Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Raleigh, NC
Students enrolled: 483
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hilburn Academy 2

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.

Hilburn Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.


Hilburn Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.

Hilburn Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.

Hilburn Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.


Hilburn Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.

Hilburn Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 15, 2015
- a parent
Hilburn Academy is NOT a good school if your child is in a special needs, and If they have a learning disability they're awful.

Hilburn Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
We have had the complete opposite experience at Hilburn Academy. The front office staff has always been friendly and helpful. The carpool teachers greeted us every morning and helped younger kids get out of the car when needed. The teachers have been wonderful including all the specialist ones. My children have enjoyed going to school there and have done well academically. I have volunteered for various things and have found the teachers and staff to be very appreciative of all the PTA and parent volunteers do. My kids have made friends easily and it seems like most parents want to be involved with the school. Overall we have had a positive experience so far with both the elementary and middle school grade levels


Hilburn Academy 1

Posted July 02, 2015
- a parent
This school is really terrible I am so disappointed! My child is been there for 2years now and after the first year I should move to another school but unfurtunately I give another chance. Well, first the principal is never available for you. PTA meetings doesn't make sense. We went to a meeting and the principal show up just to say if somebody had any question had to submit on line because he will not have any time to answer that day. Well, why we left our house to have to submit questions on line?? Office people is not friendly at all. when u get at the car pool to drop your child people never said good morning it's look like they are there but they are hating to be there. So weird. Teachers are too young and with no experience. Teachers made inappropriate comments regarding another kids in front of the class. I do not recommend this school for anybody. Terrible experience!

Hilburn Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 02, 2015
- a parent
I am really desapointed with this school! This school is terrible in every aspect. My child is been there for the last 2 years and I always had some issues and problems since the first year. But because was the first year I assumed the next year will be better. Unfortunately worse than the first one. My Child teacher do not have any experience with first graders students really rude and used to make funny and inappropriate comments about the kids with other kids. The teacher used to send home warning assignments almost every day. My child was always afraid to go to school. I went to talk to the principal and I had to wait for 3 hrs at the office to get to talk to him and he was there but he said I need to talk to his assistant first. After A 3 hrs waiting and not leave because I have serious issues to talk to him about my daughter's teacher he decided to talk to me. After couple days I had a meeting with the teacher and his assistant because he was too busy to be there. What kind principal is this?? Well finally the year end and I can't wait to have my child out of this "school".

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hilburn Academy
7100 Hilburn Dr, Raleigh, NC  27613
(919) 571-6800
Last modified Hilburn Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hilburn Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top