Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Raleigh, NC
Students enrolled: 685

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wakefield Elementary 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
We are SO happy WES. The teachers are absolutely amazing! I volunteer in the classroom on a regular bases so I see first hand the passion and intelligence of the staff and that is being passed onto my child. Every single one is exceptional. WES is a great school in general. We have a wonderful PTA, smart boards in every room, a great AIG program, single subject acceleration, reading clubs, after school clubs and programs (art, science, Girls on the Run, even a string orchestra!) The principle knows us by name, and is very responsive. I love the fact that the middle school gets out just a few minutes before the elementary school, so if you have a middle schooler, they can just walk down to your car in the elementary car pool line. That is really convenient! I also like the fact that we have a very diverse school, and that is not something that all of the schools around here have. I am looking forward to continuing my children's education with the Wakefield schools! Excellent school choice for sure!

Wakefield Elementary 4

Posted August 26, 2012
- a parent
Thankfully we have a new opportunity with a new Principle to turn things around by increase testing acores, changing this to a traditional calendar school and implenment a zero tolerance policy along with uniforms. As a parent with 2 children currently attending WES, I think these changes would increase scores and entice more Wakefield families who have moved their children to private shcools to return to Wakefield Elementary. If we make this more of a "Neighborhood school" as it was origionally intended to be, we will see an increase in participation in the PTA as well as more parent volunteers in the classroom. Wakelfield Elementary employees some of the most amazing teaching staff who will help Wakefield Elementary become one of the top performing schools again. I have spent many hours voluteering at this school and realize that some significant changes need to be made in order to bring it back to a top performing school. I think the opportunity is NOW and we should make every effort to voice our oppinionso can reach its potentiial - the best elementary school in North Raleigh/ Wake Forest.


Wakefield Elementary 5

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been at Wakefield for 3 years, and I could not be happier. The staff is warm and nurturing, and the kids on her grade level are wonderful. It makes me excited about her future in the Wakefield Schools.I don't understand what the parent was saying about a bad student community. That is one instance that could be found anywhere. Overall, the school is top notch. We need more technology, but it is expensive, and we need more money from the county. It is hard to compare with the newer schools, who can spend their start up money on it.

Wakefield Elementary 4

Posted April 14, 2012
- a parent
We have been at WES since 2006. I am very comfortable with the staff at this school. The overcrowding is no longer an issue. The AG teacher is very good, and I feel the program provides a good challenge for both the strong and moderate AG students. I have volunteered in the classroom and the thing I love most is the homey atmosphere. At the end of the day when waiting in the carpool line, the kids all seem happy. One thing I think that has hurt the school is the year round nature, it is not as unified as in the past, though I do like the year round in other ways, as it gives the kids breaks throughout the year. I also like the closeness of the Wakefield schools to each other and the area in general.

Wakefield Elementary 1

Posted April 10, 2012
- a community member
Tax dollars would have no effect on indulgent, aggressive parental influences. Even the excellent faculty and administration at Wakefield Elementary can not override years of social manipulation tactics learned at home.


Wakefield Elementary 4

Posted April 09, 2012
- a parent
Unlike the parent who previously posted two reviews about her child's social experiences, I have personally experienced a positive social situation at WES. The teachers are quite good and the students are all part of a normalized public school environment. North Carolina as a whole could do better in terms of tax dollars allocated to public school education.

Wakefield Elementary 1

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
We left Wakefield Elementary after my child endured a very difficult social environment for 18 months.

Wakefield Elementary 1

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
The social environment at Wakefield Elementary was intolerable. My child was pushed down during PE, excluded from companionship at lunch for winning a Bingo game, and harassed for excelling academically.


Wakefield Elementary 5

Posted August 17, 2011
- a parent
I have a kindergartener. Small class size approx 20 children. She is very happy, learning, and really seems to be enjoying herself. I am extremely pleased w/the teacher and TA. Very organized, caring, and nurturing.

Wakefield Elementary 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
Great school and wonderful subdivision! I have two children attending the school and they are learning well.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wakefield Elementary
2400 Wakefield Pines Drive, Raleigh, NC  27614
(919) 562-3555
Last modified Wakefield Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wakefield Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top