Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harris Creek Elementary

Public | K-5 | 914 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

Harris Creek has been great to my kids. I have a child that is AG and some that are on IEP's. ALL their needs have been greatly met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

My son attended Harris Creek for three years. He needed intervention for reading and math. What I found was that my son's teachers were often unmotivated to help him, and that the assessments were inconsistent across the board. My main problem was that the current leadership of Harris Creek is pleased with maintaining the status quo instead of really helping students. After my job took me Durham, and we relocated to Cary, now we can really see the huge difference between schools in various parts of Wake County. Our son comes home motivated and happy everyday instead of being depressed about continually being assessed at every corner. Wake County needs to devote more effort to finding quality leadership at schools that are not located near its more pristine areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

My son is in his second year here. Teachers are great. He loves going to schol
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2012

My son is starting his second year with Harris Creek and I am extremely pleased with the administration and teachers. He has excelled academically and socially. I would definitley recommend this school to my friends!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

We are very happy at this school. The administration, teachers, and specialist have all been great. My daughter has exceeded my expectations and really blossomed at Harris Creek. We feel like Harris Creek is a home away from home and feel like there is a great sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

My child has been at Harris Creek since 2005. I have been quite pleased with the teachers and administrators. Not only have my children excelled academically, but emotionally and socially. The children have been exposed to the arts and science through special programs. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

My son has been at Harris Creek for almost two years now, and we really like it. The teachers are great and friendly. The principals are wonderful too. No complaints here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

I took my kids out of their magnet school program to send them here. The teachers are excellent and the principals are wonderful. Every child is looked at as an individual, so their assignments are designed with their own learning styles in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

Harris Creek is a great school to bring the kids. The principal and the vice principal go out of their way to make each child feel welcome. The staff is very welcome and have been able to help my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

My daughter has been in Harris Creek for three years. She loves the school, programs and teachers. She is excelling at an above level in all areas of her studys. My experience/communication with the principal, vice prin. and teachers has been great! My only does my daughter love school...she now would like to be a teacher when is grows up. On July 6th, my youngest daughter will be starting at Harris Creek for her first year of elem. school. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

Very unhappy with the teachers and the staff. They are uncooperative and they don't want to listen to what the parents have to say. Save yourself a headache and put your child in a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

We love Harris Creek! I have two children here, one typical child and one with special needs. This is our children's third year at Harris Creek, and we have found the teachers to be very responsive and caring. The administration is responsive, when necessary, and all staff members communicate wonderfully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

This is our 2nd year at H.C. and I love it! The princial is an outstanding perosn and is involved. The teachers have also been great and very easy to work with. Overall I am so very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

Very unhappy with the administration of this school. Even the people in the front office are rude and unfriendly. Communication between school and parents is non-existant! Send your kid somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

This is our 1st year at Harris Creek. Although there are many children, it is not nearly as large as a lot of Wake Co. elementary schools, thus keeping the class sizes lower than Wake Co. average. As the school is still new, the PTA seems to be getting up & running, but they appear to be very active & getting more so each month. The main things that makes H.C. a good school, is the principal. She is very visible, & involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2007

This is our first year at Harris Creek. This is also only the second year of the school's existence, and the first at the new state-of-the-art facility. It is a huge campus. Many things are still coming together to make it feel like a 'home.' My children's teachers are very responsive to the individual needs of my children. I have been very pleased with the services that my children receive (speech therapy, Title I reading help, as well as AG math and reading). Having been in another Wake County public school, I do have something to compare it to. I think a lot of what makes a school stand out comes from the leadership. Because the school is so large (around 1,000 with students and teachers) I have not had the feeling that there is a community, more like a factory.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female65%
Male53%
Black45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted92%

Reading

All Students53%
Female63%
Male40%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Academically gifted89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students41%
Female43%
Male39%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students49%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students47%
Female49%
Male44%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities29%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Female60%
Male59%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students50%
Female53%
Male48%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students53%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Academically gifted93%

Science

All Students41%
Female37%
Male44%
Black28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 52%
Black 32% 26%
Hispanic 18% 14%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3829 Forestville Road
Raleigh, NC 27616
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 217-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





All Sts. Academy
Raleigh, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT