Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Raleigh, NC
Students enrolled: 518
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lead Mine Elementary 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Lead mine is an awesome school! Great teachers and principal. Many active parents. Extra programs and activities for students.

Lead Mine Elementary 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
We have been very happy with Lead Mine. The teachers are wonderful and so is the rest of the staff. Many opportunities for the children.


Lead Mine Elementary 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Excellent teachers and staff, Great "extra" activities and programs, and a good atmosphere with a lot of parent involement.

Lead Mine Elementary 4

Posted December 21, 2012
- a community member
As a 5th grade student I like this school a lot. The teachers are fun and nice and it's not just doing worksheet after worksheet. You learn things, take notes, and work with your group and alone. The academically gifted programs are great too. They challenge you and make you think in new ways. There is a teachers assistant with us most of the time helping when you don't get things. There are extra activities like band, yearbook, safety patrol, etc. open to 5th and some of them open to 4th graders. The few downsides are the music classes which most of the students in my class find boring because of the songs we play and the xylophones or recorders we ALWAYS play them on. The after-school care program seems to be some of the kids getting told to be quiet almost as much as the older kids do homework, all of us go outside, and we eat snack. As someone with food allergies I think they reward you with candy and food for being good way too much. They could give out pencils or cool erasers of things like that but instead they give you candy. They do try to find candy and food items you can eat though.

Lead Mine Elementary 5

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
My seven-year-old, second grade daughter has a wonderful teacher, who differentiates for the students based on their academic needs. The teacher is also very flexible, approachable, and has a good sense of humor. The same can be said for the principal and his support staff. My daughter is being challenged in all academic areas as well as in her special classes, such as physical education, art, and music. She is also expanding her media and technology skills. Her homework load is manageable, and she participates on the school's jump rope team one morning a week before school. Lead Mine Elementary is a great place for my child!


Lead Mine Elementary 4

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lead Mine Elementary 0
no rating

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
Lead Mine is great !! The staff is the greatest group of people. 2 years there, not 1 problem.

Lead Mine Elementary 5

Posted July 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lead Mine Elementary 5

Posted July 08, 2008
- a parent
I have two children at Lead Mine. The teachers are caring, so dedicated, and great at providing opportunities for differentiated instruction. One of my kids is gifted and one child struggles a bit. Both have received nurturing, challenging instruction that pushes them to be the best that they can be. Both kids love going to school and adore their teachers. They have continued teacher/student relationships from previous years, too. The school also has several peer tutoring/interaction activities such as visiting high school students, older reading buddies for homework tutoring, and buddies for exceptional children. We're sorry to be relocating away from this wonderful school. We hope to maintain contact with our friends and teachers in this wonderful community.

Lead Mine Elementary 5

Posted January 08, 2007
- a parent
I have a 9 year old Leadmine. It seems like a great school. Teachers and principle are great and so involved. We have teachers phone number and emails. School is safe and the kids seem happy to be there. Would recommend! The only thing I've been noticing is the over-crowdness. But that's not the schools fault. Over-population.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lead Mine Elementary
8301 Old Lead Mine Road, Raleigh, NC  27615
(919) 870-4120
Last modified Lead Mine Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lead Mine Elementary Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top