Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Athens Drive High

Public | 9-12 | 1920 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

ADHS is a hidden gem of a school in WCPSS. Incredible programs such as STEM, Band, Orchestra, Theater, Special Ed and incredibly supportive booster clubs make Athens a great community school. Teachers communicate and offer many opportunities for help outside the classroom. Perfect choice for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2013

Wonderful school!!! Both my daughters were well prepared for college and had a realistic view of the world they were entering. Athens Drive was diverse, multicultural, and engaging. The teachers and administration addressed any concerns I had quickly and efficiently. They did not always coddle to me and my kids (just like the real world), but the staff always explained their decisions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

Athens Drive HIgh School- We moved to Raleigh in August 2012. We have been very pleased with Athens for our son. Teachers and counselors go above and beyond. An altercation last fall ( which was witnessed by my son and was exaggerated by media) was handled wonderfully and was a .one time occurrence. We are happy to be part of the Athens Drive community. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

This school is very unsafe and has a history of fights. Today there were a total of 10 fights in a 15 minute period at lunch. It even made the news. You can find it on Wral.com search "Athens Drive High School." So glad I transferred my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

Very professional and responsive school administrators. Good course selections and attention to students who are average rather than simply focusing on the AP course crowd. Have been very pleased with the experience we've had in two years here. Parent involvement is strong and there is a full range of award-winning activities from sports to music. Proud to call this my neighborhood school after many happy years in magnets and schools of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

My son has had a great year at Athens. We were concerned coming in from a private school that the adjustment would be difficult. Thanks to the caring staff and great teachers the change proved to be a good one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

Athens is a great school. Teachers are very tough, but they ultimatly do help the kids excel. Their are very few discipline problems now that redistricting has occurred and my child feels very safe. Even acdemic classes are difficult and challanging. I would send any kid that would like to learn here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

Excellent and professional staff. I never have a concern about safety for the students. The curriculum is excellent for college prep. Many extracurricular activities which interest most students. Great learning and yes social environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

The staff is very experienced and can handle a wide variety of students. Parents and students are involved and care about each other. Academics and extra-cirricular activities abound to challenge students. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

Athens Drive has just been listed on the 2010 'America's Best High Schools'. The staff is excellent and work together to provide a good learning environment. It has a diverse population which prepares students for the real world - I have had 3 children attend & have been pleased with their educational opportunities. Excellent music and sports programs, award winning band and strong parent support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My daughter's whole outlook on school has changed since I transferred her to Athens. She was ready to drop out from her previous high school. Her grades went from straight F's at the other school to A's, B's and C's at Athens. All the teachers truely care about their students and are dedicated to helping them do their best. I can definitely see why they are one of the highest ranked high schools in the state, they definitely deserve it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

I sub at a lot of schools, and I like taking jobs for this school! It's clean, the staff are friendly, and the students I've encountered (even at the regular level) have been friendly and generally cooperative. I've never had anyone be defiant with me. It seems to have a lot going on extracurricular-wise, and I think the administration really cares.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 17, 2008

Athens has amazing teachers and a fairly clean campus. The only major problem is the way the teachers and staff discipline the students and keep the campus safe. Fights occur often and most students have no respect for the teachers. If good students went to the school then the school would be a really nice one. With students disrupting class and not really caring about getting good grades, the classes become oblivious, and the teachers lose interest in teaching. As long as you are in honors and AP classes, you have a great chance of learning and excelling. The athletic department is amazing and so is the school spirit. Overall, some changes need to be made with safety and disipline but otherwise it is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2008

Athens Drive is a great school. Although we do have some discipline problems, we are one of the top schools in the Wake County Public School System. Once you get into AP classes there are no problems in the classroom. It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2008

Lost misserably in the Science projects when competing against other regional shool. The teacher(s) seems to be disconnected, and students were left alone in the process. Do not recommend, will not send my next child to it. Stagnant staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

Athens Drive High is a fine school with great teachers (many have been there for years) and great school spirit. It is diverse in many positive ways. There have been no real discipline issues that I am aware. There are many active clubs and organizations. There is also a public library on campus which is a plus for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

It is just a wonderful school. Thats all I can say
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 17, 2007

Athens Drive is among the top 4 high schools in Wake county, now with wonderful and experienced leadership as of January, 2006...just look at the scores. Changing zoning and demographics present challenges to be sure, but we are impressed w/ the dedication and professionalism of faculty and staff! Our 9th grader now looks forward to school and finally, he 'gets it'...what a turn-around! This school is the leader in the county for exceptional students as well. Would highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

Leadership is good and getting better. Unfortunately, many students are rude in most situations with most adults. PTSA works very hard and is supportive. The 'good kids' outshine the 'bad'. Teachers seem genuinely concerned about their students and arrange bend over backwards to help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

Athens is a completely disorganized massive and messy institution! I would never send my children there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

7 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

7 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

7 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

443 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Femalen/a
Male60%
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities43%
Proficient in English50%

Reading

All Students71%
Femalen/a
Male80%
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities71%
Proficient in English67%

Science

All Students86%
Femalen/a
Male>95%
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities86%
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
79%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

140 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

447 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

465 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

506 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

495 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

176 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

414 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students10%
Female10%
Male9%
Black6%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White19%
Economically disadvantaged-5%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students13%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant10%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students54%
Female52%
Male57%
Black21%
Asian69%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial41%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities19%
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiency16%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted-95%

English II

All Students61%
Female62%
Male59%
Black33%
Asian69%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial59%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students70%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 52%
Black 24% 26%
Hispanic 14% 14%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:25 am
School end time
  • 2:18 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. James Hedrick
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (919) 233-4054

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1420 Athens Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 233-4050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Cary High
Cary, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT