Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wake Christian Academy 1

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
This school cares more about what the girls wear than the education they are receiving. If a girl's pants aren't pleasing to the vice principal they are immediately sent home even if this means missing a test or quiz. The amount of stress they put on the students to meet their standards is ridiculous and uncalled for. This school used to not be this strict and was more understanding of how hard it is to buy clothes that meet their standards. I am extremely disappointed in how this school is being run with the new leadership in place.

Wake Christian Academy 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a community member
As an alumna from WCA, a 13 year one at that, I can easily attest to the Biblical morals to which the institution adheres. My 5 star rating does not say that the school is perfect, but that I gained valuable lessons concerning my faith, ethics, morals, and character that I believe I would not have gained elsewhere. However, I cannot promise that sending your child here will turn them into a Bible-thumping Christian, it will only attempt to instill values that are mimicked in the home. I am so thankful for the relationships with friends, families, and teachers that I made at this school which have lasted to this day.


Wake Christian Academy 5

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
We have 2 kids in elementary school at Wake Christian. We are more than pleased about our experiences with this school! Our youngest struggled in 1st grade. The alert, well-qualified teacher recognized the signs of Dyslexia, and it was confirmed with outside testing. Obviously we were concerned about how the needs would be met in 2nd grade. The love, compassion, and attention to meet the extra needs, reconfirmed our decision to send our kids to WCA. The self esteem of this child has increased dramatic as a direct result of the interaction with the 2nd grade teacher. Since we began at WCA, we have always felt welcome and included in all activities. Every year I continue to see the school thrive and move forward. Beginning this year, the summer activities/camps have increased to meet the needs of working parents. For us, it is a financial struggle to send our kids to WCA, but it is WORTH IT!

Wake Christian Academy 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
We have a second grader at WCA and we have been very happy at the school. Are the buildings brand new? No, but what this school may lack in aesthetic appeal is made up for in quality of learning environment and education. Our second grader is challenged to stretch each week. The class is moving at a remarkable pace and bringing him along with them. I like that I can send our son to school and know that he is learning about the world around him AND things of the Lord. When needed, both teachers and administration have had an open door policy with us for meetings and/or conferences. WCA has a great formula when it comes to a loving family atmosphere. They are not RIGID, but they do have high expectations of the kids that are reinforced through a variety of discipline systems. Parents are welcomed most any time and there are lots of volunteer opportunities if you like to get involved in your child's class. We considered 2 other private schools, and I can say that we haven't regretted the choice we made. WCA is made up of great people who really do put their hearts into the children.

Wake Christian Academy 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
We are completely happy with our WCA experience over the past 3 years (K - 2nd). Our sons are more than well cared for and well educated. The environment is completely loving and safe. WCA has been the best decision we could have made for our family.


Wake Christian Academy 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Our family is not very wealthy. We make sacrifices to send our children to a private school. However, we feel that it is most definitely worth it! We cannot say enough wonderful things about Wake Christian Academy. We have a son currently in the second grade. He has been attending Wake Christian since kindergarten. We have loved all his teachers! Our son comes home with class projects like tomahawks, pueblos, snowflakes, bean plants, etc. that he has made in class. He talks about the exercises they do and games they play in the classroom when it rains and they can t go out for recess. They went on a pond study fieldtrip, performed a second grade Christmas play, and had a bowling trip. I walked my son in one morning and saw his teacher praying at her desk for her students as they came in. No school is perfect, but I can promise one thing. The teachers and staff here at Wake Christian truly love the Lord, and they truly love these children. The elementary principal and staff are excellent! They are always upbeat and positive, and they take the time and effort to get to know each child and family. We love our school!!

Wake Christian Academy 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience with WCA since moving to Raleigh. My son's teacher has been great about communicating with us throughout the year on his progress. She has really helped him with his confidence both in and out of the classroom. The school offers a wide range of programs for students to learn outside of the classroom through various clubs. The school has a competitive athletic program also, which is important to us. WCA is a very positive and encouraging school with a Christ-driven philosophy. You can tell the staff and teachers at every level truly care about the students and parents. There is a strong parent-teacher-student connection at the school. Now, by no means are the kids that attend WCA "perfect", including mine. There are still your normal everyday "kid problems" with behavior and such, but the school does a fantastic job at working with the kids to guide them and develop them through the rough patches. WCA is truly a Godly school and we couldn't be more pleased with our experience at WCA and look forward to many, many more years!

Wake Christian Academy 4

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
We have 2 children in elementary school and we are very happy with the support and care given to them. This is our first year at WC and so far so good. Our kids are learning at WC and at times the homework assignments can be long; but parents who place their children at WC are committed to a Christ-centered education. WE also understand that WE are part of the success of our children's academic career and that takes our time and effort. There are pros and cons, but we knew that we wanted our kids here after the tour. The staff was fantastic at answering our questions and concerns. The open door policy relieved our anxiety. It's not just lip service, we have found that the school REALLY does have an open door policy. Parents are encouraged to participate and get involved with the school. Unlike our experience in public school where parents have no rights, WC has continued to commit itself to the building up of each family. Is WC perfect?......of course not. Are the people who work in the building perfect?....no. But when you walk through the halls and kids are working hard and STILL SMILING, you feel you're witnessing something special. We're glad we're here.


Wake Christian Academy 1

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
Kindergarten and First Grade were fantastic years; however, Second grade needs an overhaul considering their teacher quality. Concerns have been floating around about teachers who "bully" their students and our family believes it's happening in Second Grade. Our child's teacher really concerns us. One student in her class describes her as MOODY. He doesn't trust her. Our child stays in a state of fear. We tried to talk to the teacher and Principal; however, neither see anything wrong with the culture of the classroom as the response is WE WANT TO GROW YOUR CHILD UP. WE want our child to feel loved, safe and excited about learning (not bullied by the teacher). Our child's love for learning has faded this year. This teacher may be a more appropriate teacher in Middle School. One more thing, YOU can't change the terrible problem of the curriculum fed teacher in Second Grade. Be warned, there are very little opportunities for hands on learning in 2nd. It's all worksheet based. We wanted another year like K and 1st-great teachers who have JOY and who TEACH, not TELL. Second grade earns an F; which makes this once supportive family of WC very, very sad. Our future is unclear at WC.

Wake Christian Academy 1

Posted December 03, 2013
- a community member
It's AWFUL. SAVE YOUR MONEY IM BEGGING YOU! Everyone is cliquey, judgemental, or just rude. School is old. Chapel worship is very bland.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wake Christian Academy
5500 Wake Academy Drive, Raleigh, NC  27603
Last modified Wake Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Wake Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews.