Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Root Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 520 students

Root is a STEM school.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

My experience this year has been poor with how the school structure is run. I feel it caters to the wealthy kids and makes excuses when it comes to taking care of the rest of the class. It is a beautiful school set in a very nice neighborhood, but the rich parents get whatever they want and their kids get special treatment, and it is just not an environment I want my child around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

Root is the BEST! We have the best principal, PTA, parents and teachers. I have 3 children and of them have or are attending Root!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

Great school! My child has received a great education and we love the small size. Top notch media center specialist and music teacher of the year for the state of NC. Parents that have written negative reviews seem to have special needs children. I can only speak to for my child. He AG and has received outstanding services.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2011

I agree 100% with the parent below who posted April 4. This is a very nice looking school and they have a great PTA. But everything else about this school is not great to my opinion. I would like to point out that a certain group of kids that make up the minority of the school are not treated like the majority group of kids. I also believe that some of the teachers at this school do not desire to have the minority group of kids or struggling group of kids in their class and they make it very obvious to both the kids and their parents. I had to fight tooth and nail to make sure my child was being treated fairly. Some of the teachers have poor communication skills with the parents and when very involved parents try to voice their opinion, these certain teachers make you feel as if you re annoying them. I am also one of the parents who are looking to transfer my child to another school. One that is diverse, compassionate, and welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

My children have attended Root as their only school. The new principal is a strong leader and is making positive changes for the bettement of ALL students. The leadership from the administration and parental involvement make this school a great learning environment. The WCPSS overall faces challenges so I think the leadership DOES respond to parents and DOES increase academic expectations. I do think that the faculty is welcoming more parental involvement as far as volunteerism and assistance within the classroom, which is a shift from the previous leadership. It is my sense that Root is a wonderful school, has very caring faculty, staff and families. Meaningful requests from families that genuinely need additional intervention has occured and I know that from first hand experience. Families at Root who have the most success, as in ANY school, are the ones who remain involved with their children's entire educational experience, both at home and in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

My children attended here for two years, but have since changed schools. Despite a great cohort of students, a strong PTA, a great new school facility, and a few good faculty members, the leadership (new principal and asst principal) consistently disappoint children and families of all backgrounds. My high-performing children were left to languish with little challenge; children from struggling backgrounds were greeted with minimal expectations. Leadership did nothing to help children meet or rise above their abilities. Families who request more for their children are considered "bothers" and met with contempt. There is an increasing exodus of families who are seeking schools, private and public, elsewhere. It started as a trickle last year and now parents are stampeding out the door, looking widely for other educational options. Until leadership improves significantly and academic expectations and capacities increase, I imagine the school will continue to be under-enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

We love this school. Staff cares about the students, teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This school is full of love, leadership and a desire to learn and educate. Our new principal sings the morning announcements and wrote a school song. Our students are enjoying learning this wonderful song along with the positive energy that he, along with his staff, provide for us all. We are truly a wonderful elementary family that shares in the love of a child to reach the highest potential academically and personally. We are the future leaders of the United States of America.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

I have a child at this school and I do not understand the comments on the 'large' classrooms?? 20 children with a teacher, an assitant and many parents involved everyday does not make for a large classroom! I myself attended a tiny private school and had 18 in our class with one teacher. I also disagree about the large socioeconomic gap. There are going to be children at EVERY school who have more or less than others. All of the children here mix exceptionally well. I also think that you will not find a place with more well-balanced and polite children anywhere in Raleigh! Root has been known to be an excellent school for many many years. I think the person posting at the bottom had some sort of bad experience and is by far the exception.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

This school has a great neighborhood feel and wonderful parent participation. The children seem to all get along well, though there is a big socioeconomic gap. On the downside, the class size is too large for every child to get enough attention. If your child is in the mainstream academically, this may not be a problem, but if your child is exceptionally gifted or has trouble learning, it is problematic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

I am a parent whose son was sent to Root Elementary, and attended for six years. Through my experience, I found that the teacher involvemen was fantastic, and my son always talked about his teachers. I sent my son to this school because of Mrs. Doane and Mrs. Mims, two of my sons favorite teachers. He moved into middle school prepared, and I could not be happier with his elementary school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

I'm a substitute teacher and sometimes work at this school. It's a favorite of mine. The worst thing about this school are its large class sizes. Like the last poster said, there's definitely the haves and have-nots- but the kids seem to mix together well enough, and you can get bullies coming from either end of the spectrum. The teachers are some of the friendliest and most engaged I've met so far, and the classrooms I was in were actually well advanced of others in their grade level at different schools. Most classes, even for their large size, are pretty well behaved, and the children that needed it were shown a lot of personal attention from the specialists and resource teachers. Root doesn't look that impressive because because it's an older school, but the environment feels really friendly and I like going back there.


Posted April 9, 2006

After hearing great things about this magnet school I ended up being very disappointed. My children transferred from another school when we moved to Wake County. We found the children at the school to not receive enough guidance on behavior, my children received much more than their fair share of brutal teasing, with little teacher involvement. This is one of those schools that has a clear line of distinction between the have and have nots. I would absolutely not recommend this school to any parent who seeks to raise a well balanced, polite child. Music and art programs are good, academics are good - but talked to many teachers who frankly hate the new 'no child left behind' initiatives and can't wait to quit their job. Class size, too large 25-28 in 4th grade. A disappointing experience
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female65%
Male53%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities43%
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students63%
Female64%
Male62%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities43%
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Academically gifted90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female49%
Male66%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students54%
Female61%
Male49%
Black20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students58%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students39%
Female41%
Male36%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic-5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students42%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically gifted95%

Reading

All Students52%
Female52%
Male52%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Academically gifted95%

Science

All Students44%
Female41%
Male48%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 52%
Black 22% 26%
Hispanic 13% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:15 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Blaine Clark
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (919) 881-1427

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Daniels Middle School
Broughton High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3202 Northampton Rd
Raleigh, NC 27609
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 881-4940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. David's School
Raleigh, NC


St. David's School
Raleigh, NC



Trilogy School
Raleigh, NC



The Trilogy School
Raleigh, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT