Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dillard Drive Middle
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Wow in the end of school meeting where my son has went well actually from 18 to 100 teacher that right there and told me that my son come to her and ask her for those extra points and she just gave it to him even though he hadn't done the class work, nor respected her, or respect to the class

Dillard Drive Middle 2

Posted July 18, 2016
- a community member
Teachers seem to play favorites to some students while allowing other things to go on that should not. My son was in trouble a lot this year!.. just over 28 days suspended and in-school suspensions and was still passed against my request!!!! when I called for a conference it ended up taking over a month and a half to come up with dates that work for both of us during that conference they explain that he miraculously went from making an 18 percent in the class to 100 in the class now. you tell me what's wrong with that picture


Dillard Drive Middle 1

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
My son attended DDMS for the 2014/2015 school year. He went from being a child that loved school and had perfect attendance throughout elementary school to a child who said he hated school and absolutely refused to get on the bus. I fought with him daily and he was constantly asking to be homeschooled. He would never tell me why he didn't want to go other than he just didn't like the school. In the last 2 weeks of school he was beat up on the bus and came home extremely angry and upset. When I went to the school the next day to report the problem, the administrators blamed my son for defending himself by trying to push the boy away and tried to give him a stricter punishment than the boy who beat him up. I will be the first person to admit that my son is far from well behaved. However I watched a child go from a happy friendly boy that had a smile for everyone to one that would run away rather than go to school. I believe that he was being bullied the entire year and was too embarrassed to admit it. I removed him from this school for the 2015/2016 school year and took him back to Va to go to school. As soon as he started at his new school in Va, he went back to the happy child he was in elementary school. And he has been on the A/B honor roll all year. He didn't get good grades in DDMS.

Dillard Drive Middle
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
Opinion comes from what parents experienced with those in charge of the DDMS school in raleigh.

Dillard Drive Middle
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
Opinion comes from what we experienced at the top, how the process was handled, etc.


Dillard Drive Middle 1

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
We are parents to special needs at this school. I will give you the facts. There was a number of complaints we filed against the school. I hope that record is somewhere where parents can access it.

Dillard Drive Middle 5

Posted August 25, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter just started 6th grade and we have been so impressed with the faculty and the principal thus far. She has transitioned wonderfully so far and has had GREAT days!

Dillard Drive Middle 1

Posted March 10, 2015
- a parent
I have a child that is an Alum of Dillard Drive MS and we "had" a very positive experience and were excited to send my younger children to DDMS. This positive soon became "negative" once the new principal and vice principal (6th & 7th) came on board. Though the Principal has a standard for teachers to respond to parents w/in 48 hours she does not adhere to this standard. I also recognize classrooms are overcrowded but too many teachers are quick to label students. "Effective communication skills" and "Ethics training" is highly recommended for administration and teachers at DDMS. There are many good teachers at DDMS but this negative experience is casting a shadow over them. I am hopeful we will be able to transfer from DDMS.


Dillard Drive Middle 1

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
My family and I relocated from New Jersey to Cary for my work. I think it is important for people relocating to know of this school. Students have been trying to steal from my daughter multiple times. My daughter tells me she sees children smoke right outside the building and use fowl language constantly. We requested a transfer to Apex but have been denied. My daughter just has this year to finish out then high school. My son will not be going to this school. I would avoid this school if possible.

Dillard Drive Middle 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
The teachers have a genuine care and concern for their students. The academically gifted program teacher wants your child to be challenged to their appropriate level. There are many terrific electives offered here that are not at neighboring schools.

Nearby schools

Dillard Drive Middle
5200 Dillard Dr, Raleigh, NC  27606
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 69 reviews. (919) 233-4228
Last modified Dillard Drive Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top