Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southeast Raleigh High

Public | 9-12 | 1543 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2013

this school is freakin terrible! i cant believe they call this a school, it needs to get shut down. This is not where you want to send your child, it's getting worse and worse every year. I am so happy that I transferred and now I am going to Garner High School. Southeast is terrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2013

Being a freshman here this year I have noticed that my school needs some help. In terms of academics it's on the higher end (We have a great blend of technology and the arts). However, environmentally it is not always the safest place to be as some of you may be well aware of (see WRAL). We often have fights and it seems like the administration is losing control of the students. The bottom line is if you're considering going here you should be really careful when it comes to who you decide to befriend. Stay with the right crowd.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2013

My child's first year at this school was horrific. He was the target of unfair treatment and bullying by some administrators and staff. They created a hostile environment for him to learn and expected him to say or do nothing to speak-up or advocate for himself. His grade suffered as a result and we spent the entire year making sure he did not become discouraged and give-up on learning. Admin, teachers, staff, and coaches have to be held accountable for their actions and I think parents should have a say as to whether or not performance measures are being met. Remain involved in your child's education because you are the only advocate your child has. If you leave it to some at SRHS, you will be taking a huge risk and may even later regret that you did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

My daughter just graduated from Southeast Raleigh Magnet High School and she had a great experience there. Those of you who are bashing the school should remember, I don't care where you go there are always going to be some students that are not there to learn but to have a good time. If the students take advantage of the resources (which are numerous) they would/could be very successful. Most of the teachers there are wonderful and willing to help your child succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2013

Although we have a new principal, again, he really is great! The classes are rigorous - I have 2 students here in AP, they will testify to that. There are MANY children at this school that are in honors and AP courses. There is fierce competition on who is going to be top 10 students. Our students have choices of colleges, not because the rest of the kids at our school don't shine, but because they have worked hard and made the grades. One poster talked about "inflated grades." I call it mastery. The #1 business school in the US gives retests to it students - I was one of them. It is about teaching, not failing. In this school, if a student fails a test, they have an opportunity to retake up to a certain grade. It is not carte blanche. The teacher wants to make sure that the student understands the concept prior to moving on. That is teaching, not inflating. I don't know anyone at my professoin who does anything perfect the first time - do you? SRMHS is a GREAT SCHOOL, with a GREAT PRINCIPAL and GREAT STUDENTS! I challenge you to come to our school for yourself. You will find a high school that you wished you had went to when you were in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Southeast Raleigh is probably the worst school to go to for high school. We have no structure, it's total chaos and it's a disgrace to even claim that I go here. I'm a sophomore. And freshman year I wanted to transfer immediately but I wanted to give it a chance. I did not learn anything as I never do because the teachers can't even control us. They are weak and can't teach, it's amazing how they got hired. I am definitely transferring now.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2013

My son is a junior this year, and we are mostly pleased with SRHS. The pros are the school's diversity; the kids there are really nice and helpful to one another, as well as their parents; the cool selection of classes, such as Engineering Academy (Aerospace has a flight simulator!), Forensics, Digital Arts, Web Design, CISCO Certification, etc. Because they are a magnet school, they get more money for this cool stuff, but they have to have the numbers to justify it. Now, the cons. Teachers are under a lot of pressure to 'make the grade' from the administrators that they offer multiple test re-takes, group tests, grade curves, bonus questions, the opportunity to earn grade inflation by participating in extra learning activities during their version of homeroom, etc. It's all about posturing. The website's course descriptions are way outdated. For example, they haven't offered Latin for at least six years, but four levels are listed. The principal is new this year - too early to tell. One other pro is if your child is bright, he/she will more likely be noticed by colleges at this school; whereas, he/she might not shine all that bright amongst so many other stars at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2012

My son is a senior now and for us, SER has been a positive experience. 98% of his teachers have been wonderful and helpful. The administration is helpful - though it can takes some extra effort to reach them. The counselors we have worked with are awesome and knowledgeable. The electives are what really make this school stand out. The band and the engineering programs are model initiatives. I can not say enough good things about the band director! We have no regrets! Kudos to the new principal for making safety and appearance a priority. It was sad to see some teachers go - but overall, I think the change has been good for the school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

As a teacher at SRHS, I have been very disappointed in the school this year. A new principal and a lot of changes have made a negitive impact not only on the teachers and students, but on the community. Teachers are no longer looked to for their educational expertise, but rather robots to execute the admins plans. Students are harrassed and even arrested for small infractions but bullying is totally ignored. I have worked under 3 different principals at this school and this is by far the worse shape I have ever seen our school in. To sum it up, my children will not come to work with me. It's sad when you wont allow your own child to attend the school where you provide instruction.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 3, 2011

I have never seen so many students with different interests and backgrounds feel so comfortable at a school. My son is in his second year here. He has made great friends and is involved in his classes. Teachers encourage students to take challenging classes, but are always available for assistance. My son is generally the quiet type, but knows many of the teachers and staff. He enjoys participating in sports, art class, and the computer arts classes. There are community service organizations, language clubs, sports, art and poetry clubs, robotics club, the list goes on and on. My middle schooler is eagerly awaiting to apply here. The new principal has been a great asset I have always been able to contact teachers and staff to discuss anything. I highly recommend that people consider this choice for their child. It has all of the traditional plus the extra offerings of a magnet school. One of my neighbor's told me about the school. Her daughter is now attending and her older son graduated from there. Several students receive athletic and academic to prestigious universities. There is so much positive that goes on at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

If your child lacks motivation like mine did and can't really find their niche, this is the school for them!!! They focus on technology. Their Arts program is pretty decent , athletics is ok and their special needs teachers seem to work double time!!! I would highly recommend them!!! It seems like they have gotten a bad rap lately for whatever reason but I have 3 kids at 2 different high schools..... I think I can safely say, SRHS works hard to meet the needs of all kids, not just the best and brightest like some other Wake County Schools!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

Southeast is a very wonderful school. They don't get as much reconition as they deserve. Go bulldogs !
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2008

My experience with Southeast Raleigh High School was a very negative one. To get anything done, I had to show up at the school as my emails & voicemails went unanswered. There are several wonderful teachers at the school, however, I was unable to conctact them in a timely manner to get answers to my questions. Several of these problems arose when budget cuts happened & some staff was eliminated.


Posted January 30, 2008

I totally concur with the post from November 16, 2007! My child has excelled academically at Southeast and has made some great friends. Her teachers have been excellent and involved! Communication from the teachers has been great, if I send an e-mail, I get an answer in a timely matter. I personally feel very safe at SE (I spend a great deal of time there volunteering) and have no qualms about my child being at Southeast Raleigh High School or being in SE Raleigh!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

Southeast Raleigh Magnet High is a hidden gem. The teachers, staf, administration and counselors are very helpful and professional. Students graduate and attend highly selective schools like MIT, Harvard, Yale, Duke, UNC-CH and many other schools. Most of the bad press comes from issues that do not occur at school. The school's location is safe but receives undue stigma based mostly on prejudice and uninformed opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

Southeast Raleigh High School isn't much what you think. Don't get me wrong the school is very good, teachers are always trying to help an induvidual with academics, or to excell. But the area that Southeast is located in, isn't quite the site to see. There are fights everyday of the week. Students fussing at one another, or a teachers. Teachers and Adminastration at Southeast Raleigh HS cannot handle the students. They are lacking more, and everything just seems to go down from here. We need a change at Southeast, to control all this.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

This 'technology magnet' has technology but the teachers in place are neither capable or willing to instruct students properly. With that said, the core class teachers are also of generally poor quality with few exceptions. Your child may be drawn to this school because of the technology aspect, but in reality they'd be better off at their base school, regardless of what that may be.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 5, 2006

My oldest child graduates in 2006, another in 2009. SRHS has fantastic enrichment activities, arts, music, and science programs. Ability to accellerate studies here that you can't get in base schools. Career focused learning centers, especially Medical, are outstanding. Graduation project requirement is fantastic experience for students. Most faculty are excellent. But some top-rated teachers have left, turnover is starting to be a problem. Prior principal made communications with parents a top priority, using internet technology to provide lots of information. New principal refuses to use technology, only sends out prerecorded phone message which parents may never hear. I don't know what is going on anymore! There have been errors in school management. I am concerned about leadership and disorganization. But this is still overall a great school due to the dedicated teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

Southeast Raleigh magnet high school is the best high school in the area. the teachers are of superior quality doing everything they can to help students succeed in their interests. they also communicate through technology and stress the importance of doing so to their students. they have lots of great electives, and this school is especially good for people interested in science/medical fields. however the new principal is not at all good, she has no sense of disipline whatsoever. mr. modest was much better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2005

Good school academically. But as far as environment? Really bad. Fights like every day, administration has lost control. Freshmen come here and try to act like thugs. The school is going down hill. People are too wild and it's really crowded.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

5 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

5 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

5 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
<5%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

339 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Femalen/a
Male60%
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities60%
Proficient in English60%

Reading

All Students20%
Femalen/a
Male20%
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities20%
Proficient in English20%

Science

All Students<5%
Femalen/a
Male<5%
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities<5%
Proficient in English<5%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
71%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

214 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

511 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

397 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

493 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

433 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

187 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

347 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students7%
Female6%
Male7%
Black-5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic12%
Multiracial8%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantaged-5%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students8%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English6%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant7%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students29%
Female28%
Male31%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracial44%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities17%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Academically gifted74%

English II

All Students43%
Female50%
Male34%
Black37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial67%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities12%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically gifted86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 74% 26%
Hispanic 10% 14%
White 9% 52%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr David Schwenker
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (919) 856-2827

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2600 Rock Quarry Road
Raleigh, NC 27610
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 856-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT