Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dillard Drive Elementary

Public | K-5 | 693 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2012

I love DDES because I attended dillard 1st grade through 5th and I got to know all the teachers. They en they have to be are really nice and strict when they have to be


Posted July 31, 2011

My child attended Dillard Drive Elementary from K-5th grade and I will say that our experience was primarily good. I was concerned when I dropped her off for kindergarten but after her first week and throughout the years that she attended, I was fairly confident that Dillard was a good fit for her. Most of the staff was very friendly and nice and I felt as if I could go to them for anything. I can relate to the parent who made the statement about the front desk person there. With the office staff it was kind of hit or miss. For the most part they were friendly to decent but were at times a bit rude and failed to appropriately greet parents who entered the office which made me feel like I was bothering them b being there. I will say that everyone was nice and friendly to my child and treated her with kindness and friendliness which was most important to me. It will be very different for me dropping my child off at a school other than Dillard this school year but she has already contacted some of her former teachers and made plans to go back and visit them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

As another review stated, front desk person is rude, followed by the principal with a forced smile at all times. I was very happy to remove my child out of that school, where I felt like entering a military base camp; Not "migrant" friendly nor sympathy towards 'minorities'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

I loved having my daughter go to DDES. I volunteered almost daily and had an excellent relationship with the teachers and the rest of the staff. Sadly I had to move and my daughter could no longer go to DDES. I feel like I lost part of my family when we moved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

My son came to this school mid year. I was very unhappy with the way the school functioned. The office was very unorganized and frankly the secretary and principal were very rude, it seemed to inconvenience them that I was registering my son in school there. To make things worse, when my son and I showed up on monday for him to start school the teacher was not even informed she had a new student and was totally un prepared. We have since pulled him out of that school I was not impressed by any means.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Dillard Drive Elementary is a phenomenal school were teachers and students want to come each day. As Dragon Flies soar, so do our students academic achievements.


Posted April 24, 2010

the appreciation of parent involvement from the teachers and staff. everyone works together to make our goals a reality for the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Its a great school with very good teachers my children go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

The encouragement to excell is excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We have the greatest Teachers/Staff - they are very loving and nuturing to the students. They strive to have the students 'Travel the Road to Excellence'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

The teachers and the staff are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Dillard Drive Elementary is a positive place for teachers to work, students to learn, and parents to become involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Dillard Drive has an amazing group of teachers!!! They are truly concerned for the well-being of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I love Dillard Drive Elementary because of my grade level team and all my co-workers! The students and teachers have an excellent rapport and we have wonderful parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2010

I have volunteered there, and a good friend of mine works there. They have a great program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

The teachers and the administrative staff are all incredibly passionate. They reach out to the community to get involved in the school as well. They are open to parents' feedback and their academic performance is in the top 10 in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

We moved to Cary from the west coast and were not sure what to expect from DDES. Although we are from Cary and live further than I'd like, I feel compelled to write a review. From the 1st day of school to the last, this year was fill with commradre. The balloons, school spirit & smiling faces the first day made my kids feel like it was OK to be at a new school after such a drastic move. This can only happen with good leadership. I have to say though, the last day of school with 'Schools Our For Summer' blaring with the loudspeaker topped the cake. My kids love DDES and the staff is tops!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

We're pleased with DDES and are part of a neighborhood (node) who sends their children to the school from Cary. Though I disagree vehemently with some of the ways that Board of Education is managing things, the teachers are extremely dedicated and enjoy their jobs and work well with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

My belief is that this school has lost sight of the person through the politics. My children have been shuffled around within the school due to poor planning. While I have been happy with individual teachers- the general atmosphere is grim- unfriendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

Dillard Drive is an excellent school. My child was there for (K) and from day 1 her teacher Ms. Young(soon to be Mrs. Wright) and the assistant Mrs. Britt were great. You can't go wrong with them. It saddens me that we move and it is not our 'base' school anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female56%
Male62%
Black40%
Asian90%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiency52%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students51%
Female55%
Male47%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students40%
Female47%
Male34%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students39%
Female45%
Male34%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities5%
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female59%
Male61%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities29%
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiency46%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students46%
Female52%
Male39%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities24%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students61%
Female57%
Male65%
Black39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities29%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiency36%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 31% 26%
White 31% 52%
Hispanic 26% 14%
Asian 8% 3%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr James Douglas
Fax number
  • (919) 854-1631

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5018 Dillard Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 233-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT