Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fox Road Elementary

Public | K-5 | 825 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

Fox Road is a great school this is my daughter first year and the school and they seem to be well put together. my daughter teacher is awesome she give them the extra push to get to the next level. I just want to say thank you Fox Road for being a team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

What an extraordinary change Fox Road Elementary has under gone. An amazing new administration, a passionate, caring, committed staff, and lots and lots of enthusiastic students. Kudos to the new Principal!


Posted August 22, 2013

actually this is a very good school, my son santiago began to study in third grade, learned a lot, now He speak English, and we are very pleased and very grateful, we see that the school improve day by day. We can only say thank you, thank you! And may God bless you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

actually this is a very good school, my son santiago began to study in third grade, learned a lot, now He speak English, and we are very pleased and very grateful, we see that the school improve day by day. We can only say thank you, thank you! And may God bless you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

I moved to Raleigh in February and registered because this was my children's base school. My neighbor informed me that the school was horrible, but by this time I had already registered my kids into school. I live in a neighborhood with a couple hundred houses, and not one other child in the whole neighborhood attends this school. Within the first week, my kids were left at school when my oldest informed the bus driver that her sisters were not on the bus, he said that he could not wait for them nor did he inform staff there. They have been dropped off at the other side of neighborhood in rain and told to walk home. The teachers and administrators threaten to call the police on the children for every little thing they do. I informed them of my middle child's disability while registering, and they have ABSOLUTELY NO staff that I have come in contact with there who knows how to deal with children with disabilities. My children have become more angry and withdrawn in the last 3 months since attending this school. If you care about your children's well-being and education, PLEASE do not send them here!! This is, BY FAR, the worst school ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

Fox Road Elementary is wonderful!! Unfortunately they are small and in need of more space. The teachers, counselor, principles are all the best I have ever encountered and I have gone through several elementary schools. When my daughter was younger, she attended several elementary schools due to reassignments almost every year. finally when we came to Fox Road it was stability. I now have a son who is completing his last year here and I have NEVER had a problem. They recognize learning behaviors and adjust accordingly to benefit the child w/o labeling. If there is a discipline problem it is handled fairly and parents are notified immediately from the classroom. Small group & independent counseling is available for students who have experienced trauma, and the counselor keeps an open door policy for the kids so they come whenever they feel like it. I absolutely love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

Well, I will say I am shocked by the pass reviews and I feel really different. I hate and I mean hate my kids going to this bad school! Trust me when I tell you this is not the best school ever. First, test score are horrible! Second when you walk down the hall it feels like a prision. The school is old that is true but at least put some light and life in it like color or something.The receptionist, wow! I dont know how to say this but she really needs to be removed. Her personality seems like she really hates her job. She has the worst atitude. She questions the parent about their kids. She really needs proper training on have to speak and carry herself in a pleasent manner. Oh and one more thing, not one of my kids have a white classmate...why is that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

I think that Fox Road is a wonderful school. It certainly doesn't deserve the poor score that it has gotten, simply because of poor EOG test scores. Yes, they are a Title I school, and they have a large ESL population, which, unfortunately, brings test scores down, but each student is noticed and taken care of, and encouraged in their education. My son is an accelerated reader, as well as very good at math, and he has always gotten the extra attention and challenges that he needed to progress and suceed. When my son was in kindergarten I was able to volunteer every week in his classroom, and when he was in 1st grade, I volunteered twice a month, and was very pleased with the teachers and staff that I was able to observe close up. The Principal is fabulous, and knows who her students are, as well as inspiring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

this is the best school any one could go to.All of my frieds are here.and we have great fieldtrips when your in energy club beacause you get to try to earn a trip to Washington ,D.C.Rock on Fox Road
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

I love this school. I was very skeptical about my son transferring there because of the large population and the mix of students. But that changed quickly. I'm going to miss the faculty and the students. This school took very good care of both my kids. The staff is very genuinely involved and truly cared about the students. I will Always remember FOX ROAD Elementary .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2004

The teachers and staff at this school have been excellent but the student population exceeds Wake County's Goals for Free and Reduced Lunch. It is a title 1 school, terribly overcrowded and is not being supported by the School Board. It feels as if you go to Fox Road you are viewed as a stepchild by the school system. They have 18 trailers and nearby schools such as Wildwood have only 8 trailers. They have a very small gym and to 'help out' cafeteria crowding they now have a trailer for a lunchroom as well. It is so sad to see this school have to take second best picking because they happen to be a little older, a lot smaller and full of working lower middle class families. The staff is fabulous but they are overworked with too few resources. The PTA works hard but is ineffficient - They need help!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students47%
Female47%
Male47%
Black40%
Asian70%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled students52%
Limited English proficiency45%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students30%
Female31%
Male28%
Black25%
Asian50%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students31%
Limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students30%
Female27%
Male32%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students25%
Female25%
Male26%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students28%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%
Academically gifted90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students32%
Female28%
Male36%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students36%
Limited English proficiency20%
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant32%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students20%
Female16%
Male25%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students21%
Limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students19%
Female14%
Male25%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students21%
Limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English21%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 26%
Hispanic 36% 14%
White 9% 52%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 82%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Robert Lewis
Fax number
  • (919) 850-8854

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7101 Fox Road
Raleigh, NC 27616
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 850-8845

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




All Sts. Academy
Raleigh, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT