Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Raleigh School 1

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
Our child had the worst experience in the 2's class. The teacher is a total nut and has extreme mood swings. Give our child a chance to grow and learn and stop the negativity. I have heard this consistently happens w this certain teacher. Too bad TRS, I hear you have great potential - but this teacher is the worst. The preschool is not working w us in any way to help our child and the problems w the teacher. Always an excuse so they can keep your money.

The Raleigh School 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
Our child loves The Raleigh School. She has had nothing but wonderful teachers in a stimulating environment. She truly loves to learn and cannot wait to come back to school each year. She is challenged at her level and is paired with classmates for group project work that will help challenge her. She is never bored and always excited about school. Some days, we have to drag her out of the after school care program because she's not ready to leave. She also enjoys the summer camp program as it is another way to be with her friends at TRS. She is in a caring and supportive environment and it is a great place for her to start her journey as a lifelong learner.


The Raleigh School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
The Raleigh School has become such a special part of our family's life over the past few years. I have been overwhelmed by the thoughtfulness and creativity that the teachers have displayed, both in regard to both my and our child's learning experience. The teachers have a flexible attitude when it comes to approaching each child and their learning styles/personalities differently. This is where the value of skilled teachers really comes into play, as I ve seen many instances where the they have bent over backwards to take advantage of a learning opportunity that came up in class when a student asked a question or showed interest in something other than what they were doing. The admin team has always been available, and has talked with us at length about how to deal with the pitfalls of early childhood education. They have been knowledgeable and kind, offering direction that has worked at school and home. In addition to all of this, they seem to always be looking for ways to improve. They have done wonderful work on the physical grounds to make the space more creative and developmentally appropriate. I look forward to continuing our children s educations through 5th grade.

The Raleigh School 5

Posted June 16, 2014
- a parent
The Raleigh School has become such a special part of our family's life over the past few years. I have been overwhelmed by the thoughtfulness and creativity that the teachers have displayed, both in regard to both my and our child's learning experience. The teachers have a flexible attitude when it comes to approaching each child and their learning styles/personalities differently. This is where the value of skilled teachers really comes into play, as I ve seen many instances where the they have bent over backwards to take advantage of a learning opportunity that came up in class when a student asked a question or showed interest in something other than what they were doing. The admin team has always been available, and has talked with us at length about how to deal with the pitfalls of early childhood education. They have been knowledgeable and kind, offering direction that has worked at school and home. In addition to all of this, they seem to always be looking for ways to improve. They have done wonderful work on the physical grounds to make the space more creative and developmentally appropriate. I look forward to continuing our children s educations through 5th grade.

The Raleigh School 5

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
The Raleigh School is the finest educational institution I have ever observed. I went to ten schools growing up and I have lectured at four institutions of higher eductaion. TRS's new administration has taken the school to an even higher level. The parent, teacher, student community is strong. If your child has a learning disability or has behavioral issues, TRS might not the right place for you. It is a small school without the resources for some issues that larger schools and school systems have. The teachers are experienced, excellent and involved. My children (one current and one graduate) loved school and learned so much about learning and life at TRS. If you can make the sacrafices necessary to afford TRS, do not miss this extraordinary opportunity. It is an outstanding family opportunity to interact with people who love learning and teaching. A Raleigh School family is a special family that has sought out the Raleigh School experience.


The Raleigh School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
TRS is a fantastic gem. We have a large family and all of our kids went or are going to TRS. They really do foster a love for learning and they leave there well prepared for wherever they go to middle school. The teachers are great and create a respectful, positive learning environment. We have found the administration to be open and available with logical solutions to the (few) issues that we have had. We are so fortunate to be a part of this community. It is fun to go into the classrooms and see the kids so engaged in what they are doing. There are a lot of field trips and outside learning which we have really enjoyed. One thing they could do a bit better is offer some type of family discount for the siblings. Love this school!

The Raleigh School 5

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
My family had a fantastic experience at The Raleigh School. Our youngest child graduated this year and after being at the school for over a decade we are going to miss the supportive and innovative environment. I can't say enough about the dedicated teachers.

The Raleigh School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
The Raleigh School offers a wonderful, warm, engaging elementary school learning environment. We have had children at the school since 2003 and could not be more pleased with the quality of their education. The Raleigh School is so much more than just a school, it truly is a community. Our oldest child is now in middle school and has been extremely well prepared by the solid background, both academically as well as socially, that he received from his years at The Raleigh School. As far as the "teacher turnover" that the previous reviewer mentioned, this has nothing to do with the financial stability of the school....This year two teachers happen to be retiring after lifelong careers at the school, other than that the school has very little teacher turnover ever. This school is truly excellent in every way.


The Raleigh School 2

Posted April 29, 2013
- a parent
This school depends intensely on parent participation -- which is generally a good thing -- however in this case it is due to a lack of funding for basics like landscaping, IT, accounting, and legal services. Parents are more involved as "workers" rather than in value added activities involving their children. The education is good, but not exceptional -- there is teacher turnover and again this seems related to financial stability. The experience is highly variable depending on the teacher involved -- which is indicative of a lack of maturity in the overall curriculum -- although the preschool has been around for many years, the elementary school is a relatively young endeavor. There is also what appears to be a lack of innovation in curriculum -- for example, language choice is limited to Spanish. The administration does not appear actively engaged in this type of thinking. The school is secular, which can be a positive for many. Overall, our general feel is that there are better private and public school experiences in the Triangle area and we are actively seeking to move our children once we are done evaluating options.

The Raleigh School 5

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
Our family had a wonderful experience during our 12 years at The Raleigh School. Both our children attended the preschool for 3 years and then the elementary school for 6 more. Upon graduation we chose to enroll in a public middle school and the transition was smooth. We love the parental involvement of the school and the administration and teachers have always been supportive. We highly recommend that you consider The Raleigh School for your children. We are thankful to have been part of the school community for so many years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Raleigh School
1141 Raleigh School Drive, Raleigh, NC  27607
(919) 546-0788
Last modified The Raleigh School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
The Raleigh School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews.