Advertisement

Montessori School of Raleigh

Private | PK-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Raleigh

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $213,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 15 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2008

We have three children at MSR and are absolutely delighted. The highly individualized education means that each child can work up to his or her potential, enthusiastically pursuing subjects of interest without limit. At the same time, there is a great deal of nurturing and support in areas in which a child struggles, whether it be an academic or social area. My children love the afterschool offerings (chess, piano, arts, sports) as well as music, art, PE, technology, and Spanish during the school day. Montessori is an excellent school for gifted children, as well as typically-developing children. No one is hurried, but each child is encouraged to work up to his or her potential. The teachers are a committed group of professionals with very low turnover (average tenure well over 8 years) and overall are wonderful educators and role models. I could not be happier with MSR.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

My wife and I have been on the Board of a Montessori school, and have attended Montessori conferences and spoken with Montessori consultants and teachers from all over the country. My wife also studied Montessori education. With that background we began our search for a Montessori school all throughout NC. We knew the questions to ask, and the things to look for in a good Montessori school. We finally settled on MSR for the following reasons: -It has a strong Montessori philosophy. -the teachers are well qualified -well equiped classrooms -the Board knows it's role, and appears to be doing a good job. - a strong Head who listens to parents and teachers, and acts when needed as well as bringing a balance between Montessori and preparing our children for the high schools in the area. Not an easy thing to do. -Is it Perfect? No, we are all human. It is not for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

We have been parents at this school for ten years. I am so sad to say this is our last year. This school is being run by a overpowerful admin team that in my opponion has worked to overwhelm a kind hearted Hof S. Someone needs to listen to the common folk,stop the spending and force our Head to make some changes I always swore that I was with MSR til the end and I am done
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

MSR has been an wondeful part of are family for over 10 years.This type of environment is not for everyone, but the staff takes great strides to try and educate each individual child at their level. I love that the Montessori approach has three grades in an environment. I had one child who was always at the top of their grade and excelled in the leadership role. The other child needed the challenge of the older students to pull him up. The current Head of School has gone out of her way to make the transtion for my children a postive experience. She has helped us with both academic and social concerns. She has always had an open door policy with parents and staff. What more do you need to ask from a Head of School ?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

My kids are now in their fourth year, and I can honestly say that I've learned almost as much as they have. This school has taught me about how children develop and learn. It has given me good new ideas about how to raise my kids. We have had our differences with the teachers, but those relationships have improved over time. I know that the teachers are watching and constantly thinking about my kids, along with the other kids in their care. We have received very direct help from the Head of School, even though we're not some of the high-dollar parents. The after-school care works with the classroom teachers. The kids get a large amount of time outside on a beautiful campus. The board is active, and is looking forward. It is developing plans for improvements to the school. I, for one, have been happy with our time here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

Our family absolutely loves this school! The teachers are the gold standard of Montessori educators in the state. Due to a passion for learning that has been cultivated by the Montessori philosophy, our children are thriving in this environment. There is also a real sense of community here. Parents, teachers and administration working together in a quest for excellence. For a first class education, an opportunity for your children to be treated with respect and dignity at all times and a chance to join a strong familial community, take a hard look at this school. It's a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

We have only had our children in the Toddler and Children's House (3-6 year olds) at this school and have found it exemplary. For anyone familiar with the Montessori learning philosophy, this school is the tops. It is such a wonderful and individual way to learn...I can undrestand how some children might not mesh well with this method of learning but it is not because this school does not provide the best Montessori environment. Most children thrive in this educational setting. Its very expensive but what better way to spend your money than on the education of your children?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

The February 1 parent sounds defensive. Maybe they are a staff member at the school and not very objective. The kids here are supossed to be self- directed but it's more like self- taught. The fact that the school doesn't give grades or report cards make it tough to know how you student is doing in school. The parent/teacher conferences that take place two times a year don't give enough information. I asked specific questions but got vague answers. I found the teachers to be condescending and judgmental. Before choosing this school I went to the open houses and asked lots of questions. I was told things that sounded great but proved not to be the case. Of course a school is only going to tell you the good stuff. It's only after you send your kid there that you see what it is really like.


Posted February 1, 2008

It sounds as if January 4th parent is completely unfamiliar with the Montessori system. The philosphy of every Montessori school is based on 3-year groupings and is explained fully at every orientation session. There is a gym with regularly scheduled PE classes and daily outdoor recess. The art and music programs are outstanding and computers are not used in class until the students reach Upper Elementary. There's plenty of time to teach kids to be desk-bound drones without starting them in pre-K. They do learn to record original music and make movies, though. I consider that 'technology.' Cons: Tuition is very high, although assistance is available. Montessori schools in general are not the right choice for every child. It's up to the parent to do research first and make that determination for him/herself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I am the parent of a student that has attended this school for many years, and each year I become more displeased with the school. This is the last year I will send my child there. This school is very expensive and does not warrent the high tution. The school does not have a gym or lunchroom and they do not offer any type of technology class. Also, there is not an organized art or music program. Combined classrooms, 3 grades in 1 classroom, are unrealistic. There are too many differences emotionally and academically. The teachers claim that they respect the differences in each student but I have not found that to be true. This school wants the children to conform to what the school determines is best for the class, not what is best for the child. Think very carefully before selecting this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

Having had lots of kids and lived in lots of places, I am hard to please and very picky about schools. Have had my two kids in MSR for 5 years now and I cannot say enough about how wonderful this environment is. Nurturing, encouraging of independence, excellent skills, and more. This is my kind of learning -- not regimented and cookie cutter in any way. My children learn how to live here and how to help others do the same. Great outdoor spaces and classrooms, excellent devoted teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

My child has been attending this school since he was a toddler and we have been very pleased. The school has excellent teachers, a wonderful school community, and a beautiful facility. The children's house program is wonderful and our child has thrived here. This school is a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2006

MSR provides a child centered education based upon the principles of Maria Montessori. We have been at the school for 5 years and are thrilled with the high quality of the teachers as well as the philosophy of the school.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 53%
Two or more races 22% N/A
Black 4% 32%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7005 Lead Mine Rd
Raleigh, NC 27615
Phone: (919) 848-1545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Bonner Academy
Raleigh, NC


Bonner Academy
Raleigh, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT