Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stough Elementary

Public | K-5 | 583 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

52 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2009

I love this school! They take care of every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I am a teacher at Stough and it is the best school ever! Our teachers, staff, parents, and students give 100% all of the time! The school environment is warm and welcoming and each child is treated equally. Our administration is top notch and our entire staff is in sync with one main focus... making sure our students are recieving the best education possible!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

Stough consistently pushes for the very best---the best in students, in teachers, in parents, and in the community. Though our students' needs are diverse and great, we rise to meet them time after time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I love Stough because we have the best staff ,students ,and parents!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

Stough Elementary School is great because of its wonderful students, GREAT parent support, and caring, hard-working teachers. We go the extra mile for our studednts every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

I love Stough because of the great collaboration among staff and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 5, 2009

My daugher is a third grader at Stough. We love everything about this school - a wonderful principal, fantastic teachers and super support staff. Every child at Stough is treated with fairness and equality. The PTA is very active and willing to support our school with financial means as well as volunteer time in the classroom. Working together has made Stough a school that is place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I love this school! I have a kindergartner at Stough who is a shy kid. I was extremely worried about her transition, but she is doing great here. The best thing about Stough is the staff and the PTA. It is a happy atmosphere where everyone has a smile and if you have any concerns they address them immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I am pleasantly suprised when it comes to stough. My daughter has great teachers who are actually instrested in working with kids instead of just earning what little pay they do make. My daughter is thriving there. The reorg the board did, i believe has positivly helped stough and the teachers. With fewer students 'needing' individual attention, the teachers are able to provide individual attention to everyone instead of focusing on just a few students. I highly recommend this school and i do hope the silly standardized test scores this year will prove what a good school stough is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

My son is a first grader at Stough. I am on the PTA board and have a very demanding full-time job. I knew the minute we walked into to Stough that we were home. The teachers and as well as the new principal, Mrs. Keech, all felt like these kids were their very own. The staff are truly dedicated to our kids and to making them feel supported and loved while they are learning and growing. I wish all parents in Wake County could be so lucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

My kid attended this school for 4 months as a kinder student. Therefore my review could be rather limited. The overall quality of academic programs seems to be average and the level of parent involvement was below the average I think. I was requested to participate for the student escort service in the morning just for once during the whole semester. And that was it. Besides she loved her teachers a lot. Overall I would rate this school as an average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2004

I am very happy with this school. My son is doing well this year and his new teacher Ms. Weiss and all that assist her are doing great things to help with his esteem and his reading--thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students41%
Female42%
Male41%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students43%
Limited English proficiency46%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted82%

Reading

All Students48%
Female54%
Male41%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiency36%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically gifted82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students42%
Female35%
Male46%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students49%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students38%
Female32%
Male42%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students39%
Female42%
Male37%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female42%
Male40%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students49%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students41%
Female36%
Male45%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students49%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 37% 26%
White 27% 52%
Hispanic 26% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Cheryl Stidham
Fax number
  • (919) 881-1422

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4210 Edwards Mill Road
Raleigh, NC 27612
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 881-4950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rejoice Academy
Raleigh, NC



York Elementary
Raleigh, NC


Lacy Elementary
Raleigh, NC


Brooks Elementary
Raleigh, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT