Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brooks Elementary 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
There are a lot of school options in Wake County. I have fallen in love with Brooks and so has my child. This school has great staff and a lot of volunteers. If I had a complaint, it would be that it is not year round, and that is more a preference than complaint.

Brooks Elementary 5

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
My son is now finishing 2nd grade at Brooks, been there since Kindergarten - I absolutely love this place! Parents are very involved, and a recent tragedy of two students dying in a horrible tornado outbreak bonded the school community together event tighter. A wonderful school, I can whole-heartedly recommend!


Brooks Elementary 0
no rating

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
My children went to kindergarten at Brooks as part of the magnet program. Their teachers were absolutely fantastic. They cared about the kids and challenged them appropriately. The principal, however, was completely unwilling to address or even discuss, some significant concerns I had. Her refusal to listen to my concerns, coupled with the refusal of the guidance counselor to even respond to an e-mail, led to us removing our children from the magnet program. They are very happy at their base school this year.

Brooks Elementary 5

Posted October 13, 2007
- a parent
I am the grandmother of 2 gransons that go to the school. I like the safety rule. How they dont come out till they know there rides there from car pool. Very good

Brooks Elementary 5

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
Incredible school for all children and their learning styles. Brooks Museums Magnet have a welcoming staff and PTA, wonderful community involvement and hands down is the best elementary school in Wake County!


Brooks Elementary 5

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
Our daughter is a rising 2nd grader at Brooks and we have been very happy with her teachers, the administrative staff and her progress both academically and socially. We only have one child so I can't compare Brooks to other schools but I do know that I came into public school somewhat reluctantly; however, based on our experience at Brooks we are extremely pleased!!! We also have an incredibly dedicated PTA community that genuinely cares about each and every child at our school!

Brooks Elementary 3

Posted October 30, 2005
- a parent
I feel that the staff at this school is uncaring and unfeeling. I pulled my child from this school because the teacher refused to take time with her. The administrative was not attentive to my childs needs. I feel that if you have to send your child to this school you need to assure that you are on top of their teacher at all times. They have exceeded in achieving the standards more in a militant way than a loving one.

Brooks Elementary 5

Posted May 20, 2005
- a parent
Excellent school with excellent administrators! The transformation since Felicia Locklear arrived has been nothing short of amazing. The children are actively engaged in learning and are developing a passion to be life-long learners! I have also watched the growth of parent involvement over the last 4 years as well. This year's PTA was amazing and next year's group of leaders should be even better! Sorry to say we are moving on to middle school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brooks Elementary
700 Northbrook Drive, Raleigh, NC  27609
(919) 881-1350
Last modified Brooks Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brooks Elementary Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews.