Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brooks Elementary 4

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
If you have an exceptionally bright child, this school is sadly not for them. If your child struggles with learning or falls slightly above, at or below average, they will do well. As with any public school, the challenges of cut funding, common core implementation and a need to do more with less is obvious. There is a ton of support from the families and this offsets some of the struggles. Brooks has a great community with passionate teachers. However, I have not witnessed a genuine example of teaching to each students' own ability - a lot is done to make sure all who struggle get up to speed, which is fantastic; it just leaves a smaller group to float through without adequate challenges. New teachers, common core implementation, testing, testing, testing are not Brooks fault, but their motto that, "students are the architects of their own learning" is not something I've witnessed in the 6 years I've had children there. Again, the community is great, there are more excellent teachers than not, the grass may not be greener on the other side, but for those students needing more - because they are above average - the school (and the AIG program) lacks.

Brooks Elementary
Develops respect: Agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Morning meeting and the coached discussion around those meetings greatly support a respectful approach for all.


Brooks Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
In this respect, all students are equal and it's something that's easily witnessed across the board.

Brooks Elementary 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
There are a lot of school options in Wake County. I have fallen in love with Brooks and so has my child. This school has great staff and a lot of volunteers. If I had a complaint, it would be that it is not year round, and that is more a preference than complaint.

Brooks Elementary 5

Posted June 03, 2011
- a parent
My son is now finishing 2nd grade at Brooks, been there since Kindergarten - I absolutely love this place! Parents are very involved, and a recent tragedy of two students dying in a horrible tornado outbreak bonded the school community together event tighter. A wonderful school, I can whole-heartedly recommend!


Brooks Elementary
no rating

Posted March 24, 2008
- a parent
My children went to kindergarten at Brooks as part of the magnet program. Their teachers were absolutely fantastic. They cared about the kids and challenged them appropriately. The principal, however, was completely unwilling to address or even discuss, some significant concerns I had. Her refusal to listen to my concerns, coupled with the refusal of the guidance counselor to even respond to an e-mail, led to us removing our children from the magnet program. They are very happy at their base school this year.

Brooks Elementary 5

Posted October 13, 2007
- a parent
I am the grandmother of 2 gransons that go to the school. I like the safety rule. How they dont come out till they know there rides there from car pool. Very good

Brooks Elementary 5

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
Incredible school for all children and their learning styles. Brooks Museums Magnet have a welcoming staff and PTA, wonderful community involvement and hands down is the best elementary school in Wake County!


Brooks Elementary 5

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
Our daughter is a rising 2nd grader at Brooks and we have been very happy with her teachers, the administrative staff and her progress both academically and socially. We only have one child so I can't compare Brooks to other schools but I do know that I came into public school somewhat reluctantly; however, based on our experience at Brooks we are extremely pleased!!! We also have an incredibly dedicated PTA community that genuinely cares about each and every child at our school!

Brooks Elementary 3

Posted October 30, 2005
- a parent
I feel that the staff at this school is uncaring and unfeeling. I pulled my child from this school because the teacher refused to take time with her. The administrative was not attentive to my childs needs. I feel that if you have to send your child to this school you need to assure that you are on top of their teacher at all times. They have exceeded in achieving the standards more in a militant way than a loving one.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brooks Elementary
700 Northbrook Dr, Raleigh, NC  27609
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (919) 881-1350
Last modified Brooks Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top