Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lynn Road Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
Lynn Road has some of the best teachers in Wake County. Their dedication is amazing.

Lynn Road Elementary 5

Posted February 19, 2016
- a parent
This is our 9th and final year at Lynn Road. If I could travel back in time and pick any school in the county for my kindergartener, I would absolutely pick Lynn Road all over again. My children have thrived and grown in ways I could not have imagined. All of our teachers have gone out of their way to personally connect with our family. My children have been challenged and taught well. Lynn Road is not just a school, it is a community. We will be sad to leave but happy to close our elementary school chapter with such amazing memories and relationships. A huge thank you to Kim Grant and the entire staff at Lynn Road. You have made elementary school an incredibly special time in our lives.


Lynn Road Elementary 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children have attended Lynn Road Elementary. One of my children is still there and will graduate from 5th Grade in June. What I love about Lynn Road Elementary School is the Education they provide to the children, and the way the Principal Mrs. Grant always leads by example. It is never uncommon to find her serving in carpool, at one of the family fun nights, etc. As with all schools children will get into some situations, but the way the teachers are able to diffuse drama, bullying etc. is commendable. The teachers are educators first and will push children in a positive way. There are teachers who remind me of the old school ones I had when I was in elementary school. Thee are the ones who will not fall for the okey doke when it comes to homework being done and classwork also. Teachers in this school are always serving whether it's in the classroom or in the carpool line. It's also a school that is supportive of family, and that's very important. In my opinion home is the first school, a child will ever learn from. With Lynn Road being such a family oriented school, that community support is highly necessary. When my son was there he had a teacher who seemed to be hard on him, but she was that way because she seen his potential. She pushed him in that way for him to remain focused and I appreciate that. Please know your child will have a good education if they attended Lynn Road Elementary School.

Lynn Road Elementary
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
Kim Grant (principal) - Thank you for your continued support of my child and all students in your school.

Lynn Road Elementary 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
This is our second year at Lynn Road and we couldn't be happier. My daughter adores her teacher and has made some great friends. I can really feel the sense of community throughout the school. The administration has been extremely helpful when we had an issue with my daughter's behavior. She has a one-on-one staff member as a "Lion Pal" who checks in on her daily and I have really appreciated the extra support. I have definitely seen an improvement now. We are trying after-school clubs this year and I am excited to give my daughter an outlet for her "dramatic side". I have also heard that their data has shown great improvement recently and were 1 of 3 schools who exceeded growth in the district last year. This has raised their grade from a D to a C! I credit this to what they call "Team Time" where all students in a grade level are grouped according to their ability on a single standard. Each teacher takes a group and instructs them on their specific level, including enrichment and remediation. In addition, the teachers are very dedicated and no child gets left behind. I highly recommend you take a look at Lynn Road where everybody knows your name!


Lynn Road Elementary 5

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
This is our 3rd year at Lynn Road and my son could not be happier! He enjoys going to school everyday and he loves his teachers so much that he actually hates when there is a sub!! I mean, really, what kid doesn't want a sub from time to time... Lynn Road kids!! I truly believe we have the best teachers in the county! All of the teachers I have dealt with have been very attentive to my child. Both he and our family have felt the support. Since new administration entered our school two years ago there has been a great improvement. I'm so happy that Lynn Road is our base school, I would not want my kids going anywhere else!

Lynn Road Elementary 5

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Lynn Road has really made a turn for the better in the past few years! We've been going there for four years, and there is a huge difference. New administrators entered in the Fall of 2013, and since then, the school has made great strides in creating a safe environment for students. I know "bullying" was a concern in the past, but my children come home happy and the teachers and administrators have been very responsive to questions and concerns. The school has also started "clubs", which are like electives and the PTA has put in place other after-school activities that my kids adore. The teachers my kids have had were responsive and kept me informed of how my children were doing, and I felt welcomed in the school. Lynn Road is a hidden gem--don't miss out!

Lynn Road Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
There are many newer teachers in the school. I had nieces and nephews who went to Lynn Road a few years ago, and many of the "bad apples" have moved on.


Lynn Road Elementary
Develops grit: Agree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
Love the use of data notebooks. My children know what their goals are and how close they are to reaching them!

Lynn Road Elementary
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
The school celebrates character traits monthly and students are taught be be kind and responsible.

Nearby schools

Lynn Road Elementary
1601 Lynn Rd, Raleigh, NC  27612
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (919) 870-4074
Last modified Lynn Road Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top