Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Raleigh, NC
Students enrolled: 1,021

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin Middle 2

Posted November 25, 2014
- a parent
my child is deaf.. other students bullying, set up trouble, also accusing on my child a lot. School not helpfully! The Teachers were good but not SKILLED ASL as our deaf culture or past time. But good enough but need more deaf culture and more. Also limited them pick one elective cant have two or more elective class unfair with hearing students.

Martin Middle 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
Martin Middle school devastated and destroyed my child---not just her education. The experience of bullying scarred her for her life. Staff were of no assistance and basically did not care.
1 person found this helpful


Martin Middle 3

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
We've had three children go to this school. There has been quite an administrative change in the past two years. The school has gone from a small gifted and talented exceptional school, to one that is rigid and overcrowded. Leadership is weak. The principal is not supportive of the parents or students needs. The staff is very punitive. This school used to encourage creativity and unique thinking. We are not finding that any longer. Sadly, detention is a favorite tool to teach a child. With the exception of the music and theater program, we are sorely disappointed.
3 people found this helpful

Martin Middle 4

Posted December 15, 2013
- a community member
I went here for half of 7th grade and all of 8th grade. This school is nice. It's known for it's Visual and Performing Arts which is excellent except for there Dance team which in my opinion is horrible, there not together and all over the place but the Chorus, Band, Orchestra, Drama, and Arts program is excellent. The only thing negative I would have to say is that 8th grade year when I was in Chorus, I had paid for a chorus dress and didn't get it all year, and the chorus did not show any concern towards the issue so for the whole year, I had to wear all black pants and shirt. On the LAST day of school, the teacher gave my mom a refund and he didn't give it to me right away, he was signing year books and made me wait! He did not care at all! But overall, I had a great 1 1/2 years here at Martin Middle School. Pro's: The school is newly renovated. Great Visual and Performing arts program. Great Teachers Challenges Students Strict Teachers Teachers know how to handle bad behavior Con's: Nothing I can thing of.

Martin Middle 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
First year in , here's our experience: Student with 3's in elementary comes home with straight A's. Totally motivated by teachers who are young, lively and creative. Ginormous list of electives to choose from each quarter. No bully issues, at all. Absolutely no Middle school transition blues, just complete sense of school pride. Savvy, smart, and fun leadership. Tons of parental involvement. If you can enroll your child here jump at it. EXCELLENT school!


Martin Middle 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
I love martin middle I have had 2 sons and 3 daughters went through this school now my 1 is on her first year I think this school has improved much since my first so went there now 20 the administration got better I highly recommend martin middle to anyone.

Martin Middle 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
My son is starting his second year at Martin, and we have been very happy. The school offers a plethora of electives - art, language, music, PE, you name it. The principal is wonderful. She is very involved with the children - she attends many sporting events. Overall, we feel like it is a safe place where my son can flourish. My only complain is the French department. I think the children could learn much more!

Martin Middle 1

Posted December 21, 2012
- a parent
We were so pleased with Martin the first year, but this second year has been a disaster for our daughter. Bullying and teasing runs rampant at this school, and the administration does little to address this other than lump all the kids together, and blame the victim as well. We have heard this from numerous other parents as well, who are frustrated. There is poor communication between teachers and parents, lack of response to emails from parents, and poor behavior on the part of the teachers, who have modeled immature behavior to students and, in my opinion, reinforced the bullying that is taking place.
1 person found this helpful


Martin Middle 5

Posted October 18, 2012
- a parent
Both my daughters go to this school 6th grade and 8th grade. This school is very good.

Martin Middle 1

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
If your child has special needs, FORGET IT! They target special needs kids at this school for bullying and the principal and guidance staff do not care at all.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Middle
1701 Ridge Road, Raleigh, NC  27607
(919) 881-4970
Last modified Martin Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin Middle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top