Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Underwood Elementary 4

Posted October 27, 2013
- a community member
I am a grandparent who volunteered for two years in my grandchild's classroom. After seeing up close the dedication and deep daily commitment of both teachers, my view of their character-driven sacrifice for their classes impressed me deeply.

Underwood Elementary 1

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My son hates this school. They are not very nice to their kids. I thought we would be going to one of the best schools but I was wrong. They have very antisocial policy's that cuts children's fun out of their life's. All I wanted is my kid to be happy, and how can he do that in a school that will not let him invite friends to a birthday party. If your new to this school look out your kid will not be happy.


Underwood Elementary 5

Posted September 01, 2013
- a parent
I have a 3rd grader and two 1st graders at Underwood. The principal and teachers are all tenured, dedicated, and passionate about teaching. The electives offered each quarter truly enrich our children's learning and we feel very fortunate that we can attend through the WCPSS Magnet Program. The PTA is very active too!

Underwood Elementary 5

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
Underwood is a great school. The chance to take a variety of electives in addition to core classes has really given both of my children a broad education at an early age.

Underwood Elementary 5

Posted February 18, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is first grader at Underwood. We love the teachers, principle and Assistant Principle, and all the awesome electives. They have conscious discipline classrooms and our daughter is thriving at Underwood. All the teachers have been there several years. It is a warm and supportive environment!


Underwood Elementary 5

Posted August 30, 2011
- a parent
The atmosphere is welcoming and cozy, the teachers and staff are top notch. My daughter has had a wonderful experience here. We feel incredibly fortunate that Underwood is our base elementary school.

Underwood Elementary 5

Posted September 06, 2010
- a parent
Just stop by and visit...walking in the door and down the halls at Underwood, you'll see learning at all levels.Not only are basic academics encouraged, but also 21st century skills including the arts, foreign languages, social skills, and health/physical education.

Underwood Elementary 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Underwood Elementary 0
no rating

Posted March 24, 2010
- a community member
Underwood Gifted and Talented Elementary School is full of talented, life-long learners. At Underwood, students get to explore their gifts and talents and get the individualized, differentiated instruction that grows young minds. Students have the opportunity to take orchestra, band, dance, foreign language, horticulture, technology, physics, and much more. The teachers genuinely care about the success of all of their students and their passion is evident every time I walk through the hallways.

Underwood Elementary 2

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
This school is a good choice if you can afford to live within walking distance. If you are looking at it as a magnet option, the reduction in elective choices combined with the poor quality of the administration means it's probably not worth the 1.5-2 hours per day your child will spend on the bus. There are some wonderful teachers here, but the vast majority were hired by previous administrators. I would be concerned about whether the current principal will be able to attract teachers of the same caliber if any of these teachers leave.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Underwood Elementary
1614 Glenwood Avenue, Raleigh, NC  27608
(919) 856-7663
Last modified Underwood Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Underwood Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top