Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wakefield Elementary

Public | K-5 | 685 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2012

Thankfully we have a new opportunity with a new Principle to turn things around by increase testing acores, changing this to a traditional calendar school and implenment a zero tolerance policy along with uniforms. As a parent with 2 children currently attending WES, I think these changes would increase scores and entice more Wakefield families who have moved their children to private shcools to return to Wakefield Elementary. If we make this more of a "Neighborhood school" as it was origionally intended to be, we will see an increase in participation in the PTA as well as more parent volunteers in the classroom. Wakelfield Elementary employees some of the most amazing teaching staff who will help Wakefield Elementary become one of the top performing schools again. I have spent many hours voluteering at this school and realize that some significant changes need to be made in order to bring it back to a top performing school. I think the opportunity is NOW and we should make every effort to voice our oppinionso can reach its potentiial - the best elementary school in North Raleigh/ Wake Forest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

My daughter has been at Wakefield for 3 years, and I could not be happier. The staff is warm and nurturing, and the kids on her grade level are wonderful. It makes me excited about her future in the Wakefield Schools.I don't understand what the parent was saying about a bad student community. That is one instance that could be found anywhere. Overall, the school is top notch. We need more technology, but it is expensive, and we need more money from the county. It is hard to compare with the newer schools, who can spend their start up money on it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

We have been at WES since 2006. I am very comfortable with the staff at this school. The overcrowding is no longer an issue. The AG teacher is very good, and I feel the program provides a good challenge for both the strong and moderate AG students. I have volunteered in the classroom and the thing I love most is the homey atmosphere. At the end of the day when waiting in the carpool line, the kids all seem happy. One thing I think that has hurt the school is the year round nature, it is not as unified as in the past, though I do like the year round in other ways, as it gives the kids breaks throughout the year. I also like the closeness of the Wakefield schools to each other and the area in general.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

Tax dollars would have no effect on indulgent, aggressive parental influences. Even the excellent faculty and administration at Wakefield Elementary can not override years of social manipulation tactics learned at home.


Posted April 9, 2012

Unlike the parent who previously posted two reviews about her child's social experiences, I have personally experienced a positive social situation at WES. The teachers are quite good and the students are all part of a normalized public school environment. North Carolina as a whole could do better in terms of tax dollars allocated to public school education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

We left Wakefield Elementary after my child endured a very difficult social environment for 18 months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2012

The social environment at Wakefield Elementary was intolerable. My child was pushed down during PE, excluded from companionship at lunch for winning a Bingo game, and harassed for excelling academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

I have a kindergartener. Small class size approx 20 children. She is very happy, learning, and really seems to be enjoying herself. I am extremely pleased w/the teacher and TA. Very organized, caring, and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

Great school and wonderful subdivision! I have two children attending the school and they are learning well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

Great School with caring teachers and great community. Moved here from NJ and love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I have had 2 children go through Wakefield, and have been very impressed with the teaching staff. Committed, knowledgeable, and inspiring has been my experience. They have made a point of challenging my AG children - I could not be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

Wakefield Elementary has done an amazing job at differentiating instruction for my AG daughter. She is appropriately challenged based on her academic abilities, yet they keep in mind her actual age and make sure instruction is appropriate. We researched private schools in the area and found nowhere as adaptable to her particular needs. The overcrowding mentioned in other reviews is no longer a problem: the school is under-populated. In one kindergarten class, there are only 17 students with a teacher and an assistant. I couldn't have asked for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

I have been extremely impressed with the teachers and staff at WES. I definitely feel my sons are learning at or above their age level. I would recommend this school to anyone! Kep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

Although I like the school as does my son, I don't think I have any choice but to find alternative schooling for him. The teachers are exceptional. It would be nice if they got more support from the principle. I also am concerned with the disparity within the classroom. Some students are more advanced than others yet because of the track system it isn't possible to separate the children according to skill level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

My son is in 1st grade and loves the staff! Car pooling is in need of some work and the principle should make more of an appearance from her office. The kids seem to be smiling as they enter every morning and the staff does care about the students! Very happy with school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

I love WES. Since the changes last year they are working soo hard to get this year-round thing working. My son is striving in this school and all concerns have always been addressed. AG program needs a little work- very tenatious at times. A 4th grade parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

This school was okay. The overcrowding is a huge problem. One playground is repeatedly unsuable due to inadequate drainage and the other playground is overrun by children and portable buildings. It's not my first choice for my children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 15, 2006

This is a great school, with a bit of overcrowding at the moment. The County is working toward alleviating the problem, but in the interim there are cottages-which most of the children love ! The staff is wonderful, and the kids have an awesome experience here. Much much much parent involvement. Great place for kids to be !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

Wakefield Elementary is an excellent school with very heavy parent involvement. Enrollment is higher than posted on the website here - it is over 1,000 this year alone but then again the entire Wake district is over crowded due to huge growth because the schools and the greater Raleigh area are so nice. Despite the need for cottages (trailers) for 2 whole grades, the educational experience cannot be beat! The principal and teachers are first rate and the school extremely well run. The chorus is great - for 3rd to 5th graders, Arts program first class, and wonderful specialty programs and teachers. We are moving and HATE leaving this amazing school behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female46%
Male55%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities42%
Non-disabled students52%
Limited English proficiency20%
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students49%
Female43%
Male55%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities33%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically gifted91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female45%
Male52%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities24%
Non-disabled students52%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students52%
Female54%
Male50%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities47%
Non-disabled students53%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Academically gifted88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female65%
Male68%
Black54%
Asian-95%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities44%
Non-disabled students70%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students44%
Female44%
Male45%
Black27%
Asian82%
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities31%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically gifted81%

Science

All Students45%
Female40%
Male50%
Black15%
Asian82%
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities44%
Non-disabled students45%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Academically gifted81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 52%
Hispanic 20% 14%
Black 19% 26%
Asian 7% 3%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Victoria Privott
Fax number
  • (919) 562-3553

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Wakefield Pines Drive
Raleigh, NC 27614
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 562-3555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Millennium Academy
Wake Forest, NC



Thales Academy
Wake Forest, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT