. They strive to do the very best for my child and all the children there. It's a community school. You get to know people real quick.


Benhaven Elementary 5

Posted December 03, 2008
- a teacher
Benhaven is a wonderful place to work! I'm in my first year, and all of the teachers are so friendly. The children are wonderful too. Go Bulldogs!

Benhaven Elementary 5

Posted December 02, 2008
- a parent
Benhaven deserves a 5 star rating, and nothing less. I m in my thirties and even though my son is the one that attends I think of Benhaven as my second home. I have so much fun there myself I forget the time and my day goes by. Everyone I ve met there is so friendly and enthusiastic about learning and teaching and the support is incredible. All the way down to the janitor. The teacher my son has is so awesome, she has inspired me to return to school and become a teacher myself. Now imagine how she inspires our children .

Benhaven Elementary
no rating

Posted November 26, 2008
- a teacher
This is the best place to work!! Coworkers are great and the kids are so good and well behaved. The principal is very supportive and makes you know that you are appreciated.


Benhaven Elementary 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
We love Benhaven, as well! The fact that the teachers get to know both their students and parents I find very impressive. The teachers communicate with one another, as the children progress from one grade to the next, to make sure the needs are met. I just love this the hometown feel you get from the school and it's staff. We have also moved arounf quite a bit and this school pleases me more than any other we've been associated with.

Benhaven Elementary 4

Posted March 13, 2006
- a parent
My daughter loves this school and is pleased to be at Benhaven in 5th grade. I as a parent appreciate the schools activities that they tailor to the students more than her other school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Benhaven Elementary
2815 Olivia Rd, Olivia, NC  28368
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (919) 499-4811
Last modified Benhaven Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top