Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hilburn Academy 3

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
My child attend Hilburn for 3 years now.. she have a really good teacher at the first year but the principal was terrible, never involved in anything, the second year was a disaster, terrible teacher, bullying teacher with a really terrible attitude around the kids, the principal with no time and no commitment with the parents/students at all. I asked the city of raleigh educational office to transfer my child to another school this year, and they send me a letter telling me to wait because things will be changing. So, fortunately they change the principal and the terrible teacher Mrs. Griffin was kick out as well.. I am having a good impression about the new principal this year at least we can see her get involved in the school activities... and having commitment with the school and the parents. I hope the main office people can be more polite and helpful as well... and do not forget that the first impression is the most important!!

Hilburn Academy 4

Posted December 15, 2015
- a parent
Awesome new principal and many new staff to energize the classrooms. The STEM program and K-8 format make this school unique. It's a small close-knit community.


Hilburn Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn has a nice family feel, and the teachers and office staff go above and beyond for the students.

Hilburn Academy 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a community member
I've been a Hilburn parent for three years, with two kids there. My oldest has has an excellent middle school experience. The classes are much smaller than he would've had at Daniels or Leesville (though I have very happy friends at both schools), and feel the individual attention here is terrific. My child never "slips through the cracks" and I feel like the staff and administration are both focused more on the kids than they are "administrivia" that can seem to absorb large schools. I also like that my child has had three years of actual Spanish instruction. Foreign language at area middle schools is a WCPSS bait and switch at many schools. They may OFFER a language, but at some middle schools, unless your child had elementary instruction in that language, they are not eligible to take it in middle school. (That's a question to ask if you are weighing middle school options.) My child is already taking Spanish 1for high school credit because of the good instruction at Hilburn. That is a real benefit, and there is also a Spanish 1 Class trip to Spain planned for the end of the year. Yes, Spain. I'm also a fan of the Hilburn Elementary program. We've not had a bad teacher in 3 years. The teachers have all been great, but each in his or her own way. I have to respectfully disagree with the other parent who had an issue with the administration concerning a child with a learning disability. My younger child han issue last year and I found the assistant principal and guidance counselor to both be professional and caring, and felt like they did what I needed them to do. I will explain that I never showed up without an appointment and was always clear with what I wanted from them, so that may account for my sense of satisfaction. My complaints are minor- the kids eat lunch too early, and the teachers all use three different websites with a gazillion different passwords, so it's a challenge to keep it straight. The PTA is active and gives a lot of money to the school (even providing things that I think WCPSS should), but that's a good thing. Overall, I reccomend parents look at Hilburn if they are looking for an excellent STEM program for their elementary kids, and a superior Spanish program (and small classes and attentive teachers) for middle school. Hope that's helpful.

Hilburn Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
I love this school. I think the teachers and staff are very friendly and care about the students' education. I have two kids. One is in kindergarten and the other is in first grade. I've had nothing but good experiences. The progress that my first grader has made since kindergarten is phenomenal. I don't even want to move to another location because I don't want to switch schools. I would highly recommend this school.


Hilburn Academy 2

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.

Hilburn Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.

Hilburn Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.


Hilburn Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
We have had the complete opposite experience at Hilburn Academy. The front office staff has always been friendly and helpful. The carpool teachers greeted us every morning and helped younger kids get out of the car when needed. The teachers have been wonderful including all the specialist ones. My children have enjoyed going to school there and have done well academically. I have volunteered for various things and have found the teachers and staff to be very appreciative of all the PTA and parent volunteers do. My kids have made friends easily and it seems like most parents want to be involved with the school. Overall we have had a positive experience so far with both the elementary and middle school grade levels

Hilburn Academy 1

Posted July 02, 2015
- a parent
This school is really terrible I am so disappointed! My child is been there for 2years now and after the first year I should move to another school but unfurtunately I give another chance. Well, first the principal is never available for you. PTA meetings doesn't make sense. We went to a meeting and the principal show up just to say if somebody had any question had to submit on line because he will not have any time to answer that day. Well, why we left our house to have to submit questions on line?? Office people is not friendly at all. when u get at the car pool to drop your child people never said good morning it's look like they are there but they are hating to be there. So weird. Teachers are too young and with no experience. Teachers made inappropriate comments regarding another kids in front of the class. I do not recommend this school for anybody. Terrible experience!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hilburn Academy
7100 Hilburn Dr, Raleigh, NC  27613
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (919) 571-6800
Last modified Hilburn Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-7. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top