Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Green Elementary

Public | K-5 | 478 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2014

My son has been at this school for 4years and it has been an extremely wonderful experience. The staff are ALL loving and caring for them as children as well as super encouraging & promotional of them as individuals. My son is challenged in his learning individually without feeling frustrated or overwhelmed. Lastly, I am so excited about the ease & constant communication that comes home from school keeping parents informed of events & opportunities. They run a pretty consistent & strict yet loving and fair environment. I am also very proud & impressed that the principal & assistant principal are present & involved with activities/programs. I love sharing Dante (my son) with the the Green team and can't wait for my daughter BellaRose to experience the same. Mel Wilson
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

My son is in K and I find this school to be exceptional in thier teaching and caring. My son has come home and told me what he has learned and the leadership teachings are being instilled in him at such a young age. The teachers are courteous to students but firm. If there is a problem they seem to take care of it. I feel very safe about sending my child to this school. He is learning Mandrian Chinese and being in K that is alot to retain, but he is doing great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

This is my children first year at Green and we were greeted with arms. The teachers and personnel were friendly and happy to see us. During open house the PTA took time out to invite all parents to get involved with the cause of parent/teacher involvement. I appreciate the teacher s initiative to communicate with parents to be aware of what s going on in the classroom. The leader s at Green show their dedication to enhance the learning experience of every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I like that it is a relatively small (~500 students) school. I think the administration listens to parents and the teachers seem to really care about the kids. The office staff is always friendly and helpful. I like that teachers that I don't even know greet my child by name. The facilities are old and worn. It will be nice when the economy improves and some structural improvements can be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This is a diverse school with a can do attitude that is great!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

My son went to Green Elementary on suggestion from his tutor (he has an IEP for reading and writing) for his fifth grade year. Green has an exceptional special education department with caring and knowledgeable teachers who go above and beyond the call of duty. This was his first experience in public school ever and it was a pleasant one for him. I liked the smaller class size (there were 21 kids in his class) and the year around schedule. He was on Track two and his teacher always had interesting elements to add to her subject material. The principal and vice principal were always accessible. The front office was always very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My son is in 1st grade and has had a wonderful time so far. I was nervous b/c people had said the community at Green had gotten lazy, but that has not been my experience. Both his teachers were great and he has learned so much. The principal knew his name after only a few weeks and he was out to greet everyone often. I am pleased I chose to stay here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I am new to area and love this school. Teachers call my child by name and she is not in their class or grade. It's warm, friendly, and has a standard of academic excellence. My child really enjoys Green Year Round. She is in 5th grade...will be sad to leave such a wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

Green is an A++ school. My children have been in the year round school system at Green since 1996. They are now in 5th and 8th grades. The parent involvement is incredible at this school. We have had 100% participation in the PTA each year. The PTA provides family involement activities several times a year with activities such as family game night, our annual staff talent show, and a fall festival. The staff is top notch and teach the Wake County curriculum with the most up to date methods. This school has a wonderful music and art program. The PTA also provides a Cultural Arts program to educate the children, incorporating dance and music from other cultural backgrounds. I would highly recommend Green Year-Round and only wish there were a high school so that my kids could continue on the same schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

I have 2 children at Green, a third grader and a kindergartener. We are winding up our first year at Green and couldn't be happier. I feel like we won the lotto getting into this school because if we weren't able to get our of our base school my kids would either be in private school or be home schooled. We really like the year round calendar. We've been able to take vacations on off seasons and miss the crowds and high $$ of prime times of the year. The downside is that the other kids in the neighborhood are in traditional schools. Mrs. Chaffee's Kindergarten class on track 2 is AWESOME! My other child has a teacher just out of school this year and we are pretty happy with her too. The parental involvement in this school is outstanding, much better than my past experience. Great school overall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2003

I have a kindergartner at Green and I love this school. It is a year round school so you have to adjust the the calender but it makes family vacations a lot easier. There is a lot of parent involvment, the PTA is not overbearing like some schools and the effort put forward by the school to keep parents involved is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female47%
Male56%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiency53%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted92%

Reading

All Students39%
Female42%
Male34%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students41%
Female42%
Male40%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students45%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students30%
Female23%
Male35%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students36%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female67%
Male58%
Black60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities39%
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students42%
Female44%
Male39%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically gifted87%

Science

All Students44%
Female39%
Male49%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically gifted93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 32% 26%
White 32% 52%
Hispanic 26% 14%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Lisa Brown
Fax number
  • (919) 881-1398

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5307 Six Forks Road
Raleigh, NC 27609
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 881-1390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Brooks Elementary
Raleigh, NC


Douglas Elementary
Raleigh, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT