Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Douglas Elementary 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Our kindergarten bound daughter started here a week ago and the experience has been terrific. She comes home tired but very happy and they are challenging her mind already. The questions she asks are far more creative and deep than they were just a few months ago. She has made new friends and looks forward to going every morning.

Douglas Elementary 1

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
The staff is rude, unwelcoming, inpatient, and not helpful at all. I have not had a good experience with my son in this school so far and he was in Kintergarden. This year he will be in first grade and I want to switch him to another school, but I work so I need the bus to drop him off to the babysitters which is very close to Douglas. If it wasn't for this reason I would have switched him already. Teachers there are so rude and have no patience with the kids. Ifyour going to be a teacher and work with other peoples children you have to have patience and to love being around kids. I am so ready to get him out of this school.


Douglas Elementary 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
My son is special needs and just completed his second year at Douglas. Last year he was in the afternoon Pre-K with Ms Beth, and this year in the CCK class with Mr Cerveny. What a great experience my son has had, and he actually learned a lot this year! He adored his teachers and really tried hard to learn and please them. His teachers were also great with communication and relating issues with me with a positive outlook. My son's year wasn't easy, but with patience and understanding, he came through and made progress, and never felt pressured or ashamed. I also felt when it came to my son's path with his IEP, I was very fortunate to have two teachers that listened and understood where I was coming from and also respected decisions I made for my son. On a lot of issues, we were on the same page, and I always felt supported - by the teacher, the asst. teacher, the principle and any staff I encountered. On more than one occasion I was able to attend field trips and my son's class would team up with mainstream classes. On these trips I observed the other students (who were used to my son coming into their classroom for specials) cheering on and supporting my son!! Amazing!

Douglas Elementary 5

Posted October 30, 2012
- a community member
I went to Douglas K-5 and i absolutely loved it. The teachers there seemed to honestly care about how i did in school and my happiness at home. They were very supportive. The magnet program added a lot to the school. The electives like art, dance, and music really made it fun to go to school. We had and extra science class that was very hands on and added a lot to the whole experience. There were a lot of extra curricular activities like Oddessy of the Mind, Lego Club, a dance and art club and a club about service projects. It's a super safe environment. There were never any fights or problems and I never saw much bullying. I loved this school- it really makes you think!

Douglas Elementary 5

Posted October 01, 2012
- a parent
I've had nothing but good experiences with the staff at this school. The only problems we've had in the past four years is with one incident of bullying which was investigated & dealt with quickly. All of my child's teachers have been wonderful.They've communicated with parents about what the children are currently studying, they make themselves available if parents have questions or concerns. I have nothing but respect for them. They've been great. The principal of the school is very visible, friendly and approachable. Perhaps my favorite thing is the fact that they have what I will call fluid math and reading groups within a gradelevel. As a child improves they can get moved up to a higher group or if they need to work at a slower pace they can be moved down to a group that is working slower. There is no rigid structure where the teacher is limited for the whole year teaching to the student that is having the most problems while the ones are the top spend that class bored out of their minds.


Douglas Elementary 1

Posted March 12, 2012
- a community member
Was thrilled to get my child out of this school. Lack of communication, support, patience, and teaching strategies caused frustration. Elementary schools should be fun, loving, safe, and friendly. That was not our experience here.

Douglas Elementary 3

Posted February 17, 2012
- a parent
The school offers great advanced classes and student structure, but I have three complaints. 1) There is no computer lab (actually just no teacher) class for students to use on a daily/weekly basis. 2) There is lack of communication regarding the cirriculumn (besides the homework sent home). 3) I feel that the office adminstration is rather unwelcoming and unfriendly (whether I'm there to volunteer, check out my child or join my child for lunch). I have considered transferring my child back to Joyner Elementary, which I highly recommend to any parent!

Douglas Elementary 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
This a a great school. I am satisfied that I transferred him into this school. The teachers are caring and actually show you that they wanna help your child do better in learning and following the many rules they have. I respect their rules for the children of all ages because it forms discipline and helps to control them even when leaving school. I have no regrets in comparision to Wilburn which is a horrible school. A new building won't change the interior of the place.


Douglas Elementary 5

Posted July 05, 2011
- a parent
Douglas has been such a blessing. My son is ADD and quite smart. However, he was really struggling in our neighborhood school and the staff just wanted "more meds". All the staff have helped my boy to be above grade level in all areas, now. They seem to understand how he learns and the teaching philosophy makes school interesting for him. We love the teachers, support staff and the administration.

Douglas Elementary 1

Posted July 02, 2011
- a parent
I was very disappointed in this school and dont recommend it for anyone.My child was advanced at his other school and challenged and when we came to Douglas it was a total disappointment! They are poor in academics and we are very excited to be leaving!

Nearby schools

Douglas Elementary
600 Ortega Rd, Raleigh, NC  27609
(919) 881-4894
Last modified Douglas Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top