Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
628 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. David's School 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a teacher
As a St. David's School "lifer," I can think of no single entity to which I owe more of the good things in my life. I started attended St. David's in Kindergarten, where I met three friends who will be in my wedding this summer. I graduated from St. David's in 2008, equipped to excel in college and life. Aside from intangibles, like atmosphere, attitudes, and culture, St. David's offers an unparalleled education that focuses more on process than product, more on understanding than regurgitation, and more on thinking, speaking, and writing than on fill in the blank. Beyond the education, the friends I made are still my closest friends, successful and well-adjusted adults who are contractors, doctors-in-training, occupational therapists, consultants, etc. The teachers whom I learned from in high school were highly educated, passionate, and excellent. They spent countless hours of their free time helping my with college essays, writing recommendations, and simply talking with me about my goals. I went on to Georgetown University and then earned my Master's degree from NC State. As a teacher now, I cannot say enough good things about the supportive community here. The students are driven, the faculty is dedicated, the administration is wise. My colleagues are all incredibly intelligent, kind, and supportive. I’ve seen teachers come hours early and leave hours late, just to help a single student understand a single idea. Faculty are encouraged to push students to think deeply and not merely understand on a superficial level. From a student’s perspective, and a teacher’s, St. David’s is an excellent institution that has so much to offer.

St. David's School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 25, 2016
- a teacher
I am so grateful to the library staff. While I was teaching advanced courses, they made it easy for me to do additional research and spent tremendous time with my students to teach them advanced research and database skills. They ordered additional databases that are generally only used by college and graduate students, such as JSTOR, because I felt that my students would benefit. Beyond that, they spent additional time walking my students through using these resources. The library staff goes above and beyond for our students and I am so, so grateful!


St. David's School 5

Posted February 25, 2016
- a teacher
The community here is a teacher's dream. From encouraging, supportive parents who are committed to fulfilling the mission of St. David's and who really partner with teachers to ensure their students' success to an incredible array of talent in the student body, I could not have asked for a better environment. I taught students who pride themselves on being polite and respectful, who work extremely hard, and for whom the honor code is a way of life, not just a sign on the door. I loved my time at St. David's.

St. David's School 5

Posted February 24, 2016
- a student
This is my 8th year at St. David's and it is difficult to find something I don't like about this school. From teachers who will sacrifice their own interest and desires for students to fully understand the material to being able to worship Christ freely, this has been a life changing experience. It has been a privilege to attend St. David's with all the resources it has to offer. I will definitely miss my time here, as it has provided me the opportunities to excel in my faith, virtue, and knowledge.

St. David's School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
The school has more PhDs than you'd imagine possible in a high school or middle school, but more importantly, they are incredible mentors for our children. They know them by name, care about them, and have prepared them incredibly well for college.


St. David's School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
It's actually quite incredible -- consider the fact that kids leave their iPads, phones, etc. all over the Commons, and nothing ever gets stolen -- not to mention that there are no locks on the lockers. Besides that, the genuine example from the faculty is so powerful. Yes, they certainly do develop honesty and integrity!

St. David's School 5

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
We have two alums and a rising 9th grader, and we are so grateful to have come to St. David's when we did. There is no way to express how thankful we are for the incredible teachers who have had such a monumental impact on our kids. Our two who are in college not only enrolled in honors programs and received significant scholarships, but they have become critical thinkers who own their own faith. Our minority daughter does not fit the mold of the so-called prep school kid (which some worry about at schools like St. David's), but she has found deep friendships as well as meaningful mentorship from the teachers. It costs a lot to send three kids to St. David's, but it was worth every penny.

St. David's School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
I said it in my review that finding a good teacher here is like finding a diamond in the rough. When you get one they are amazing!! But when you get the new, just out of college, (doesn't even have a teaching degree) teacher that, honestly really doesn't care, It's beyond frustrating. You'd think that at a school with such high tuition that you'd actually get 1/2 way decent teachers. Our other daughter was at Ravenscroft & at least they kept their teachers better.


St. David's School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
I'm the odd parent out in that I don't want my daughter to come home and not have a life. The amount of homework this school places on these kids to try & make the school "look better" with higher test scores & better college acceptances, is the reason that depression is so prevalent in this generation of kids. We are asking our kids to go work for 8 hours take a 3 hour break to do sports and have dinner then work another 6/8 hours. NO. We don't demand grown adults working full-time jobs to work 14/16 hour days. (yes I know some people do but it is their CHOICE or they get time off after long shifts like these.) They tried to change the school schedule to make it so students didn't have as much homework... they failed! Not only do they not have less homework, oh no just the opposite, they have even more than before!

St. David's School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 10, 2015
- a parent
I believe any private school ingrains this because of the demanding exceptions that are placed on these kids. Private schools are do or die. If you don't keep a high enough GPA you are asked "to please not return next year". I don't believe that it is taught I believe that it is ingrained through unmeetable expectations.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. David's School
3400 White Oak Road, Raleigh, NC  27609
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (919) 782-3331
Last modified St. David's School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top