Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Millbrook Middle

Public | 6-8 | 967 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

This is my second year at WMMS and I have hated this year with a fiery passion. As for the students, the only bullying I have seen is name calling, exclusion, and a rare fight. Luckily, my friends are kind, honest, and humorous in a way that doesn't hurt anyone's feelings. The teachers are another story. I only like two of my teachers and that is for a good reason. My science teacher is my favorite and that is because she always has diverse methods of teaching. Plus, she knows how to keep students on task in a firm but kind way. My second favorite teacher is my math teacher. He is very passionate about what he does and includes humor and games in our learning. All of my other teachers are flat out mean, unmotivated, they don't teach us anything, or try to cram too much into one lesson. Also, most teachers only allow you to go to the bathroom three times per quarter. I think teachers should let reliable students like myself use the bathroom whenever it is needed. Also, I have anxiety disorders and the frustration that the teachers build up in me have induced several panic attacks this year. If you want a subpar education and constant stress and frustration, go to WMMS! --Student


Posted December 15, 2013

I went to this school for my 6th grade year and it was pretty good, a little bullying but it went away. The teachers were good, they gave us bathroom breaks in classes but it felt like I wasn't being challenged. -Student


Posted February 28, 2013

my child want there for 3 years an was bully the whole time he was there an nothing was done to anybody i would not send your child there you my get some good teachers an an there is some very rude to everybody not happy with this school


Posted February 27, 2013

This is our first year at WMMS and we are very pleased. Our 6th grader enjoyed a very easy transition from elementary school to middle school - facilitated by a team of teachers that were positive, nurturing, happy and focused on supporting their students to succeed. Teachers/admin are generally pretty good about sending email info out to parents and respond quickly to questions. The school is due for renovation and that will be awesome for the staff and students when it happens - they have been patiently waiting! It's what goes on inside that counts though... I think this school is a great community that is bringing some new and innovative things to the classroom - we have seen a decent amount of "reflection" and inquiry based learning - very IB type things - SUPERB. This is NOT a magnet school but they are teaching in interesting and dynamic ways because it is good for KIDS!!! Our student is challenged and growing. Strong core volunteer group and active PTA. Keep up the great work WMMS - people are noticing and are very grateful for your effort!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

My daughter went there one year and hated it totally. Teachers were rude. She was on the basketball team and the coach was always shouting, making the team sweat, and as punishment they had to run 20 laps. Don't go to this school. The teachers RAPPED RULERS ON THEIR DESKS. DON'T EVEN THINK OF GOING TO THIS SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

I am a veteran teacher in my 18th year of teaching and my 11th year at West Millbrook. I started there with an excellent principal, but when she retired after my 5th year there, the school went into a downward spiral. Teachers were still working hard and cared deeply about the success of the students, but the new administration was unsupportive and at times even adversarial. To our great fortune, Dr. Muttillo was hired to return West Millbrook to its former glory! He has been our prinicipal for nearly 3 years now, and has done a spectacular job of addressing the issues he inherited from the previous adminstration: low test scores, high teacher turn-over, increased student misbehavior, and discipline inconsistencies. Each one of these areas has shown marked improvement! I, for one, have never been happier at this school, and I consider it the best one I have ever worked at! I have wonderful, caring, hardworking colleagues, great administrators, supportive and involved parents, and great students! What more could I want in a school?
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 27, 2010

After reading some of these reviews my husband and I were nervous about sending our child to 6th grade here - but he LOVED it, and so did we! Dr. Mutillo does a fantastic job of keeping the students and teachers motivated and on task. I was concerned about behavior issues and fights, and while they certainly have their share at WMMS, my child never felt threatened or worried about going to school each day. In fact, he couldn't wait to go! Academically, it wasn't as challenging as some of the area private schools, but the life lessons he learned and the diversity he experienced will serve him well in the long run! Some of the substitute teachers were a bit "dicey" and should have their positions re-evaluated, but the core full-time teachers were awesome! WMMS isn't perfect, but we were certainly pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

i went to west millbrook!! for one year it was ok some of the teachers was nice and cool but others were mean,rude, and just didtn care


Posted April 24, 2010

I love West Millbrook!!! My son is finishing his third year at West Millbrook. He and I have both been so happy with his experience there. He feels very safe and happy at West. He feels very ready for high school and is being placed in all honors classes for 9th grade. Dr. Mutillo is wonderful. I see him EVERYWHERE! I even saw him across the stree the other day checking on kids who were walking that way. The whole feel of the school has changed for the better from the minute he walked in the door. The teachers seem much happier, there is more school spirit and a happier feel throughout. Very, very happy with West Millbrook!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

Dr Muttillo, has done a wonderful job of turning W. Millbrook Middle into a school that I am proud to have my child attend. As a principal he has done a wonderful job motivating parents, staff and students to succeed. W. Millbrook is a different school then it was in prior years when it was struggling so badly. Our family experience has been nothing but positive. So all I can say is a heart felt thank you to the teachers and staff for all you ve done to help my child thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

I went to West Millbrook for 2 years and they were the worst 2 years of my schooling by far. Teachers were inadequate except for a few, students weren't diverse at all. I was given no challenge and can pretty firmly say I didn't learn 1/8 of what I learned at one year at Ligon once I transfered. If I were a parent I would try to get your child into a magnet school or something because West Millbrook was the worst thing for me and If your child is academically gifted they will not be pleased with the atmosphere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2008

The new principal took over this school in 7/2008. He is high energy and is a changemaker. It will take time to turn this around but he is the man for the job. Students and teachers say they have seen a huge improvement in communication and committment. Discipline issues are being tackled head on and the environment is beginning to see change. This school is on the right track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

I am a new teacher to West Millbrook and have found it to be very positive. There were administrative issues in previous years, however they currently run a very tight ship. I've enjoyed working within such a professional environment. Teachers are passionate and committed, and the students are great. There is always room for improvement, and everyone here seems committed to working towards that goal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 8, 2008

I am a student in this school and it is wonderful. All the students and the teachers are always very helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

I'm a parent of a sixth grader at WMMS and this school is riddled with disciplinary issues. The consequences for misbehavior vary by student not situation and this is troubling. My daughter who is a year ahead is well liked but is far from being challenged intellectually. There is no assistance for gifted children and no art is present either. I'm presently seeking another school for her where she will actually learn something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

8th grade in the 2006-07 school year is over crowded with severe behavior disruptions in many of the classes. Teachers are told to handle all behavior problems within the team and they receive little administrative support. I've been a parent with children at West Millbrook for six years and I'm glad that this is my child's last year attending this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2005

I think West Millbrook is a great school for learning. The students are ver dedicated and so are the teachers. The teachers are very helpful. Parent Involvement is very high. Music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities are always available to students. I am very pleased with West Millbrook.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

343 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students37%
Female33%
Male41%
Black17%
Asian46%
Hispanic19%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Academically gifted94%

Reading

All Students47%
Female49%
Male45%
Black19%
Asian39%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial43%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students47%
Female47%
Male48%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students52%
Female57%
Male47%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial73%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students60%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students35%
Female34%
Male36%
Black10%
Asian39%
Hispanic15%
Multiracial43%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Academically gifted83%

Reading

All Students44%
Female52%
Male38%
Black25%
Asian23%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial71%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically gifted79%

Science

All Students62%
Female65%
Male60%
Black38%
Asian46%
Hispanic41%
Multiracial86%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students69%
Limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students61%
Female59%
Male63%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted82%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 52%
Black 26% 26%
Hispanic 18% 14%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Kelly Aman
Fax number
  • (919) 870-4064

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8115 Strickland Road
Raleigh, NC 27615
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 870-4050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ravenscroft School
Raleigh, NC



Ravenscroft School
Raleigh, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT