Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Partnership Elementary

Public | K-5 | 313 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

Partnership is an unusual school in that it is so personal. The teachers and staff know all the children and parents are encouraged to participate making for a true partnership. The school may be lacking in some of the traditional classroom characteristics/building but the teachers make it work. My kids love coming to school and it feels like home. It has been a great experience so far after 4 years, 2 children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

My child attended Partnership from Kindergarten through Fifth grade. The biggest shock to us was how unprepared my child was for Middle School. We have spent a fortune on tutoring just to reach grade level in math and reading so they my child is not too far behind. I do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

Partnership is a gem of a school! If your child(ren) went there, you would know! I find it interesting that my colleague, who is national educator for STEM , was absolutely captivated by this school. She is actually going to use many of the ideas within the school to help failing charter school in her home state. The teachers care, the students are connected and the admins know all of the kids! It is safe, quaint, and there is super parent involvement! Come by and see for yourself. You are going to wish you went to a school like this when you were a child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2012

Walking into Partnership was a surprise. The place looks like a landfill or a scene from some post-apocalyptic movie. Recyclable materials seem to be spilling out nto the halls, due to some fuudraising endeavor. I will say that the staff spends a great deal of time teaching the three R's. Mind you that they are REDUCE, REUSE and RECYCLE, not READING, WRITING and ARITHMETIC. Oh well, I guess the world does need janitors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

Wow, I am sooo happy I did not listen to the reviews on this site. I did indeed come on the site prior to the school year and had grave reservations about sending my child there. I even agreed with a few of the posted comments as well after my first visit. BUT I took my child up there and it was over. My child has the BEST 5th grade team ever! They challenge my child and know him very well. He is engaged and loved having a locker. The parents are invited to the school anytime and it is in general, a happy place for all. Is any school perfect? No, but Partnership was the perfect choice for my child and if I had to do it all over again, all of my kids would have attended this school - no reservations! Come and see for yourself. The teachers are the best ever!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

Partnership starts out great in the lower grades. All of that ends once you reach 3rd grade, then quality and competency of the staff/faculty drop greatly. Our children are constantly ignored so the teachers can focus on individuals with behavior problems and/or low performance. If your child can meet the miminum standard at grade level, then do not expect them to go beyond that while at Partnership because flying below the radar is acceptable. The senior partners are all but useless and worry more about fundraising than actually educating the children in their care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

I think Partnership USED to be a great school; however, I do believe since the school leadership changed, so have the standards. My daughter who is several grade levels above her peers was constantly looked over so the teachers could focus on the low performing students and behavior problems. If you have a child with behavior problems, this would be a great school for you. If you would like your child to thrive academically, I wouldn't recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

I attended first through fifth grade at Partnership and was one of the first students when the school opened. Teachers catered to every need of students that lagged behind the rest of the class and neglected academically gifted students. The school won awards for raising the test scores of academically challenged students while average or above average students were ignored. A close friend of mine could not even read in the fifth grade. The school was underpopulated and having trouble attracting new students so they clung to their current students and prevented them from leaving the school. The only good thing that came from attending Partnership was the ability to choose almost any middle school I wanted since Partnership didn't feed into any specific middle school. It's been eight years since I've been there and the school may have changed dramatically in that time period. Elementary school is supposed to make your kids love learning but I have only bad memories. I know I won't be sending my future children here.


Posted April 4, 2011

One of my children attended this school throughout her elementary school career; we were set to follow that same path with our other children. We appreciated the small size of the school and the academic calendar (modified schedule). My eldest child had a great first and fifth grade experience, and mediocre staff in between. A change in school leadership (principal and asst principal), however, sent this school down a bad road. Despite a great group of children from throughout the district and some strong faculty members, very inadequate leadership meant many children, parents and many faculty members were unsupported. A couple years back, more than 1/2 of the teaching staff were looking elsewhere in the system for new positions. Children -- of all backgrounds -- are met with low behavioral and academic expectations. Because of the inability of a teacher to manage her classroom and for leadership to set school-wide behavioral expectations, I felt, at times, my younger daughter (who enrolled for K) was physically unsafe within the classroom and on the playground. School leadership inaction did little to change this perception. This school of choice is a bad choice for now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

This school works very hard to make sure to meet the individual needs of each and every student. We put the kids needs first all the time. This is a unique school, with an especially loving and dedicated staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2009

My wife and I have backgrounds in education and jumped on the opportunity to apply to PE. Granted, the school is 100 years old and space is limited but the partnership forged between parent, child and teacher makes up for it. One more thought...don't read too much into the EOG statistics. Partnership doesn't try to teach the EOG test... they teach reasoning skills which assists the pupil for a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

Partnership is a wonderful, close-knit school community; something that seems to be missing in many schools in this county of constant student re-assignment. My son is in his second year at Partnership and we are thankful every day that we made this decision. It is true that it is small and noisy, but the excellent teachers are able to lead the students into many self-directed and peer teaching activities. I feel that this type of learning at the elementary level is crucial in this time of advanced technology. These students will be prepared to be independent thinkers in society. We love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

Partnership is a great school for all the reasons mentioned below. However, it's also very small, and very noisy, and there are no dedicated classrooms for art, science, music, or any other specials. As a parent considering Parntership, you have to decide whether or not you are willing to trade the noise, chaos, and small classrooms, for a bigger school with lots of 'specials' and extracurricular activities. You also need to consider whether your child is a self-directed learner who works well in noisy, slightly-understaffed conditions. Also bear in mind that although the calss sizes are small--and this is a bonus--there is only one teacher/class and no assistant, so kids are relied upon to work well on their own. Parntership is a very caring school and very close-knit, but it's not for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2008

My second child is currently at Partnership, my son previously attended is now in Middle School. One of the previous posts from 2006 mentions that there is no base. There is a base, though it is a small one. The school is based in a historical neighborhood which does not allow trailers on campus; therefore the number of students is limited. The community of parents is very tight, teachers truly care about their students, they foster an environment that chilren feel safe to step outside of their safety zones to attempt new things. My daughter has bloomed, Partnership has made a huge difference in our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

I am truly thankful for such a wonderful and family oriented school. I know that my son is learning by the he carries himself and the many things he brings home to share. I wouldn't trade this school for anything in this world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2006

My family has been at Partnership since it opened. Three children have been educated here, including one now headed to high school. It's a true school community; a wonderful, collaborative environment where parents play an integral part. Parents are required to volunteer. Partnership's the only public school in Wake County that's completely a school of choice. There is no 'base' or assigned population. Everyone has applied to get in and wants to be here. The teachers are a very dedicated; many National Board certified. They want to be teachers. They invest a lot of their own time and resources to make learning an interactive, thoughtful and engaging process. They help struggling children succeed & challenge gifted ones. Our principals, called 'senior partners,' are very hands-on and accessible. The PTA is very active. Cultural arts brings traveling theatre groups, musicians. Field trips are outstanding: including one soon to the 'Nutcracker' ballet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2004

My child has been at Partnership for 2 years. We love it. The staff is very good and the parent involvment is great! We have a strong PTA. I feel that this school is like a private school with out the cost! Wake co. needs more schools like this. The mod. schedule is great to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students55%
Female50%
Male61%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students58%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students61%
Female61%
Male61%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students30%
Female17%
Male41%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female42%
Male55%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students31%
Female30%
Male31%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students42%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Academically gifted82%

Reading

All Students46%
Female55%
Male41%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities19%
Non-disabled students58%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Academically gifted91%

Science

All Students54%
Female60%
Male50%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities31%
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 52%
Black 31% 26%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Devereux Street
Raleigh, NC 27605
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 856-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wiley Elementary
Raleigh, NC



Exploris
Raleigh, NC



Cathedral School
Raleigh, NC


Oak City Academy
Raleigh, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT