Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Needham Broughton High 1

Posted April 28, 2016
- a community member
I am a former student. I just left Broughton a month ago. My experience was terrible. The teachers and administrators treat students with such disrespect and abuse, and seem to think that shouting is better than normal communication. There is a lot of issues with bullying. I had trash thrown in my hair, and was called too many curse words to name. The school is also incredibly dirty, especially the bathrooms. I am thankful that I left this place. Don't think about sending your child here

Needham Broughton High
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Although there are teachers and coaches I would like to thank, there is a very special lady in student services who welcomed our family so warmly and who had so much helpful information, she is just amazing!


Needham Broughton High
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Not all the teachers are the same. There are wonderful teachers with amazing strategies and others who barely keep up with their workload.

Needham Broughton High
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
It surely depends on the choice of classes. My junior has had very challenging classes all the years and is working herself to death although she is a very bright kid. There is so much stupid busy work. But this is not the schools fault. This is part of the curriculum, part of the system of "learning by repetition".

Needham Broughton High
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Without persistence and determination such challenging programs like the International Baccalaureate program could not be mastered by students.


Needham Broughton High
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Respect cannot be developed by school alone and not at the age of high school. Kids must have learned respect already in Middle school and at home.

Needham Broughton High
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Students must fulfill community service. Working in groups is required in a lot of classes. Bullying is outlawed.

Needham Broughton High
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
At Broughton students must fulfill community service hours each school year. Academic honesty is strongly required. There are non-cheating contracts between teachers and students.


Needham Broughton High 5

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
Teachers and staff care about students and are available to support. Lots of challenging classes for academically strong kids. Variety of clubs and sports.

Needham Broughton High 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is a junior and she has gotten all the classes she wants - arts, multiple APs, honors, whatever level she needs. She has a parking spot. She has not witnessed any bullying or harrassment. We get a good feeling at Broughton. The principal is great and I hope he stays 7 more years until our youngest graduates - he attends even small evening events to support his students and directs traffic as the buses leave the loop. He's well respected and has a good relationship but sets expectations for behavior. The teachers seem to care and are qualified. Socially, one could get a little lost in a large school like this. The kids need to join something to feel they fit in. But from the parent perspective, this is a great college prep school with a historic atmosphere without being too much pressure.

Nearby schools

Needham Broughton High
723 Saint Mary's St, Raleigh, NC  27605
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (919) 856-7810
Last modified Needham Broughton High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top