Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Martin Middle 3

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
We've had three children go to this school. There has been quite an administrative change in the past two years. The school has gone from a small gifted and talented exceptional school, to one that is rigid and overcrowded. Leadership is weak. The principal is not supportive of the parents or students needs. The staff is very punitive. This school used to encourage creativity and unique thinking. We are not finding that any longer. Sadly, detention is a favorite tool to teach a child. With the exception of the music and theater program, we are sorely disappointed.

Martin Middle 4

Posted December 15, 2013
- a community member
I went here for half of 7th grade and all of 8th grade. This school is nice. It's known for it's Visual and Performing Arts which is excellent except for there Dance team which in my opinion is horrible, there not together and all over the place but the Chorus, Band, Orchestra, Drama, and Arts program is excellent. The only thing negative I would have to say is that 8th grade year when I was in Chorus, I had paid for a chorus dress and didn't get it all year, and the chorus did not show any concern towards the issue so for the whole year, I had to wear all black pants and shirt. On the LAST day of school, the teacher gave my mom a refund and he didn't give it to me right away, he was signing year books and made me wait! He did not care at all! But overall, I had a great 1 1/2 years here at Martin Middle School. Pro's: The school is newly renovated. Great Visual and Performing arts program. Great Teachers Challenges Students Strict Teachers Teachers know how to handle bad behavior Con's: Nothing I can thing of.


Martin Middle 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
First year in , here's our experience: Student with 3's in elementary comes home with straight A's. Totally motivated by teachers who are young, lively and creative. Ginormous list of electives to choose from each quarter. No bully issues, at all. Absolutely no Middle school transition blues, just complete sense of school pride. Savvy, smart, and fun leadership. Tons of parental involvement. If you can enroll your child here jump at it. EXCELLENT school!

Martin Middle 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
I love martin middle I have had 2 sons and 3 daughters went through this school now my 1 is on her first year I think this school has improved much since my first so went there now 20 the administration got better I highly recommend martin middle to anyone.

Martin Middle 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
My son is starting his second year at Martin, and we have been very happy. The school offers a plethora of electives - art, language, music, PE, you name it. The principal is wonderful. She is very involved with the children - she attends many sporting events. Overall, we feel like it is a safe place where my son can flourish. My only complain is the French department. I think the children could learn much more!


Martin Middle 1

Posted December 21, 2012
- a parent
We were so pleased with Martin the first year, but this second year has been a disaster for our daughter. Bullying and teasing runs rampant at this school, and the administration does little to address this other than lump all the kids together, and blame the victim as well. We have heard this from numerous other parents as well, who are frustrated. There is poor communication between teachers and parents, lack of response to emails from parents, and poor behavior on the part of the teachers, who have modeled immature behavior to students and, in my opinion, reinforced the bullying that is taking place.

Martin Middle 5

Posted October 18, 2012
- a parent
Both my daughters go to this school 6th grade and 8th grade. This school is very good.

Martin Middle 1

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
I cannot begin to tell you how disappointed I am in this school. Parents! Middle School is so very, very important to your child's overall functioning as an adult, but unfortunately no one at Martin gets this, no matter how many times they tell you the reason they do what they do is because they "care about kids." This is a loosely jointed, harried example of a public school, not worth the cost of purchasing in the base district and probably not worth your child's transportation time to the school. Despite strong beliefs in public schools, the Martin experience drove us into private schooling. Our child's future is worth that to us.


Martin Middle 1

Posted October 17, 2012
- a parent
If your child has special needs, FORGET IT! They target special needs kids at this school for bullying and the principal and guidance staff do not care at all.

Martin Middle 5

Posted August 29, 2012
- a community member
Im am a student here and I love this school! I have met very good people here and its great!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Martin Middle
1701 Ridge Road, Raleigh, NC  27607
(919) 881-4970
Last modified Martin Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Martin Middle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews.