Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Wake Middle 5

Posted November 15, 2015
- a parent
We moved to the area about a year ago and have been very pleased with our daughter's experience at East Wake Middle so far. She has made great friends and we are so impressed with all of her teachers. They do a great job of communicating with parents, and are challenging our daughter to think at a whole new level. Hats off to East Wake Middle!

East Wake Middle 2

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
This is a school you will NOT want your child to attend! The teachers and staff are not adequately trained to handle simple , every day issues where students are concerned. Their idea is to do anything easy and quick to get problems out of their hair! There is little positive re - enforcement for kids and it is just your typical government establishment ( low grade and totally uncaring! ) Avoid this school even if it means having to shuffle your kids to an out of district school! I promise, it will be well worth the hassle!


East Wake Middle 2

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
I to have found that my child was bullied very badly at this school. It is overlooked and when you call school with any issue everything is pushed under the rug, from bully issues to grade issues. I requested my child have guidance cous eking it never happened!! Very unhappy looking for new school and moving if I have to!!!

East Wake Middle 1

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
My child was bullied badly at this school. We reported it to the school administrators several times. Nothing was ever done. When my child finally stood up to the bully, she was suspended from school for 11 days. How does that work? The bullied child gets suspended and the bully is now the victim. Thanks for your help Ms. Allen, Mr. Pope and Ms. Chapman!

East Wake Middle 4

Posted November 16, 2013
- a parent
I was a bit unsure about enrolling East Wake from Hertitage because of the past reviews. But after visiting the school, and speaking with Mrs. Nelson ( principal) and Mrs. Evans (guidance) about my concerns, I saw first hand the high level of care they have and the positive impact of their leadership on the school environment. Seeing how well my son has been welcomed in and adjusted to the S.T.E.M program makes me even more confident that he is in good hands.


East Wake Middle 1

Posted April 17, 2012
- a community member
Terrible school, under funded, and in need of a great deal of improvement. I've seen that discipline is no longer evident in students and is getting way out of hand. Teachers have so many disrespectful students that don't care about their education that it's hard for them to teach. The students that do want to learn and are well behaved have to deal with teachers yelling at them because the class is disruptive and not focused. Teachers try to keep classrooms under control but it's too much work to control that many teens. The advanced academics are also being limited at the school because GPA's are lowering along with test scores. Elective choices are quite limited and offer very little diverse courses for the student to choose from. Parents aren't informed early enough about anything. I've received notices 24 hours in advance and even some after the event has occurred. Students are rarely sent home with letters informing parents of upcoming events. Limited after school clubs are available to join and few sports offered. Clubs have been moved to during school at random days in the year with few meetings. Also each student can only join one and most dislike what was chosen for them.

East Wake Middle 2

Posted April 10, 2012
- a community member
I am in 8th grade at this school and I am ready to leave! If you want to be in contact with the school and want to know what is going on, don't go here. 6th grade was great, but then our principals left and now we have a horrible principal. The teachers are really nice (except for a few) and they actually WANT you to learn and help you. I think that I've gotten an OK education there, but the school doesn't really care about the parents. They also tell you events or call you AFTER the event happened or give you 24 hours notice that there's a parent teacher meeting or something. I could keep on going about how the school isn't exactly, well, good, but I'll keep it somewhat short. Don't go here.

East Wake Middle 4

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
My son just finished his 3 years at East Wake Middle and one in 8th grade now. It has been wonderful, the support that they recieved from the teachers is excellent! We are so lucky to have this principal she works every day and every night to make sure the students are learning. The biggest problem is the parents, their child makes it to 6th grade and they stop being involved. I would like to see the hispanic community ie the parents be more involved. Keep working hard East Wake Middle!!


East Wake Middle 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school. My son has been here for one year and loves it. The Principal is serious about getting this school on the right track and I feel like the teachers and students are all working to improve themselves, the school and the image. My sons grades have improved and the teachers he had are encouraging. He is ready to try out for a sport now (7th grade). I am glad we came here and didn't listen to all the negative comments.

East Wake Middle
no rating

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
My child used to attend this school and I honestly wouldn't send another child there. The teachers really don't act as if they care about the students. They have completely given up on the kids. I wouldn't send my dog there....to be frank. If you are looking for an educational institution where your child can grow and learn, East Wake Middle is not the school for you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Wake Middle
2700 Old Milburnie Road, Raleigh, NC  27604
(919) 266-8500
Last modified East Wake Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East Wake Middle Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top