Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
168 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Follow the Child Montessori School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are kind and caring, but also firm when they need to be. Mostly, though, I've been so pleasantly surprised by how well they know each individual student and how he or she learns, behaves, etc.

Follow the Child Montessori School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
No homework at Follow the Child, but they don't need it. They get so much accomplished during the day that they are above traditional grade levels.


Follow the Child Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
As they get into elementary, the work seems to get much harder and longer, but they stick with it and they are so pleased when they see the results of a long project!

Follow the Child Montessori School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
Mutual respect is discussed a lot in Montessori; the teachers have respect for the child, and the child has respect for them in return.

Follow the Child Montessori School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
They do all kinds of volunteer work, they are taught how to work out their problems with each other, and they just help each other a lot. They see and learn kindness and compassion every day.


Follow the Child Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
The school includes grace and courtesy as well as conflict resolution in the curriculum, and the staff models all of it for the students.

Follow the Child Montessori School 5

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
What a beautiful place, inside and out. I wish I had had this kind of experience as a child - socially, academically, community-wise...it's stellar. Love the outdoor education, field trips, volunteer work, the fun they have with academics, the INDIVIDUALIZED education (they know my child so well that I can't believe it sometimes), and how the families all help each other. It's five stars all the way!

Follow the Child Montessori School 5

Posted January 17, 2015
- a parent
Follow the Child is such a warm and educationally rich environment. Knowing that she required a little more challenge and stimulation, we transitioned our daughter from a traditional daycare setting to FCM in the Children's House program and could not be more pleased with the results. The number one asset FCM has is the staff- they are warm, inviting, and caring and balanced and backed with strong education direction. It was challenging to know when to make this inevitable transition... it was also very confusing to know which option was the best for our little girl. Now it all seems so obvious. I encourage all parents in the Triangle/ Raleigh area who are looking for something a bit more meaningful for preschool and beyond to take a look at FCM- you may find the perfect fit in the hidden jewel!


Follow the Child Montessori School 5

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
We love FCM! I believe the school is exceptional in so many ways: adherence to the Montessori philosophy; academic excellence; dedication of the faculty (most of whom have been there for many years - I think most lead teachers have been there at least 7 years); encouragement of independence, grace, and courtesy; enthusiasm for the outdoors; a close-knit community (events, community service projects, play dates, etc.); and how the children learn to resolve conflicts, problem-solve, and always find joy in what they are learning. My son has some behavioral challenges, but his teachers know him so well and guide him in the best way for who HE is and how he learns. They have discussed with us that he will move up to the next level when he s ready (academically, socially, etc.), which may be before or after other children his age. When we have struggled with parenting, his teachers have come up with innovative solutions to help, and the parent education classes have been wonderful! Their campus is older, but pretty, and we were excited to learn that they are building a new school and planning to be there in Fall 2015! Our family will be forever grateful for FCM. It is a beautiful place.

Follow the Child Montessori School 2

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
This plucky little school continues to try to do their best, but the facilities are limited. Though they will hopefully be moving to a new location in the future, their stated core values do not match the experience many children are given. It is unclear how the school "Follows the child" when learning differences and giftedness are not recognized. Program seems to be based on age rather than ability. Not what I expected of Montessori. The classroom and curriculum are not flexible in regards to the individual student.

Nearby schools

Follow the Child Montessori School
3601 Harden Road, Raleigh, NC 27607, Raleigh, NC  27607
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (919) 755-1150
Last modified Follow the Child Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top