Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

North Ridge Elementary

Public | K-5 | 793 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 24, 2014

When visiting and touring schools for our first child, North Ridge won hands-down, out of the five we considered. Our daughter has a special need- and we need to be sure that she would be in the best place possible to help her succeed. Her Kindergarten and subsequent Elementary years would be the basis on which the rest of her schooling would rely. From our first visit, the Principal came out of a lunch meeting to speak with us, potential newcomers, and spent twenty minutes answering my questions. On my tour, I noticed that the school, though not brand new, felt "home-y", with glitter on some floors, and artwork hung outside every room, and the sound of quiet, respectful students. We were sold. Two years in, our daughter is doing so well and is even being exited from the Special Needs program! Her teachers have been wonderful, communicative, and helpful. She has made wonderful friends and has learned so much. We are now registering her younger brother for Kindergarten- our base school is not NRES. To be sure we are having him transferred to North Ridge as we are positive he, like his sister, will have the best foundation of learning, and love of learning at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

We have been at North Ridge Elementary for 5 years now and the school has gone from "good" to "great" in our opinion! The teachers and staff are fantastic. Our children feel safe, cared about, and respected at North Ridge. They have been supported, challenged, and reinforced by their teachers, who are always very responsive to any questions or requests that we have. Last year, my son's 2nd grade teacher, Ms. Demay, even went out of her way to attend his after-school baseball games. Also, last year my daughter's 3rd grade teacher, Ms. Donnelly, went out on maternity leave but she 'visited' the kids from her home via skype and they loved knowing that she was thinking of them- even as she was at home caring for her newborn. The Principal, Mr. Soutter, and Assistant Principal, Ms. Rich are heavily invested in the lives of our children ... they know them by name and make each child feel special and one-of-a-kind. North Ridge has a top-notch PTA that values the importance of supporting the students AND the staff! I have no reservations about recommending North Ridge Elementary to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

I love the involvement of the families of the students. The facilty stays on top of issues and really listens to feedback from parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

My daughter is starting first grade next week and I stay in the apartments I am in just to keep her near North Ridge. I hope our years going forward are as wonderful as K-garten was. And I hope that her next teacher is as awsome as Ms Judson was. I count ourselves blessed to have had her first year in school with such a great teacher. I agree with the other post stating her theories are right on target. Great parent participation as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

Very impressed.. My daughter made it all the way to middle school K-5 here because of the amazing teachers and parent involvement..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

This is our second year at North Ridge and I am so pleased with every aspect of the school. The teachers and staff are fanatastic and my children enjoy going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

My daughter just started Kindergarten here, and I really like the school so far. Her teacher, Ms. Judson, is awsome. Her feelings on Kindergarten learning are right on target as far as I am concerned. So far, great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

My sons have been at North Ridge Elementary since kindergarten. We couldn't be happier with the school, the teachers and all of the other parents and support staff that truly care about their education and well being. Of the 10 teachers that we've had over the years, we've only had one that we felt wasn't a fit for our sons. North Ridge is blessed with Ms. Dew (1st grade teacher). She's easily our nomination for the best teacher in the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female62%
Male48%
Black31%
Asian40%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students58%
Limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students51%
Female65%
Male38%
Black39%
Asian30%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students55%
Limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female67%
Male53%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiency30%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students53%
Female61%
Male46%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female55%
Male49%
Black35%
Asian33%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students49%
Female58%
Male39%
Black30%
Asian25%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities19%
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically gifted89%

Science

All Students61%
Female64%
Male58%
Black44%
Asian33%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 52%
Black 22% 26%
Hispanic 20% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Robert Soutter
Fax number
  • (919) 870-4107

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7120 Harps Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27615
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 870-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ravenscroft School
Raleigh, NC



Ravenscroft School
Raleigh, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT