Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Timothy's School 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a community member
Our son transferred to St.Timothy's in 6th grade from a public magnet school in Raleigh. We wanted him in a smaller school environment and had always heard great things about St. Timothy's. When we heard Headmaster Tim Tinnesz share his vision for students, we were clear it was the right choice for us! Our son's experience has been everything Tim promised! We were worried it would be a challenging transition for our son moving into to a new school where most of the students had been together since Kindergarten. He has never done better! It is an incredibly warm and nurturing environment, while also being very rigorous academically! The teachers push the students to excel in the way that works best for them. They are incredibly accessible whenever we need them. There are plenty of opportunities for extra curricular in addition to academics and a good choice of electives. Our son had debate as an elective and ran cross-country in his first year. We are very thankful we're fortunate to attend such an amazing school!

St. Timothy's School 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience at St. Timothy's School. The teachers are outstanding, and really get to know your child - their strengths and weaknesses - and adapt to support them where needed. They have a great after school care program, with top-notch counselors who really care for each child. Overall, the school has a great community feel, and the families are very welcoming. Our daughter loves going to STS!


St. Timothy's School 5

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
St. Timothy's School has been a wonderful place for our lower and middle school children. The lower school experience has given them the foundation to be able to soar in middle school. Caring and devoted teachers have helped to shape our kids to be confident and eager lifelong learners. We are very thankful for St. Timothy's and the impact it is making on our lives!

St. Timothy's School 5

Posted March 08, 2012
- a parent
We have two children at St. Timothy's. We are very pleased. The teachers take the time to get to know each child's learning style. The class sizes are small and the teachers are top notch. We couldn't be more pleased with our experience.

St. Timothy's School 2

Posted March 05, 2012
- a parent
We had a very poor experience at St. Timothy's. They cater to the big donors - paying tuition is not enough. They have no support for children with disabilities. Our son was diagnosed with a learning disability and it was suggested we leave the school. Until it was time to pay the tuition for next year. Wake county has fabulous public schools with a lot more resources for kids that need a little extra help. OUr teachers were all fabulous but the administration was very elitist and uncaring...unless you had your wallet in hand.


St. Timothy's School 3

Posted February 15, 2012
- a parent
I have a 2 students in the school. The lower school is very good and the upper school is very average. There is a slant to the affluent parents and students that is not pervasive but it is there. I have a son who has been bullied a great deal since he started in middle school and it has not relented. I have documented many incidents and met with the adminsitration and nothing is done. The adminstration now have the teachers complaining about him because this year I have been very vocal with my complaints. This is probably my fault. He had no teacher complaints coming into the school year. A new headmaster is coming in the fall of 2012 school year. His old school has some interesting complaints. Bullying is a problem and favortism for the rich.
2 people found this helpful

St. Timothy's School 5

Posted October 28, 2008
- a parent
St Timothy's School is excellent! Academically challenging, socially engaging, spiritually uplifting. We have had the pleasure of sending our 2 children to STS and could not be more pleased. Our daughter was in the top of her class at STS and is now in the top of her class at St Mary's School in Raleigh. She was well-prepared for an equally challenging high school curriculum when it was time for her to graduate from middle school. Our son is nearing the end of his time at STS and we only hope to be able to find the same type of quality education for him when he enters high school. We are blessed to be a part of the St Timothys family. Look no further for your child - this is it!

St. Timothy's School 5

Posted January 18, 2008
- a parent
My son is in his third year at St. Timothy's (he started in kindergarten) and I couldn't be more pleased. The quality of the teachers is excellent, teacher/parent communication is high, and the curriculum challenges the students. Most importantly, my child loves the school and is thriving in an atmosphere of genuine warmth, caring and concern. I looked at quite a few private schools, and am so grateful I went with my instincts and chose St. Timothys.


St. Timothy's School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
St. Timothy's has been even better than we hoped. The curriculum is excellent, the teacher/student ratio allows each child a great deal of attention and the staff's wonderful attitude makes them a joy to interact with each day.

St. Timothy's School 5

Posted December 18, 2006
- a student
St. Timothy School of Raleigh North Carolina is a very god experience for kids. I has p.e. art, band, Spanish, Latin and even Journalism. The Quality of academic programs is very good, kids are required to learn the Latin language in sixth, seventh and eight grades, which helps improve there english. At St. Timothy School The involvement of parents is very high. Parents always helpout at school fundraisers and even the carnivals!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Timothy's School
4523 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC  27609
Last modified St. Timothy's School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
St. Timothy's School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top